We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. Excellent room, beautiful grounds, thoughtful and courteous staff.”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect. Excellent room, beautiful grounds, thoughtful and courteous staff.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We were there one night and had our wedding on the grounds of the old abbey. We were 3 hours late checking out, but they were very accommodating. The hotel is wonderfully set, and modern still

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmynWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    169
    101
    52
    34
See reviews for
195
237
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
174 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Great food, lovely staff. Lovely rooms but could do with some extra lighting... everywhere!

Helpful?
Thank EHMkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just spent a lovely weekend at the Abbey Hotel, in Roscommon, and must say we were very impressed with the staff, the facilities, and most of all the food. Absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced. Would have no hesitation staying here again. Even though there were two functions running on Saturday evening, there was no noise evident in our room, so nice relaxing stay.
M. Convery, Navan

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALWAY IRELAND
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Just back from a lovely weekend in the Abbey Hotel. Pure relaxation-Leisure centre (pool,sauna,steam-room) was one of the best and cleanest I've ever visited-staff were sooo friendly-they just couldn't do enough to make us comfortable.Just 5 min walk from Roscommon town and 2o min drive from Strokestown House and Museum which we visited.Strokestown House well worth a visit.
Def will go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MINAUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My uncle and myself visited the Abbey Hotel in Roscommon yesterday for Sunday dinner.

We had chosen the carvery as the hotel has recently begun this on Sundays.

The food we had was so nice. There was a good menu to choose from with beef, turkey and salmon and children seemed to be catered for with half portions. The atmosphere of the hotel is also great and overall the hotel has a cozy atmosphere. It would be a great location for a wedding.

We also had the trifle for dessert and it was one of the nicest desserst I have ever had which I know is a strong statement but true and I have travelled to many countries and many hotels in the world but this dessert was A1.

I would never usually choose to review anything unless warranted but the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maireado9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My mother and I had an overnight stay here during the week. Can't fault a single thing! Lady in reception had organised our bags to be dropped to our room b4 we were even aware. The room was so clean, warm and cosy....my mom had her 2hr bath and still loads of hot water for my shower after. Cleaning lady even gave her extra large bath towel which was much appreciated. Ate in the restaurant about 7ish...highly recommend the sea bass! It was quiet there but that was what we wanted. Wine list not over-priced like most places I've stayed in and food very reasonable. Presentation spot on.
Slept like a baby..so warm..just what the doctor ordered, sorta speak! Didn't stay for breakfast as had to be back in Galway for early appointments but saw the menu evening before and was very reasonably priced.
Regardless, wanted to jot down my experience as it was all positive and am hoping that others can share the same! Will certainly visit it again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Great family orientated hotel. Rooms are large and spacious, spotless clean. We did have one small issue with noisy neighbors which was quicky dealt with by reception. On leaving we has forgotten some baby items, which were delivered to our door step via post a couple of days later, nice to know hotels such as the abbey still exist and cintinue to offer value for money. Well done tobthe management and staff at the abbey.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
1.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
17.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
15.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Property: Abbey Hotel
Address: Galway Road, Roscommon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run 4* Abbey Hotel located on the Galway Road in Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Castle Style Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambiance described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The 4* Abbey Hotel boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the hotel offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Guests can avail of free and unlimited accces to our Diamond White Flag award winning Leisure Centre which boasts a 20m Indoor heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, plunge pool and Fully Equipped state of the Art Gymnasium and Treatment Room. We are also proud winners of the prestigious Restaurant Association of Ireland Award for Best Hotel Restaurant in County Roscommon (Connaught Winners) for 2014/15. This family run property is the ideal location for your relaxing family break with our complimentary supervised kids club available during the school mid –term breaks and holidays. Our RAI Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the ancient Dominican Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, all made from fresh locally sourced produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation by our dedicated team of chefs. Centrally located in the heart of the Midlands, 90 minutes from Dublin and Westport and under an hour from Galway and Sligo, the hotel is easily accessible by rail and bus and there is also a Heli Pad on the property for those who choose to travel in style. Those travelling on business can avail of our comprehensive conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s vast private gardens, and magnificent bridal suite beautifully appointed Ballroom and banqueting facilities.We are also a fully licensed Civil Ceremony Venue. The Award Winning Abbey Hotel, Roscommon ~ hosting events and weddings of distinction since 1963. ~ John Drennan, Journalist Irish Independent " The Abbey is a real gem of a hotel in Roscommon" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing