We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Muckno Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Muckno Lodge
Muckno Lodge View at back of Lough Muckno. Photo by Allan Bansbury
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Muckno Lodge
Muckno Lodge
View at back of Lough Muckno. Photo by Allan Bansbury
Bath Estate Crest
Restored original fireplace & bellows
snug
Painted kitchen
Dresser in kitchen
Spacious living room
Wood burning stove and stone fireplace
Double Bedroom
Ensuite downstairs double bedroom
Traditional style twin bedroom
Traditional style twin bedroom
Double Bedroom
Bathroom
Outdoor patio area with view of private lake
nearby Cabra Castle
Concra Wood Golf Course
View of Lough Muckno and Concra Wood
Fishing on Lough Muckno
Local Watersports
View from road
Lake at Muckno Lodge. Photo by Allan Bansbury
Panoramic view Muckno Lodge. Photo by Allan Bansbury
Muckno Lodge Black Lake Allan Bansbury image
Lake at Muckno Lodge. Photo by Allan Bansbury
View at back of Muckno Lodge. Photo by Allan Bansbury
Back of Muckno Lodge. Photo by Allan Bansbury
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Castleblayney, County Monaghan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had such a wonderful time in the Muckno Lodge! A really special home for the holidays. Also the hosts were very nice.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare M
1 review
“What a fantastic holiday home!”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We travelled here with 3 generations aged 10 to 70+. The accommodation was fantastic! It was very comfortable, well-equipped and spacious.The children loved the games room. We found it a great base to explore County Monaghan and beyond. We had some great days out at the nearby lake and adventure playground and even hired canoes one afternoon. Carlingford was beautiful and also gave us the opportunity to visit the Long Woman's Grave and Magic Hill. The museum at Monaghan was very interesting and the cathedral there was huge. We enjoyed a walking tour around Carrickmacross and visited the lace gallery and Workhouse there.
The owners were really helpful and even let the children visit and name the newborn calf which was born on the day we arrived.
I cannot recommend this holiday home highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thanks John & Clare, what a lovely review - delighted you all enjoyed your holiday in the lovely Co. Monaghan :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrann_z...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A stunning cottage in a stunning setting suitable for the whole family and a few more... From the friendly welcome (complete with homemade scones, jam and butter!) to the daily waves from our friendly neighbour, we couldn't have asked for a more relaxing holiday. Muckno Lodge is tucked away on a quiet road but still close enough to all that Co. Monaghan has to offer, including quad biking, fishing, golfing and horse-riding. Thank you so much, Fiona, we couldn't recommend Muckno Lodge enough!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Thank you for the lovely review Kerry-Ann - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and all that Co. Monaghan has to offer :)

Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradsmb
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Muckno Lodge is very well presented.All the fitting are of good quality and the owner keeps it immaculate. It is in a peaceful location with the only noise being the occasional moo from the cows.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philomena...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home for Christmas”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing time at this wonderful cottage. Everything was perfect,The facilities provided were to such a high standard,spacious yet homely. We were welcomed by Fiona at 8.00am after travelling all night to tea/ coffee and home made gingerbread.
The cottage was decorated ready for Christmas and we felt at home straight away.
We were able to welcome and entertain our family.
We cannot wait to return. Loved everything about it.
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Thank you for this lovely review Philomena - Happy New Year to you all :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sybil C
Black Creek, Canada
1 review
“A hidden gem of Ireland!”
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I just can't praise this wonderful spot enough. We were welcomed with fresh, baked goods, and the kettle on! What a warm welcome, and a testament to the great 10 days ahead. Not one detail was overlooked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and hospitality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent house, high standard”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Excellent house to stay in. Decor and cleanliness to a very high standard. Very homely and welcoming. Family get together including young children, plenty of space for us all and kids loved it too. Would highly recommend!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing