We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Millhouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Slane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Millhouse
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Attended a wedding here on the August Bank Holiday weekend and it was absolutely fabulous. The staff were attentive and accommodating by all accounts but most notable was the venue itself. Was really something different and memorable. One thing I had trouble finding was accommodation near by, we stayed in the Castleview B&B up the road. The hosts were lovely and offered lifts to the Millhouse itself. We walked back to the B&B that night, it's walking distance - although there is a large hill so this might not be for everyone! The Millhouse operates a shuttle bus service but we opted to walk. I'd have no trouble recommending the Castleview B&B. The Millhouse left noting to desire, with quaint details around every corner and lots of little pleasant surprises.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FKDUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    7
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
25
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Excellent spot for a different kind of wedding. Great bar staff expertly handled a large crowd of revellers. Would recommend this venue for anyones wedding. Food was gorgeous. A great time was had by all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfinglas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Was here at the weekend for a friends wedding. what a beautiful venue. The ceremony room was stunning,really unique. the grounds were beautiful. The per dinner tapas and preseco went down a treat and the food at the reception was exquisite.would definatly recommend

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DublinTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I was here for an al fresco civil ceremony wedding on the banks of the river. 2012 was a terrible year for rain, but it kept off until after the dancing had started, so we were very lucky.
We had tapas outside in front of the house with seats and tables all round, bales of straw for people to sit on as well.
The venue was perfect and the couple had wanted a barbecue, so we had barbecued food and salads, etc. It was very nice.
First we had a band, then there was disco. The young enjoyed themselves.
The parents and immediate family on both sides took up all the available accommodation in the Millhouse, hence we stayed up the road at Failte B. & B.

Helpful?
1 Thank Margo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
270 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Attended a wedding at the Millhouse and enjoyed the property and its surroundings. Didn't stay but thought that the service I encountered was very good and the quality of food was high. Location is nice, beside the river Boyne and the stark old industrial revolution type tannery building provides and interesting backdrop. The building was used for the marriage ceremony that we attended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donalmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We hired the Mill House on a self catering basis and had the perfect family Christmas - 18 adults, 4 toddlers and plenty of space. Everyone had their own room with ensuite facilities, tea maker, tv / dvd – luxury! Cooking meals was made easy with a full catering kitchen and a dining table that seated everyone comfortably located between the kitchen and the main sitting room. The house was cosy and warm, a home away from home where we could all gather together and catch up but with plenty of space that if you wanted a quiet corner to read a book, that was no problem too. The games room was a great space for the toddlers to run around while the adults chilled out on the sofa. As an added bonus it is walking distance to the local pub and there is great food in the local bistro. The Mill House has everything you need and plenty to do and explore in the surrounding area for all ages. Overall a fabulous holiday and I would definitely recommend the Mill House for any large family gathering.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 974Jennifer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed the weekend of slane concert and considering the event on in the locality the hotel was an excellent location for the gig. The staff were excellent over the weekend and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel for a small quiet weekend break for couples. The rooms are of good standard and clean. Thanks to the staff for making our break very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anonymou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
2.0 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
3.9 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
7.0 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
11.0 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
6.8 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millhouse

Property: The Millhouse
Address: Slane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 11 bedroomed Boutique Hotel.Specializing in bespoke weddings and private parties.Open for food all day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Millhouse Hotel Slane
Millhouse Hotel Slane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing