We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not likely”
Review of The Millhouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Slane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Millhouse
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

ensuite would be preferable in room

heating would have also been nice
storage heater kept triping the electricity in my room

better communication between staff as I kept on being told that food on the menu wasn't on the menu

overall very disappointing stay

4 in bed tv rules

id only pay half wat thay asked to pricey...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hollybarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel offers a unique, peaceful experience. I was attending a wedding and did not expect to enjoy my stay as much as I did. Every detail was well thought out, from the comfy sheets, to the quality bathroom products. I felt like I was visiting a friend's house in the country.

Room Tip: There are several rooms with a view of the Boyne. There is a family room with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bertha_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Attended a wedding here on the August Bank Holiday weekend and it was absolutely fabulous. The staff were attentive and accommodating by all accounts but most notable was the venue itself. Was really something different and memorable. One thing I had trouble finding was accommodation near by, we stayed in the Castleview B&B up the road. The hosts were lovely and offered lifts to the Millhouse itself. We walked back to the B&B that night, it's walking distance - although there is a large hill so this might not be for everyone! The Millhouse operates a shuttle bus service but we opted to walk. I'd have no trouble recommending the Castleview B&B. The Millhouse left noting to desire, with quaint details around every corner and lots of little pleasant surprises.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FKDUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Excellent spot for a different kind of wedding. Great bar staff expertly handled a large crowd of revellers. Would recommend this venue for anyones wedding. Food was gorgeous. A great time was had by all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfinglas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Was here at the weekend for a friends wedding. what a beautiful venue. The ceremony room was stunning,really unique. the grounds were beautiful. The per dinner tapas and preseco went down a treat and the food at the reception was exquisite.would definatly recommend

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank DublinTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I was here for an al fresco civil ceremony wedding on the banks of the river. 2012 was a terrible year for rain, but it kept off until after the dancing had started, so we were very lucky.
We had tapas outside in front of the house with seats and tables all round, bales of straw for people to sit on as well.
The venue was perfect and the couple had wanted a barbecue, so we had barbecued food and salads, etc. It was very nice.
First we had a band, then there was disco. The young enjoyed themselves.
The parents and immediate family on both sides took up all the available accommodation in the Millhouse, hence we stayed up the road at Failte B. & B.

1  Thank Margo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Attended a wedding at the Millhouse and enjoyed the property and its surroundings. Didn't stay but thought that the service I encountered was very good and the quality of food was high. Location is nice, beside the river Boyne and the stark old industrial revolution type tannery building provides and interesting backdrop. The building was used for the marriage ceremony that we attended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donalmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slane
0.5 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
4 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
327 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
7.8 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
14.7 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millhouse

Address: Slane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range: £114 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 11 bedroomed Boutique Hotel.Specializing in bespoke weddings and private parties.Open for food all day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Millhouse Hotel Slane
Millhouse Hotel Slane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing