We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly average - needs serious updating”
Review of Hannon's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hannon's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here recently, and although we had a decent stay, the hotel rooms (based on our room in any case) require an awful lot of updating if they want to remain competitive.

The decor in the room can only be described as beige and looks like it hasn't been touched since the 70s, the headboard of the bed was lying at a lop-sided angle (fairly simple fix that would at least make the room a bit more presentable), the toilet didn't work properly (I'll leave the rest to your imagination), and the lock on the room required a bit of a jiggle to get it to lock (no keycards in this hotel which would have been a good thing if the key worked).

That said, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the staff were very friendly, and the food was of a good standard, which is all you really need to be honest. My guess is that I got a bit unlucky with the room so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt in this one. Nevertheless, it felt very much like a budget hotel but not at budget hotel prices, and if a budget hotel were to open in the area, I'd fear for this hotel's survival.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Spent a very enjoyable weekend in Hannons & attended a wedding there, recently. Staff were friendly & helpful; we had a triple room which was spacious, with nice comfy beds. Food was good; the wedding meal, in particular, was very good. Location is very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is such a great place, we got married in here and the staff and owners could not be more accommodating, friendly, kind and went out of there way to make sure we were happy with everything. The food was wonderful and everyone said so. I would highly recommend Hannon's Hotel for any of you're need's. Family run place's are so much more inviting then corporate one's. We all enjoyed ourselves and had a great day. Thanks to you. x x x

    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Wez G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here a night due to work and was pleasantly surprised. The welcome by the staff was good and the rooms were spacious and clean. Had dinner there that evening and really enjoyed it, service was very quick and efficient . Breakfast was functional and tasty. For €45/ night
Wi Fi worked which is always a positive. it was very good value.

All in all perfect place for business related travel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turleyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Our group of cyclists stayed here last weekend. Service was top class from the phone calls making the booking right through to our departure. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful . The food was superb and the service was very prompt. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyridersRathdowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend, it was a very nice hotel, the young girl who checked us in was very pleasant,we booked 3 rooms all nice ,we had a meal when we arrived it was lovely, breakfast Sunday was excellent, Monday morning was a big let dowm very poor breakfast,All that said we would stay again, all the young girls are great, its very good value for money and close to town,

Room Tip: Please ask for a room at the back as its on a very busy road,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancashirelass03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in Hannons after a match, we'd never been to Roscommon before but when we have reason to go back again we'll definitely stay here. Its a nice hotel but the staff really made our stay, every one we encountered was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smccann1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
1.1 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
703 reviews
16.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
22.4 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
81 reviews
13.1 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
16.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hannon's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hannon's Hotel

Address: Athlone Road, Roscommon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Price Range: £58 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hannon's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the verge of Roscommon Town, this family-run hotel offers spacious, quality accommodation, free high-speed Wi-Fi and first class food. A large foyer, bar and restaurant provide a comfortable and friendly space for guests to relax and enjoy. All rooms benefit from en suite bathrooms, free WiFi access, multi-channel flat screen TV's with over 300 Irish and international channels, hairdryers, along with tea and coffee making facilities. Homemade food, incorporating the finest, locally-sourced Irish ingredients, is available between 07:30 and 21:00. Late breakfast is available as standard until 11:00. A full Irish breakfast is available each morning. The hotel is centrally located for touring the midlands and the West of Ireland. Roscommon's 18-hole golf course is located directly opposite the hotel. Galway city and Knock Airport both approximately 1 hour drive away with Dublin airport less than a 2 hours drive. There are 4 conference rooms available and free parking on site for over 100 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hannon's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing