We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice hotel and staff ”
Review of Shirley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shirley Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Certificate of Excellence
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel and staff ”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Everything about the Shirley arms is perfect! The girl I met on reception, Fiona I think was lovely really helpful and obviously cared that I was comfy there! The room was lovely and spacious bed was one of the nicest I've slept in! I would however like to see more variety in breakfast! I'm not a fan of a fry which left me with cereal or fruit (apples) I'd love pancakes! Will be back though

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    58
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
47
67
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Pleasant hotel with friendly and attentive staff. Stayed here for one night. No flaws. Breakfast was perfect. Will return and recommend. Great b&b rate of €100 for room. Right in the heart of Carrickmacross

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fingaldub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while attending a friends wedding nearby.. The hotel was lovely, rooms were big and bright, the staff were very friendly, and the breakfast the next day was delicious! I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever back in carrickmacross ;)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank maevedunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in Jan. Booked in and receptionist was lovely lady. Rooms are absolutely great quality. The only problem is the price of drinks and dinner are outrageous. Comparable to temple bar. €5 for a btl of corona. Nuts. Wudnt stay again because of it. The dinner was ok, nothing special or worth coming back for, but was priced out of this world. Again, the hotel was fab, just eat and drink somewhere else...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keithf7975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Called for bar food with my friend and our 2 wee girls, and we were made feel so welcome.
very patient with kids. Food was fabulous, great value and lovely deserts. Staff lovely. Had been here before with just friends for bar food and wine on later occasions and was always fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Myself & 3 other family members stayed at this hotel for two nights recently and it was wonderful. From the minute we walked through to check in we were greeted by freindly staff and I could not fault any of them. Our stay included breakfast and there was plenty to choose from. We all opted for full English breakfasts & there was plenty,along with toast,butters,jams etc. The waitress that served us was just brilliant,anything we needed during our stay she made sure was sorted for us, she made us feel so welcome. The rooms are lovely, nice & spacious. The beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are lovely, we stayed in room 204, the shower is nice and there is a large mirrored area so great for us ladies. If I was to be critical about one thing it would be the heating. The heat was unbearable even with radiators turned off? This hotel is situated at the bottom of the town so ideal if staying in carrickmacross. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

A quiet hotel that serves some of the best bar food for miles around...great steak!Portions here are generous!
Nice spacious dining room too ,with a range of wines to suit every budget.
Service is efficient and friendly,and it's a stones throw from the M1 etc.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearlyabletowal... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrickmacross
4.9 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
10.1 mi away
The Glencarn Hotel
The Glencarn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castleblayney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
8.3 mi away
Cross Square Hotel
Cross Square Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crossmaglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
13.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Arms Hotel

Property: Shirley Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrickmacross, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Carrickmacross
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carrickmacross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shirley Arms Hotel is just an hour's drive from Dublin and Belfast, centrally located in the busy market town of Carrickmacross famous for its lace and where Patrick Kavanagh penned his famous poetry. If you are touring or on business, fancy a game of golf or just seeking a place to relax, the 4* Shirley Arms Hotel provides the perfect haven for lesiure or business traveller. The Shirley Arms offers something for everyone throughout the day and evening. From early morning we serve freshly brewed coffee, baked scones, pastries and traditional Full Irish Breakfast. Roast Carvery is served daily. In the afternoons the popular Shirley Grill Menu offers a wide and varied menu in luxurious surroundings, it is the perfect place to relax, wind down, meet friends and soak in the atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Shirley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Arms Hotel Carrickmacross, County Monaghan, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing