We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Weekend”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We decided to try somewhere different and had never been to this part of Ireland before. We arrived late on Friday night and just had time to order something from the bar menu. The food was excellent the service very pleasant but a bit haphazard (this would prove true all weekend),
The food is excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful but do tend to get things wrong at a basic level. The décor desperately needs to updated!! Our booking was wrong but this was sorted very quickly when I brought it to their attention. Good hotel (needs to be updated), staff helpful and pleasant, great swimming pool and spa, great location in Roscommon town

Room Tip: The availability of Wi-Fi needs to be sorted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ging44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbeyhotel3, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post the above comments. We note your comments regarding the bar area. Coincidentally, we are planning a refurbishment of the area in November. We expect the work to be completed pretty quickly and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, no doubt you won't be disappointed.

Yours sincerely
Tom Grealy
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    175
    102
    52
    35
See reviews for
199
243
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had our Wedding reception in the Abbey just over a year ago. from day one of meeting Adrian & Tom Greally Jnr they assured us that we would have nothing to worry about on the day - true to their word, timing was meticulous and as a result we truly got the most out of our day.

The food we got to choose from attending a food tasting day and it was beyond expectation on the day.Efficient servers ensured hot dinners served to all tables together. We had a very mixed age group of guests and all enjoyed the meal immensely and some were delighted to get to sample both main course choices when there was 2nd helpings!

As a lot of our guests travelled to Roscommon for the wedding, they made it a two night stay and all of them were high in their praise of the staff they met at reception, the bar, breakfast saying they were all so friendly and polite.

From our first meeting to pick our dates to checking out 2 days after the wedding, we were extremely happy with The Abbey Hotel management and staff. It was our absolute pleasure to bring so many of our friends and family to Roscommon and host them in such a warm, friendly hotel.

We look forward to many more reasons to celebrate in The Abbey!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaPaulR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Checked in for one night on the 19/9

Girl in reception very friendly, courteous and welcoming at check in.
Decor in room a little dated but very clean.

Dinner in the bar was good. Breakfast was also good.

Will be back again and would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exptrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

As others have said the hotel is getting a bit tired and faded but we stayed for two nights as part of a small tour group and were very satisfied. Our room was spacious and clean with a nice bathroom. Service was friendly and efficient both at reception and the bars. Highlight was definitely the restaurant. Both our evening meals were of excellent quality with generous portions and would have stood up well to any competition. If you are visiting the area I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staffordfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexf0rd
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My husband aunt and 12 year old daughter stayef at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting knock. Lovely bar food served and also dinner in restaurant was well priced.also visited galway and castlebar while staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wexf0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I was recently in the Abbey to stop for food. I have to say it was the nicest restaurant I've eaten in. It may be a bit pricey but definitely worth the money.
The service was great, not much of a wait between courses. The staff were very polite and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molls21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We,(my husband, 3 kids & I) stayed here recently on a 2 night break. We were accommodated in the original part of the hotel and we loved it!! The room was clean, spacious and really comfortable. Each member of staff that I dealt with was exceptionally helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble from fussy eating kids to extra pillows for crotchety parents!! We ate in the bar on both nights and found it to be great food at good prices. Breakfast provided plenty of choice and again when we ordered 'off menu' it was no problem. Although there was a kids club we didn't avail of it as we did day trips but kids did enjoy playing in the pool, unfortunately I didn't get to avail of any treatments.. I highly recommend this hotel, we loved it!!

Room Tip: ask to be away from the ballroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagwood27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
1.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
215 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,848 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
17.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
15.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Property: Abbey Hotel
Address: Galway Road, Roscommon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run 4* Abbey Hotel located on the Galway Road in Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Castle Style Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambiance described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The 4* Abbey Hotel boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the hotel offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Guests can avail of free and unlimited accces to our Diamond White Flag award winning Leisure Centre which boasts a 20m Indoor heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, plunge pool and Fully Equipped state of the Art Gymnasium and Treatment Room. We are also proud winners of the prestigious Restaurant Association of Ireland Award for Best Hotel Restaurant in County Roscommon (Connaught Winners) for 2014/15. This family run property is the ideal location for your relaxing family break with our complimentary supervised kids club available during the school mid –term breaks and holidays. Our RAI Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the ancient Dominican Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, all made from fresh locally sourced produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation by our dedicated team of chefs. Centrally located in the heart of the Midlands, 90 minutes from Dublin and Westport and under an hour from Galway and Sligo, the hotel is easily accessible by rail and bus and there is also a Heli Pad on the property for those who choose to travel in style. Those travelling on business can avail of our comprehensive conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s vast private gardens, and magnificent bridal suite beautifully appointed Ballroom and banqueting facilities.We are also a fully licensed Civil Ceremony Venue. The Award Winning Abbey Hotel, Roscommon ~ hosting events and weddings of distinction since 1963. ~ John Drennan, Journalist Irish Independent " The Abbey is a real gem of a hotel in Roscommon" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing