We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Very good place to stay if travelling round Ireland. Hotel had lovely comfortable sofas and some lbeautiful old prints on the walls. Bedrooms very spacious and clean.Staff were second to none especiallyat reception and bar. We had Bar food and it was excellent. Just one thing marred the meal, having to listen to the boss/manager give out to some the staff for leaving receipts on table ,he should have taken them aside to his office not out in front of customers, as the staff never stopped working all day and were courteous and smiling even after this incident.
I got a leaflet at hotel and It had 10 things to do in Roscommon which gave us ideas where to go.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on second floor and heard no noise, slept like a baby.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterfly1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
There are newer reviews for Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

Decided on a trip to Donegal to increase stay for 2 nights by going racing at Roscommon. Enjoyed break very much, staff extemely helpful and courteus, food excellent especially breakfast, room spacious, hotel clean. Excellent value

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

just back from few days in the abbbey hotel just lovely checkin was 2min cudnt be better lovely family room on second floor so quiet we slept in next morn near missed breakfast lol staff was so good cudnt help ya enough class brakery just up the road called mollys had best chinesse ever in china place just up the town above xtra vision and the little gem at the top of the town was the pizza place so yummy la troria weather was bad but sure thats ireland and the park is a must see with castle ruins and duck pond we booked 2 nites stayed a xtra 1 just didnt want go home pool and gym was great wish i was bk hope to again :)

Room Tip: 2nd floor really quiet for kids sleep bit longer
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aileen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The staff here were friendly and the rooms were clean and spacious. The swimming pool is reasonable and the breakfast and restaurant were satisfactory. However there is not a lot to do in Roscommon without having to do a car journey in various directions.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel cares about its reputation and it shows. The leisure centre staff, the house-keeping staff, reception, bar and restaurant staff - all serve the cutomer with care and courtesy. The rooms are comfortable, the showers are good, tea and coffee and biscuits are available in the room. its has a central yet quiet location.

Roscommon is a lovely town and make visitors feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

we had a relaxing and wonderful time at the abbey. I would say that wa disappointed with the fact that it wasnt all olde world but we had a large family room which was great. Also the staff were on hand and really helpful...they certainly know whats important and that was us the customer

Room Tip: would love to have seen the rooms in the old part!!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrD247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We were very pleased with the quality of this hotel, especially the dining. The room was very nice and beds were comfortable. The front desk was responsive to any of our questions about the area and their services. Breakfast was included with the room and it was totally tasty. The evening dining was extremely good, wine and all.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor backed on the Abbey ruin on the property behind the hotel. It was a lo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
1.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
233 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,134 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
17.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
11.1 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Galway Road, Roscommon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Price Range: £66 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run 4* Abbey Hotel located on the Galway Road in Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Castle Style Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambiance described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The 4* Abbey Hotel boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the hotel offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Guests can avail of free and unlimited accces to our Diamond White Flag award winning Leisure Centre which boasts a 20m Indoor heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, plunge pool and Fully Equipped state of the Art Gymnasium and Treatment Room. We are also proud winners of the prestigious Restaurant Association of Ireland Award for Best Hotel Restaurant in County Roscommon (Connaught Winners) for 2014/15. This family run property is the ideal location for your relaxing family break with our complimentary supervised kids club available during the school mid –term breaks and holidays. Our RAI Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the ancient Dominican Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, all made from fresh locally sourced produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation by our dedicated team of chefs. Centrally located in the heart of the Midlands, 90 minutes from Dublin and Westport and under an hour from Galway and Sligo, the hotel is easily accessible by rail and bus and there is also a Heli Pad on the property for those who choose to travel in style. Those travelling on business can avail of our comprehensive conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s vast private gardens, and magnificent bridal suite beautifully appointed Ballroom and banqueting facilities.We are also a fully licensed Civil Ceremony Venue. The Award Winning Abbey Hotel, Roscommon ~ hosting events and weddings of distinction since 1963. ~ John Drennan, Journalist Irish Independent " The Abbey is a real gem of a hotel in Roscommon" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing