We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel but an amazing welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hannon's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hannon's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Basic hotel but an amazing welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Checked into Hannons for one night for a family function.

Travelling from Dublin, and a big family, we checked into four rooms within the hotel. Each room was clean and bright, a little basic, but we didn't spend that much time in the room to really find fault.

Ursula and the team couldn't have been more helpful, from giving us a discounted rate on the rooms because the function was held in the hotel, to making sure we had everything we needed. No delays getting served, and at one point, one of the bar staff actually pre-empted our order, now that's good service.

We checked in on a Saturday, and were told that there was no rush for checkout or breakfast times the next day which is another added feature to the service provided. When we did head down for breakfast, it was all made to order, so hadn't been left sitting in a buffet style. Apart from one girl who could take a lesson on customer service, and the art of smiling, from her colleagues, this was yet another selling point to the stay.

All in all, I would definitely recommend staying here, and would consider staying again in the future. Having family in the area, I can assure you it's not my last trip to Roscommon, and based on the service and hospitality received from the team in Hannons, I'll be sure to visit the hotel again, even if only for lunch.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank spraggless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    41
    25
    5
    8
See reviews for
73
34
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Rooms were clean, staff were lovely and very helpful with anything, but the food is the part that sells the hotel. Generous portions and reasonably priced with a great selection.. cannot fault this hotel one bit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Had a great stay in Hannon's Hotel at the end of September. Got a wheelchair friendly room and was able to spend good times there with my mother. The en suite walk-in bathroom was perfect for mother. We were able to make tea as we wished to! A hairdryer was delivered to us in the morning as we requested. The décor in the hotel was lovely. This looks like a newly built and modern place. The breakfast was delicious. I went for the delicious smoked salmon!! The place was lovely and cosy and warm. The staff were very nice and couldn't do enough to help us to enjoy our stay. I want to recommend it to anyone looking on here - go on, treat yourself to a stay in the lovely Hannon's Hotel in Roscommon!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila-Ballyconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
209 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Pass this hotel every 8 weeks, located on athlone side of town, has what you need for a comfortable stay, it is not the radisson but makes up for it with food quality and friendly staff. Always busy and has great coffee and home made brown bread for a good start to the day

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DinkyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

of the four hotels we stayed during our Irish trip this was by far the worst..sorry but just being honest. decorating and finish of hotel was appalling (carried out by the gardener perhaps?)..looked like they ran out of money to finish... no blind on bedroom window (laying on floor) furnishing cheap and sparse. Staff friendly but seemed intimidated by owners hanging around all the time...not great value for money..sorry!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here recently, and although we had a decent stay, the hotel rooms (based on our room in any case) require an awful lot of updating if they want to remain competitive.

The decor in the room can only be described as beige and looks like it hasn't been touched since the 70s, the headboard of the bed was lying at a lop-sided angle (fairly simple fix that would at least make the room a bit more presentable), the toilet didn't work properly (I'll leave the rest to your imagination), and the lock on the room required a bit of a jiggle to get it to lock (no keycards in this hotel which would have been a good thing if the key worked).

That said, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the staff were very friendly, and the food was of a good standard, which is all you really need to be honest. My guess is that I got a bit unlucky with the room so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt in this one. Nevertheless, it felt very much like a budget hotel but not at budget hotel prices, and if a budget hotel were to open in the area, I'd fear for this hotel's survival.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Spent a very enjoyable weekend in Hannons & attended a wedding there, recently. Staff were friendly & helpful; we had a triple room which was spacious, with nice comfy beds. Food was good; the wedding meal, in particular, was very good. Location is very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
1.1 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
13.1 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
16.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
15.9 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
10.9 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hannon's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hannon's Hotel

Property: Hannon's Hotel
Address: Athlone Road, Roscommon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hannon's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the verge of Roscommon Town, this family-run hotel offers spacious, quality accommodation, free high-speed Wi-Fi and first class food. A large foyer, bar and restaurant provide a comfortable and friendly space for guests to relax and enjoy. All rooms benefit from en suite bathrooms, free WiFi access, multi-channel flat screen TV's with over 300 Irish and international channels, hairdryers, along with tea and coffee making facilities. Homemade food, incorporating the finest, locally-sourced Irish ingredients, is available between 07:30 and 21:00. Late breakfast is available as standard until 11:00. A full Irish breakfast is available each morning. The hotel is centrally located for touring the midlands and the West of Ireland. Roscommon's 18-hole golf course is located directly opposite the hotel. Galway city and Knock Airport both approximately 1 hour drive away with Dublin airport less than a 2 hours drive. There are 4 conference rooms available and free parking on site for over 100 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hannon's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing