We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hit and miss”
Review of Markree Castle

Markree Castle
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Collooney
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hit and miss”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have visited a few times now and it can be good or not so good.The landing smells of wet firewood trying to burn and seems to smoke the area,luckily smoke alarms don't seem to work.The service was a bit slow and the wait for food seemed to be a long one,when the food came it was ok not very hot though and a little bland.Main course was slightly over cooked and tasted a little salty,i should have sent it back but i hate doing that.Desert was good but it could have been presented better but it was good.If we go back again im sure it will be much better as i can be so so at times.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Johngerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    13
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Restaurant & Bar food fantastic”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The food in both the restaurant and bar read as they ate...when you read the menu the food came out and looked and tasted just as the menu described them...which was fantastic...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank salobrenasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab food”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Great food and nice atmosphere,pork and duck are amazing.Waiting staff are friendly and the castle is full of old charm and a huge blazing fire in the reception area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Johngerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Picturesque location. Good self catering houses. Castle needs some upgrading. Service in castle was very poor.”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a few of the self catering cottages. Very pretty location and near Sligo. Houses are well designed and comfortable. The sauna and jacuzzi are a nice addition. Lovely walks on grounds.
Had dinner second night of our stay. We rang ahead to make sure they could cater for approx 14. They said no problem. When we arrived they were obliging and organised at table in a room as the bad is small and there was not enough room.
The bar food was terrible. Fries were very cold and fish like warm. Some of us ordered from a la carte menu. Pork belly was fabulous and monk fish cooked well but again could have been warmer. The lamb was very tough and some parts were rare. It could not be eaten. After we were served no one came back and asked were we ok. We had to get up from table and request for portions of fries as portions on plates were cold.
The person having lamb had to get up and find someone to return the meal and get another. No one came to take his plate. He got up 20mins later to ask where was replacement. Staff said it was because he ordered it well done. Well done lamb should not be tough and it wasn't well done as it was red. The waitress should not have said anything but came an removed the plate and got him alternative. Another 20 mins later I went out to enquire why no one had come in and taken the lamb? The waitress said that they were to busy with 52 seatings even though there was only 2 in the restaurant at the time.
She said they had gone out of there way tobacco adage us and we had arrived without warning. I said to her that we were paying customers and if they couldn't. After for us they should have told us so. She made faces and raised her eyes to heaven. I asked to speak to the manager and I wanted to see an apology reflected in the bill.
She eventually came to our table and took the lamb and returned with an alternative dish. She said the portions of fries and alternative dish would not be charged.
When we checked the bill it contained a lot of mistakes and once fixed it was approx 50€ less. The girl looking after the bill was very nice and helpful.
We had a drnk in the bar afterwards and the barman was dry nice. In summary the service needs a lot of work and I would not recommend eating there.
Pity as the houses are great.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whe1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old World Charm - Downton comes to Sligo!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were celebrating a fairly substantial birthday and enjoyed an experience of a life time! The staff greeted us and were extremely friendly and led us into the most wonderful dining room. The menu was delicious, it was difficult to decide what to order. We had the crab salad followed by
monk-fish and lamb, it was cooked to perfection! Very friendly, helpful and attractive staff. We will definitely return.



monkfish

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 305kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Markree Castle also viewed

 
Collooney, County Sligo
 

Been to Markree Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing