We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Roscommon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had stayed here before and were delighted to do so again, also recommending same to a number of others in our party. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is a sense that they are trying to look after your welfare. It is a family run hotel with a certain charm. We stayed in the suite to the front of the building and it was spacious, clean and comfortable.

The breakfast is substantial, great variety and most tasty. The man who was in charge was very attentive and friendly. A lovely experience once again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DustyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Friendly staff, friendly staff, clean comfortable room with spare blankets and pillows. Coffee & tea as we wished during the day.

We felt like we were at home, everyone had a smile and welcome for us. We were in Roscommon for the funeral of a close friend and the staff were brilliant. Food out of this world - great portions cooked to perfection. Fabolous selection of home made breads and scones. This was our second stay and we will be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John-Baytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Excellent food and comfortable rooms. The best Guinness in town.
Rooms are big enough and the restaurant is ok. Very good breakfast with good variety of bread.
The pub inside is not really a pub but Guinness is better then other's pubs nearby.
I suggest salmon but desserts ara great too.
The position is central and no problem in parking your car.
One of my favourite hotels in Irland considering the good price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Utvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a family run hotel with a warm and friendly atmosphere where we were treated like old friends the minute we stepped inside the door. The reception area is more like a living room inviting you to linger over a coffee or two with a view out to the patio which but for the rain would have been a pleasant place to sit also. Our room was attractive and spotless with an excellent shower and my bed, and especially the pillows, were perfection, no noise from outside and I slept like a log. We had our evening meal and lunch the next day at the restaurant and found the food and the service to be very good.

No negatives about this place at all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Overstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Visiting from the States with sisters and father... Clean B&B with lots of charm for a great price! Eamonn, Mary, Ken and their team were generous, accomodating and treated us like family. The homemade scones and front garden are a great way to begin or end any day. Dont miss the specialty shop next door that makes great sandwiches too. Thank you Gleeson's for helping us create an unforgettable vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14dottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Party of 7 booked for one night and had a warm welcome and very enjoyable stay. The Hotel is spotless, full of character and very homely.The food was delicious and the complimentary cup of tea coffee and scone is a great idea on arrival, it added to the whole experience. Everyone was very friendly, we didn't get to meet Ken however Mary more than made up for his absence and was a charming hostess.

Room Tip: Every bedroom has different decor and there is a great selection of paintings and pictures throughou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamrock_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EamonnGleeson, Owner at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear shamrock_8,

Thank you for your very kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your first trip to our beautiful town of Roscommon.
We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us at Gleeson's and I will pass on your lovely comments to my wife Mary also.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had THE most beautiful meal in our lives (and we really mean that). The setting was beautiful, the service was superb and the staff were so friendly and welcoming. The food was magnificent. We will definitely be back again and the next time we hope to stay over in Roscommon for a few days in Gleesons. Well done to each and every member of the staff and our compliments to the chef.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 731Ailish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EamonnGleeson, Owner at Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear 731Ailish,

Thank you for the fantastic review and wonderful comments! The staff and I are so delighted you enjoyed dining with us. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to my staff and certainly my chefs.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
0.5 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
684 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
239 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
17.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,959 reviews
16.8 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant

Address: Market Square, Roscommon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roscommon
Price Range: £63 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the heart of Roscommon town, overlooking the Towns Historic Square, Gleeson's Townhouse is a lovingly restored 19th-century Boutique Townhouse Hotel. Situated beside the tourist office/museum, Gleeson’s is the perfect base for touring the west and midlands of Ireland. With 19 rooms and two luxury suites, each designed with unique flair, at Gleeson's Restaurant & Rooms you can really rest, relax and enjoy. It has free, secure parking, and friendly staff & is highly recommended in international guide books. All rooms are en suite and offer a high level of luxury and comfort. The menus offer locally sourced and sustainable food. Originally known as “The Manse”, this lovingly restored 19th century Townhouse is a building steeped in history that dates back to 1870 .Gleeson's Townhouse Boutique Hotel provides a warm welcome, comfortable rooms and first-class food. Enjoy the welcoming and relaxed atmosphere & our open turf fire in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleeson`s Townhouse And Restaurant Hotel Roscommon
Gleesons Townhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing