We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Roscommon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This a really lovely guesthouse in the centre of Roscommon town. We were upgraded on arrival to two gorgeous rooms/suites. The staff are extremely friendly and are always available. The scone and tea on arrival is a nice touch. A special mention for the bar/restaurant manager Ken who was always extremely professional, friendly and accommodating. I have never experienced customer service like it! We had dinner and breakfast in the guesthouse restaurant, both of which were very good. There is also a nice cafe attached to the guesthouse.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EamonnGleeson, Manager at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear fitz88,
Thank you for the fantastic review and wonderful comments! The staff and I are so glad you decided to stay with us and even more pleased that you had so much fun with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is an excellent family run townhouse in the heart of Roscommon Town. Mary and Eamon give the personal touch and are always on hand. Complimentary tea/coffee and scones in the cafe on arrival is a nice touch. The breakfast is huge, great variety and has that "home cooked" taste that you don't get in hotels. Staff take the lead from the hosts and are very helpful. Rooms are all individually and tastefully furnished in country townhouse style. Would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdf07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EamonnGleeson, Owner at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear gdf07,
Thank you very much for your kind review. Its great when we hear back from people who enjoyed staying with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Booked here as I was attending a wedding near by, on checking in we were given a room down the street up over a shop, never once were we advised that we would not be in the building of the guesthouse.

On entering the room the smell was vile, we reported it straight away to the reception and they said they would look at it. When we returned from the wedding they keys would not work, we had to wake the girl on reception to let us in.

The smell in the room was worse and we had to sleep in this all night, reported it AGAIN the following morning, as the smell was so bad they had to give us keys to a room in the guesthouse itself as we wer unable to stay in the room to shower with the smell. This was a fiasco also as they did not know what rooms were available to use.

Would not recommend staying here at all and would definitely not return,

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SligoLooneyToon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EamonnGleeson, Owner at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to acknowledge your recent review relating to your stay with us some 6 months ago.
Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience with us. Without making excuses, that time was a highly unusual situation at Gleesons, in that an extremely high ranking US intelligence agent was staying at The Townhouse during a visit to his ancestral home in Roscommon, which meant that on the request of the Intelligence Agency some of our Townhouse rooms had to be used for security reasons, hence your accommodation in our Townhouse annexe.

Unfortunately the odours in your room in the Townhouse annexe was caused by a faulty air vent, which we were unaware of until reported to us by you. When discovered we acted immediately to resolve the issue. I also note your issue with the electronic key cards. We have discontinued using them as they caused our guests an inconvenience on several occasions.

We fully acknowledge that these events led to a very poor experience for you, which greatly disappoints us, as we strive to make sure all our guests enjoy a warm, homely and welcoming stay with us.

We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Gleesons, where I can assure you of the best of attention and a genuine welcome.

Sincerely
Eamonn and Mary Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Hi we have visited gleeson,s three times now and always very friendly and good home made food
we live in England ,Manchester, and visit Ireland on a regular based , and we go out of our way too call here and spend the night good beer choice and well run hotel they always make you feel very welcome we arrived a bit late one night 30 mins after food was closed,
we asked if there was any chance we could have some sandwiches or anything to eat , chap just said no bother! sit your selfs down and I will bring you the menu and said you can have anything from the menu, so we sat down near the big warm fire and ordered a pint of guiness and a powers whisky . Can not be beat and the room was very comfy.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I needed to stay in Roscommon for several nights during November while visiting from the UK to spend time with a very ill relative at the local hospital. Having previously had a number of very positive experiences at the restaurant, I checked in at Gleesons where I returned for a number of nights over a couple of weeks. What a wonderful experience, from start to finish. Gleesons is a real credit to the family and a real gem for Roscommon. The accommodation was welcoming, tasteful, comfortable and spotless. However the best feature of all was the warm welcome (not to mention the lovely open fire!) and cosy retreat that both owners and staff extended to me on each occasion. Several times I needed to arrive very late and/or leave early, and I was always offered lovely food and refreshments. (I also had lunch from their deli next door which was delicious). Nothing was too much trouble. This lovely retreat was particularly special given the stressful circumstances of my trip, but I was delighted to see this same "Cead mile failte" extended to many visitors and guests over my time there. My family & I look forward to staying again under more relaxed circumstances in the future & meantime will be recommending Gleesons unreservedly.

Room Tip: I stayed in a number of rooms and each one was charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTS10A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My first impression was that the place was incredibly quiet for a Friday night ..it turned out that a large function room at the back was fully booked for a retirement party.

However this did not impact in any way on the service or the quality of the food.

The starter was fresh and crisp the mains were tasty and well presented .

We shared a bottle of their Eco brand wine which I noticed that they were also selling in their local Artisan produce shop elsewhere in Roscommon.

It was lovely and very well priced for the quality.

Service was pleasant and friendly considering the pressure they were obviously under next door!


All in all ...I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HappyIrishGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at Gleeson's. We were a party of four in three rooms. We arrived Friday afternoon and check in was smooth, quick, and friendly. All our rooms were spotless, warm and with modern bathrooms. We had an early dinner in the cafe which was lovely; fresh food and a well thought out menu catering for most tastes. The cafe service is efficient, friendly and relaxed. The following evening we were a party of eight eating in the restaurant. I had the sea bass which was very good. Service in the restaurant was attentive and unobtrusive. We stayed in the two-room suite to the front of the hotel and this was lovely; tasteful decor with lots of space to relax and the room was made up every day. The location of the hotel is ideal, right by the main square. Only two small points for improvement, some light bulbs were not working in the room and over the bathroom mirror, and the trouser press was not working. I hope this hotel continues to thrive and we will definitely stay here next time we visit Roscommon and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
0.5 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
695 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
243 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
10.6 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ross House B&B
Ross House B&B
#2 of 6 in Roscommon
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant

Address: Market Square, Roscommon F42 WA22, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roscommon
Price Range: £62 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the heart of Roscommon town, overlooking the Towns Historic Square, Gleeson's Townhouse is a lovingly restored 19th-century Boutique Townhouse Hotel. Situated beside the tourist office/museum, Gleeson’s is the perfect base for touring the west and midlands of Ireland. With 19 rooms and two luxury suites, each designed with unique flair, at Gleeson's Restaurant & Rooms you can really rest, relax and enjoy. It has free, secure parking, and friendly staff & is highly recommended in international guide books. All rooms are en suite and offer a high level of luxury and comfort. The menus offer locally sourced and sustainable food. Originally known as “The Manse”, this lovingly restored 19th century Townhouse is a building steeped in history that dates back to 1870 .Gleeson's Townhouse Boutique Hotel provides a warm welcome, comfortable rooms and first-class food. Enjoy the welcoming and relaxed atmosphere & our open turf fire in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleeson`s Townhouse And Restaurant Hotel Roscommon
Gleesons Townhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing