We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding!”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Certificate of Excellence
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding!”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We recently held our wedding in the Abbey and I couldn't compliment it enough. From the start Adrian and Paula were very accommodating and took away any of the stress of the occasion. It was great to have them there during the day to make sure everything ran smoothly.

We were fortunate that it was a lovely day and as always the grounds of the hotel were in pristine condition and ideal for pictures. THe canapes, wine and refreshements on arrival were plentiful and delicious!

In particular, we got great compliments from our guests regarding the food. We opted to pay supplements for fillet beef and seabass for the main course and these proved to be a huge hit. All the food was nicely presented and although we split the speeches before and after the meal, the service was top class and any request we made was immediately taken care of.

It is easy to see why the Abbey remains such a popular location for weddings throughout the years and I have no doubt their success will continue for many years to come.

Best of luck
Anne Marie and Aidan

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMMul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    178
    102
    53
    34
See reviews for
205
243
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Lovely hotel, big spacious clean rooms. Had a lovely view of the Abbey ruins from the bedroom window. But, the night we stayed there was a wedding. Could not hear the wedding party or music, but all through the night anytime any of the guests come upstairs to the rooms the doors would slam and wake you up. Then at 4am there was a party, not sure where but it sounded as if it were in the room next door. Walls seemed to be paper thin. At 7am , a any crying somewhere woke me up again. I am yet to go down for breakfast, so have no comment on that. Maybe on a midweek night would be better...oh and no wifi :(

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PM963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

A mid week stay at the Abbey Hotel in |Roscommon town proved to be a surprise delight. The hotel is set in pleasant gardens with the backdrop of the old abbey . We were staying overnight and had dinner innthe restaurant which was of a very high standard. There is a spa and leisure centre which my wife used .The room was perfect . breakfast the next morning was faultless, full irish breakfast with selection of fruits and breads with cereals . We departed after breakfast with a sense of having found a little hidden gem in county Roscommon. There were not many staying in the hotel, well at least there were not many at breakfast that morning.
Well worth the stay at €79.00 for a double with breakfast. Why are there not more staying at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Lovely staff, very friendly, with the exception of one lady working on the reception desk.

Rooms were spacious, airy, comfortable and clean.

Food ok, top marks for breakfast.

One major problem: Requested late check out which we were given on arrival but got a call to vacate the room on the Sunday morning of departure from lady working on reception desk, very rude and abrupt. Shocked by this ladys lack of manners and professionalism and would not return to this hotel for this reason.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin . IRELAND
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Needed a break for a couple of days and this Hotel was just Perfect.
Staff were really nice , food was good and rooms were lovely.
If I had one complaint it was the Smoking area outside the Bar. it was dirty and was not cleaned for the 2 days I was there. A quick sweep with a brush is all it needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigbou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I was at a wedding last weekend and my main complaint is that breakfast finished at 10:00 a.m. on a Sunday!! The hotel was full (mainly with wedding guests as it was a large wedding) and I don't know any other hotel that does not serve breakfast late on a Sunday especially after a wedding. We arrived down at 9.55 and there was only crumbs left. My aunt was there nearly a half hour earlier and she did not get much more.
it also took so long to get a drink in the residents bar that it nearly took the good out of it.
People kept tripping over the steps in the ballroom also which is a health and safety risk. I also thought €140 for a double room (wedding rate) was very expensive in a recession. Easily known it is the only large hotel in Roscommon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orlaithmannion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Very good place to stay if travelling round Ireland. Hotel had lovely comfortable sofas and some lbeautiful old prints on the walls. Bedrooms very spacious and clean.Staff were second to none especiallyat reception and bar. We had Bar food and it was excellent. Just one thing marred the meal, having to listen to the boss/manager give out to some the staff for leaving receipts on table ,he should have taken them aside to his office not out in front of customers, as the staff never stopped working all day and were courteous and smiling even after this incident.
I got a leaflet at hotel and It had 10 things to do in Roscommon which gave us ideas where to go.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on second floor and heard no noise, slept like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfly1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
1.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
222 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,885 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
17.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
20.6 mi away
Shearwater Hotel
Shearwater Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ballinasloe
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Property: Abbey Hotel
Address: Galway Road, Roscommon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run 4* Abbey Hotel located on the Galway Road in Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Castle Style Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambiance described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The 4* Abbey Hotel boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the hotel offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Guests can avail of free and unlimited accces to our Diamond White Flag award winning Leisure Centre which boasts a 20m Indoor heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, plunge pool and Fully Equipped state of the Art Gymnasium and Treatment Room. We are also proud winners of the prestigious Restaurant Association of Ireland Award for Best Hotel Restaurant in County Roscommon (Connaught Winners) for 2014/15. This family run property is the ideal location for your relaxing family break with our complimentary supervised kids club available during the school mid –term breaks and holidays. Our RAI Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the ancient Dominican Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, all made from fresh locally sourced produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation by our dedicated team of chefs. Centrally located in the heart of the Midlands, 90 minutes from Dublin and Westport and under an hour from Galway and Sligo, the hotel is easily accessible by rail and bus and there is also a Heli Pad on the property for those who choose to travel in style. Those travelling on business can avail of our comprehensive conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s vast private gardens, and magnificent bridal suite beautifully appointed Ballroom and banqueting facilities.We are also a fully licensed Civil Ceremony Venue. The Award Winning Abbey Hotel, Roscommon ~ hosting events and weddings of distinction since 1963. ~ John Drennan, Journalist Irish Independent " The Abbey is a real gem of a hotel in Roscommon" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing