We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little haven of excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Roscommon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Thanks Mary and Eamon we visited you lovely restaurant on Friday night and found a little haven of warmth, excellent food and service with a real family feel about it. I would come back to Roscommon especially to visit your quaint restaurant. A definite wroth while visit for anyone staying in roscommon.

Thanks so much Sue Woodall

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suew28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

On our first trip to Ireland we booked a room in Roscommon at the Gleesons Townhouse & Restaurant for one night. We knew that Irish people are very friendly and we had seen the hospitality all over the country but the hospitality we met in this place was just so fantastic. Mary and Eamonn gave us the very best they had, a wonderful suite and a delicious food. We tried their famous Irish Stew and the local beer - we can recomment it!
Eamonn told us about the region and took us to the pub after dinner. We left the next day with nice homemade bread and scones and we've already decided to come back to Mary and Eamonn and this fantastic place ans spend some more time.
Thank you so very much for a wondeful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fanastril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We were in Roscommon town for the day and after looking up places to eat in Roscommon town on tripadvisior I have to say that this restaraunt did not dissapoint. Great food, great friendly service, lovely atmosphere and so far it is the only place I have eaten in that caters for children in regards to good healthy wholesome dinners. I would highly recommend this restaraunt for anyone passing through or staying in and around roscommon town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiddyEarly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

My husband and I had the good furtune to stay at Gleeson's for four nights. It is very centrally located in the town centre. We enjoyed a lovely suite which was very clean, spacious and extremely comfortable. The hospitality that Eamonn and Mary showed us was the best in all of Ireland. I felt right at home. Complimentary Internet access is available as well as a free, convenient car park. The breakfast served is delicious (I've never seen bigger omlets!) and the homemade bread and variety of jams are outstanding! Every staff member I met was friendly and extremely accommodating. Don't pass Gleeson's up...you'll be sorry!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irisheyes957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Stayed just one night as we needed a bed in the area. I called the day before to advise that we would be arriving very late and were told this was no problem and we could have a good lie in and get breakfast up to 11 am. Beautiful old building, very tastefully decorated. The service here is warm and friendly, a rare thing these days. The room was impeccable, not huge but comfortable, clean and really homely. A jar of fresh cookies awaited us on arrival. The breakfast the next day was delicious, freshly cooked with plenty of homemade bread and preserves. I would look for an excuse to revisit this place. Highly recommended, a real gem!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adagio4042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed on a weekend night in gleesons on our way to Co. Leitrim. It is a small Hotel with a restaurant, coffee shop and deli attached, and appeared to be family owned. We had booked B&B and dinner and were welcomed with tea and scones on arrival. We booked through another website (can't remember the name) and got a great room rate. The room was small,cleand and had all that we needed including a hugh bed which was sooooooo comfortable. One of us is Coeliac and asked about the dinner menu for choice of courses. There was plenty of choice and they had gluten free bread in stock which I think was made by them or locally. Great"!! They also left some aside to be toasted at breakfast. Dinner was excellent - not fancy - but good local products and very reasonable. Breakfast was also first rate and service throughout was friendly. We also bought some local products in the deli attached. This was so much better than staying in a chain hotel and we would recommend it and would like to return to the area for a little longer again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodtime4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I was in charge of booking a night away with some girlfriends. It had to be somewhere in the middle of Ireland as one of us was travelling from Galway and the rest of us live on the east coast. I considered, then rejected, some of the chain hotels in Athlone and Tullamore and kept looking for something a little more special. I remembered I had a Good Food Ireland map and decided to see if there was a member suitably located. Aside for seeing each other and catching up, having some delicious food was at the top of our priority list. Gleeson's Townhouse is slap bang in the centre of Roscommon, in a lovely stone building set back from the Square. We were going for a triple and a twin, but one of the girls has 3 small kids and hadn't been getting much sleep, so when I rang to enquire how much it would be to book a single for her, and explained why, they gave her a 'lovely, pretty room' for the same price per head as if she was sharing. The break fell right n the middle of the cold snap and our rooms were cold on arrival but extra radiators were put in. My friends were moved across the hall as the heating in one part of the house wasn't working, but they were moved in a no hassle, polite way. You get tea/coffee and a scone or something from the lovely range of pastries in the cafe when you arrive and we had ours in front of the roaring fire in the reception. There was a roaring fire in the dining room that evening while we had dinner and the food was delicious, as was breakfast the next day. There are so many really unique and welcoming places in Ireland to stay, like Gleeson's, that I have vowed never to stay in a soulless hotel again.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
Thank ibnbattutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roscommon hotels
0.5 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
703 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ross House B&B
Ross House B&B
#2 of 6 in Roscommon
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jacksons Restaurant & Guesthouse
0 mi away
No photo provided
Arch House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Roscommon
5 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cuisle Holiday Centre
Cuisle Holiday Centre
#1 of 4 in Roscommon
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant

Address: Market Square, Roscommon F42 WA22, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roscommon
Price Range: £62 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the heart of Roscommon town, overlooking the Towns Historic Square, Gleeson's Townhouse is a lovingly restored 19th-century Boutique Townhouse Hotel. Situated beside the tourist office/museum, Gleeson’s is the perfect base for touring the west and midlands of Ireland. With 19 rooms and two luxury suites, each designed with unique flair, at Gleeson's Restaurant & Rooms you can really rest, relax and enjoy. It has free, secure parking, and friendly staff & is highly recommended in international guide books. All rooms are en suite and offer a high level of luxury and comfort. The menus offer locally sourced and sustainable food. Originally known as “The Manse”, this lovingly restored 19th century Townhouse is a building steeped in history that dates back to 1870 .Gleeson's Townhouse Boutique Hotel provides a warm welcome, comfortable rooms and first-class food. Enjoy the welcoming and relaxed atmosphere & our open turf fire in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleeson`s Townhouse And Restaurant Hotel Roscommon
Gleesons Townhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing