We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced convenient B&B”
Review of Lisanisk House

Lisanisk House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrickmacross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lisanisk House
Belfast, Northern ireland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well priced convenient B&B”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed in a spacious family room after a wedding in the Nuremore which is just a 5 euro taxi journey away. The room was clean and beds comfortable. It was much better value than the wedding venue. The owner was friendly. Breakfast was just ok. I didn't like the cheap fruit juices.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gráinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed at Lisanisk House for one night as friends got married in Carrickmacross town and had reception at Nuremore hotel. This b&b was comfortable, clean, reasonably priced and had a good standard Irish breakfast. The owner Rosaleen was also friendly and welcoming.
The setting of the house faces onto Lisanisk lake and park. So, I would say ideal for family hol. Self catering accommodation available on this property too. Only about 5-10mins walk from town.

Room Tip: Good fishing on lake.:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank corsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull. Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Once again returned to Lisanisk House for a fishing spell and the wife to relax and chill out. The weather was atrocious but the service we received at Lisanisk still made it an enjoyable holiday. Would recommend this accommodation to anyone requiring good service. Clean rooms and a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodpecker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2010

i stayed at lisanisk house with my husband and 2 children in a large family room which was spacious and clean .The setting is beautiful overlooking a lake with play area also for the kids and a decking area beside the lake .very much enjoyed our visit and will return .the owner was very accomodating with all our needs,a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gils1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Stayed at this B&B and was more than happy with everything. Great service & friendliness of all staff and the host, Rosealeen, was very helpful. I took in some fishing also on the beautiful scenic lake that runs right up to the front lawn, the fishing was great too! I would reccomend this B&B to anyone especially international tourists looking for value for money and a "real" experience of Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I'd like to counter act on the above negative review which I don't think is very fair...
as with a lot of people who use Trip Advisor, there's always one who had a bad experience with accommodation and then builds a proverbial snowball up to be a stinking avalanche.

I stayed with my wife there last Friday...
Again we were at a wedding in the Nuremore and avoiding the extortionate bedroom prices they were offering (€185 per double room)
Lisanisk was standard enough as B&B's go, but it was/is the cheapest B&Bs in the area.
Rooms were clean, food was fine and the host Rosaleen was very helpful and friendly, oh and the area dn house itself is really scenic.
It's a family run business and people are doing their level best in these tough times to make a crust as best they can.
If you do find yourself staying in Carrickmacross/Nuremore and are looking for some pocket saving yet decent genuine accomodation, I would no problem in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kormak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I stayed at Lisanisk house during the summer with my husband and 2 children for a week and found it to be a wonderful B&B. The owner Rosaleen was so friendly and accomodating. We stayed in a large clean family room with 2 queen beds and a crib for the baby and had ample room. It also had a wheelchair and stroller friendly door to outside which was great. There is a beautiful lake there and also a kids play area that the kids loved. The breakfast was good and the host made me a vegetarian breakfast instead of the traditional bacon , sausages etc which I dont eat. The only thing I was disappointed in was the lack of a decent high chair for the baby. Overall our stay was really enjoyable and we would stay there again if we return to that area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommyandmenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickmacross
0.4 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
220 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,301 reviews
13.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Cross Square Hotel
Cross Square Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crossmaglen
187 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nuremore Hotel and Country Club
Nuremore Hotel and Country Club
#2 of 2 in Carrickmacross
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisanisk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisanisk House

Property: Lisanisk House
Address: Dundalk Road, Carrickmacross, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Carrickmacross
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carrickmacross
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Lisanisk House Carrickmacross, County Monaghan, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing