We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food”

Douglas Hyde Restaurant - Kilronan Castle
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Roscommon
Cuisines: European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tandragee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

The 6 course menu at the Douglas Hyde Restaurant was beautifully presented and tasted as good as it looked. The food was delicious and the staff were attentive and professional.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sumptuous Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Beautifully and lovingly crafted top-notch faire washed down with excellent wines. A marvelous five star dining experience. Not only did the chef serve wonderful food, but he also sent a couple of treats along for our tasting pleasure. Great evening!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very long wait with ok food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Yesterday evening I met my girlfriend and some of her family for a meal in Douglas and Hyde restaurant as they had an all inclusive package. Myself and my girlfriend hadn't but decided to get the 3 course for €45. From reading the previous reviews I was expecting good think but was very let down altogether. Where do I start.......

The first negative point was the wait for every course, a 3 course meal took nearly 3 hours.
The next negative point was I told my waiter at then end of the main and showed him that the fillet of beef I'd ordered was very fatty and I wasn't happy but he could have seen that by most of the main being uneaten on the plate, he said he would tell the chef and left but didn't come back and tell me the chefs reply or that he was sorry!

Then when my girlfriend then got her desert that had custard which wasn't on the menu and she doesn't eat so she asked the server if it was custard and he went off to find out when he asked he came back apologised and brought this back to the kitchen to get a new 1 which left her waiting another 15 mins at which time the rest of us had finished.

The whole meal left me deflated and the food itself wasn't that flavourful. From questions asked of the servers about items on the menu and the length of the meal I think the staff need to be better educated of the menu and quicker in serving it

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Very good food with lovely views. Quite good vegetarian choice & could possibly have more choice if asked beforehand.Service good but short staffed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine dining at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Family night away and enjoyed a fantastic dinner, fine dining at its best, one of the best meals I can honestly say I have ever had, made more enjoyable by the excellent service from all the staff, including the very helpful manager who kept my 17 month old niece entertained during our meal, would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agnes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Douglas Hyde Restaurant - Kilronan Castle also viewed

Roscommon, County Roscommon
 
Roscommon, County Roscommon
 

Been to Douglas Hyde Restaurant - Kilronan Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing