We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting for a Wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Roscommon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I had the opportunity to attend a wedding at this townhouse or as American's call it a hotel! I was staying for two weeks on business in the area and found over the years that Gleeson's not only offer a wide range of services, but that from room service to seat down formal or casual dining you don't need to rush around town trying to find an affordable Restaurant. The true treasures of this place are found in the Owners themselves, Mary and Eamonn Gleeson! These two are the pillars of which this unique Townhouse and Restaurant gets it energy and welcome atmosphere that makes it not only charming and comfortable but the feel of a very proud family as well! It is always a pleasure to stay in a place where your needs and comfort receives the greatest attention! When trying to explain an experience that you have had at any place you stay, it all comes back to the people you encounter and the Memories that stay with you a lifetime!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the place from what I've stayed in! I love the fact that they keep su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EamonnGleeson, Owner at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your very kind words.

Myself and Mary both enjoy meeting new people and making their stay in Roscommon as comfortable as possible. This is the best part of our job!

We are very much looking forward to seeing you again as we had a wonderful time with you.

All the best,

Eamonn Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

Congratulations to all the Gleeson Family on their great establishment. We had a wonderfull two night stay with gorgeous eveing meal and stayed the a suite which was delightfull. We were attending The Percy French Summer School in Castlecoote nearby - well worth a visit - (afternoons only) and were so lucky that the Percy French Trombadoors were also staying in Gleeson's, boy - had we a wonderfull night after their concert ! This was in no small part due to Mrs Gleeson herself who warmlt welcomed the entertanment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olive p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EamonnGleeson, Owner at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you very much for your review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the wonderful Percy French Festival.

On behalf of Mary and myself we wish you all the best and we hope to see you back again same time next year!

Eamonn Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We wandered in by chance in search of dinner on a miserable wet night. Within minutes we had forgotten the rain. The food was great, the service was attentive and discreet, the food was beautifully cooked and presented... the wine was superb. And the bill was very manageable!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you so much for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal at our Manse Restaurant in our Townhouse.

We constantly aim to increase our standards and reviews such as yours are encouraging and help us to keep up the good work!

Thanks again,

Eamonn Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed for two nights at this delightful Hotel in Roscommon. The staff were superb, being extremely helpful, and very attentive. The Hotel itself is very good, with delightful bedrooms, and all the facilities were excellent.

Room Tip: For a car touring holiday this Hotel is an extremely good choice. They have a very good car park, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for your review.

Our wonderful staff always aim go the extra mile for our customers and thank you for also pointing out that you enjoyed the facilities and the location of our Townhouse.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Eamonn Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

we headed down to roscommon for a 2 night stay. we found Glesson,s on a website.i sent them a email requesting their help in organizing a couple of days away. They got back to me asap and org everything for me.At the hotel we were welcomed with the a very friendly guy who was so helpful and we got upgraded to a suite free of charge.I can go on here for ages but all i can say is if you u want a place that gives u all the attention and makes you feel special go to this hotel from the rooms,food oh the food is fab,to the owners coming to your table to make sure everything is alright.i will recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annmariedooleykeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the best of Roscommon food.

We do aim to give our customers a unique and personalised experience of staying at our Townhouse and visiting the surrounding areas.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you wish us to plan another visit for you - we would love to see you again!

Eamonn Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed here for just one night with some friends on a tour of Ireland by train. Only 13 minutes leasurly walk from the station and right in the town centre, it was chosen on location.
This turned out to be a serendipitous choice. The welcome was warm, the service friendly and efficient, the rooms were comfortable and well kept. The whole experience was just right. The breakfast was excellent and out hosts even gave us a lift to the station after checking out for return trip to Dublin and then home. I would certainly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you so much for your review.

We are so glad that you chose to stay with us during your tour of Ireland. So often our wonderful location is overlooked in favour of bigger cities.

We do try to offer a unique and personalised service to our customers and we do aim to be different to our larger competitors in this regard.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again soon.

Eamonn Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed the night after a family wedding (Sunday 24/6). Check in was delayed as the previous nights guests had not checked out at the listed time The party was still going on Sunday with so much noise we had to change rooms. Cigarette smell in halls outside bedrooms in spite of beng "smoke free". Almost naked young man hanging out of front window when we arrived. Had Sunday lunch and were unable to carry on a conversation due to very loud, shouting men (including owner) at a near by table.Food appeared to be left overs from the reception. Poor service, our waitress just disappeared and we had to find some elst to take the rest of our order. At check out Monday AM the person at the front desk did not know how to process payment. The person who was suposed to be there had not arrived (0830). I have stayed here before and was very pleased. This time I had very unpleasant experience. They probably should have closed for the entire weekend it they could not provide adequate customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we accept full responsibility for that. You are quite right in your opinion that we should have remained closed for the entire weekend of the wedding.
As this was a family wedding and the first of its kind at Gleesons, we were unaware of the full impact that it may have on our other guests.

Thanks to reviews such as yours, we are able to learn from our mistakes and we can guarantee that this will not be repeated in the future.

Should you wish to give us another chance, we would love to have you stay again.

Please email us to find out what we can do for you.

Apologies again,
Eamonn Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roscommon hotels
0.5 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
710 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
250 reviews
0 mi away
Jacksons Restaurant & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ross House B&B
Ross House B&B
#2 of 6 in Roscommon
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Arch House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Roscommon
5 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cuisle Holiday Centre
Cuisle Holiday Centre
#1 of 4 in Roscommon
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant

Address: Market Square, Roscommon F42 WA22, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roscommon
Price Range: £63 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the heart of Roscommon town, overlooking the Towns Historic Square, Gleeson's Townhouse is a lovingly restored 19th-century Boutique Townhouse Hotel. Situated beside the tourist office/museum, Gleeson’s is the perfect base for touring the west and midlands of Ireland. With 19 rooms and two luxury suites, each designed with unique flair, at Gleeson's Restaurant & Rooms you can really rest, relax and enjoy. It has free, secure parking, and friendly staff & is highly recommended in international guide books. All rooms are en suite and offer a high level of luxury and comfort. The menus offer locally sourced and sustainable food. Originally known as “The Manse”, this lovingly restored 19th century Townhouse is a building steeped in history that dates back to 1870 .Gleeson's Townhouse Boutique Hotel provides a warm welcome, comfortable rooms and first-class food. Enjoy the welcoming and relaxed atmosphere & our open turf fire in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleeson`s Townhouse And Restaurant Hotel Roscommon
Gleesons Townhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing