We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a great place to stay in Ireland ~ rooms large ocean view room and a nice continental breakfast. Excellent staff
Breakfast is not hot except for warm hard boiled eggs, but plenty of choices, breads, cereals, juices teas coffees pastries fruits yogurts milk ~ crazy amount if choices including gluten free~ quite nice actually. Walk down to beach takes about 15 minutes and the beach is beautiful and goes on forever. Great cafe called shells is excellent food and a nice change from pub food. Only open till 7 pm .. Great coffee too. Then indulge at the Voya Spa. Reason alone to visit ireland. Seaweed baths, seaweed body wraps and facials are the best in the world. Not to miss, if only you take a seaweed bath its a miraculous experience for for skin, detox your body and enrich your skin with minerals.. Feels amazing and lasts for weeks! GO!! And enjoy Strandhill as its beauty is enormous ~

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkleMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Sparklemermaid

Thank-you for taking the time to review and relay your Strandhill experience on tripadvisor. Many people who visit the area are always delighted to find the great bars and restaurants with great food so close-by The scenery and the area are very beautiful and we are blessed to be located here.

The Voya Baths are terrific and provide an excellent accompaniment to the village and guests can have a seaweed bath, massage or treatment and relax then on their balcony overlooking the golf course... it is a great experience.

Thank-you so much for your recommendations and for taking the time to review - i will pass on your kind comments too. I hope we shall see you in Strandhill again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    53
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
91
251
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Nice spacious clean room with a beautiful view across the bay, although it helped that the weather was beautiful. It's at the top of the hill about a 10 min walk to the beach. There's a great pub/restaurant called The Venue right beside. Breakfast was the usual continental affair.
Strandhill is a beach town, good place to learn to surf (there's a couple of schools), very pleasant place to stop on the west coast.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear stewsimon

Thankyou for your kind review and for taking the time to do so. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know when you are in the area again we would be happy to provide a similar room for you.

Thanks for the recommendation it is greatly appreciated.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend and we could not fault the place. The hotel is very clean, spacious and private, with friendly and helpful staff. The room we were in had a balcony which we could sit out on and enjoy a few drinks and the fabulous views. The breakfast was continental with a great choice and you will not leave it hungry. There is a nice residents area where free tea and coffee is available 24/7. Will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Sligo. The Venue bar and restaurant is next door and I would recommend you book it on arrival at the hotel as its very busy and we could not get a table in it when we visited it, but all was not lost as there is other places to eat only 2 minute drive away.
Strandhill is a beautiful place and staying here was the icing on the cake.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ashmonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Ashlouth

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank-you for sharing your experiences on tripadvisor. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Strandhill is a terrific area and we are blessed to be surrounded by such quality bars and restaurants. The views from the seaview rooms are indeed terrific especially the sunsets which always seem to take the breath away.

The little extras we provide are designed to maximise your stay and to make you feel relaxed and appreciated so i'm glad we went someway to achieving this.

Thankyou so much for your kind review and your recommendation it is greatly appreciated word of mouth is always terrific. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon - just give us a call to ensure that you get the same room again next time.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zermatt, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent a second holiday in Strandhill Lodge and Suites and a great time! David, the manager spoiled us with a wonderful and spacious room and was happy to help. Great breakfast with a lot of choice, different bread, eggs, fresh fruitsalad, yoghurts, cheese, meat, even porridge... You can go on a flight, go surfing, horseriding and go for great walks with fantastc views along the beach. It's quiet and the Venue right beside the hotel has a Nice pub and a great Goatcheese salad and wonderful Irish shirloin steak. We're coming back again. Thanks David, you're doing a wonderful job. The Swiss.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Mariab

It is always great to see guests returning and i was delighted to see you both in Strandhill again. I'm glad that the weather held out somewhat for you and you go to enjoy so much during your stay with us. We are lucky to live in such an area with a plethora of activities and great bars and restaurants so closeby.

I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast we do seek to provide as much choice as possible while providing a healthy option also. I hope that we will see you again in 2014 and if not soon after - its always a pleasure to welcome you back.

Thank-you again for your review, your kind words and for taking the time to do so.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stopped at Strandhill Lodge for 1 night as part of an Irish roadtrip and we were so glad we did :-) Bedrooms and bathrooms are finished to an extremely high standard, really exceeded expectations for the price - staff were all friendly and informative and the continental breakfast was delicious! Strandhill is a lovely wee area, there's a great pub at the bottom of the hill beside the beach and there's one next door too.... our only disappointment was only booking the 1 night!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Dinkydoll

Thankyou for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor i'm delighted that you chose us on your trip around Ireland. I'm glad you enjoyed the rooms and the amenities also. We are blessed to reside in such a beautiful area and so were are always happy to provide guests with information on the area.

I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your vacation and hopefully we shall see you in Ireland again soon.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a wonderful night stay at the Strandhill Lodge. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful in everyway. Our bedroom was stunning with a balcony overlooking the ocean, so relaxing. The bathroom modern and nice. The breakfast was good with lots to choose from. I would highly recommend your next visit to Sligo detour to Strandhill and stay at the lodge, it will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank othercontributions77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Othercontributions

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor - it is greatly appreciated. I;m delighted you enjoyed your stay and got to relax and view the wonderful vista on the balconies.

Thankyou for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

David Mccoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
142 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spent 3 nights in this wonderful small hotel on the coast near Sligo. Our luxury room with balcony overlooked the local golf course and Atlantic Ocean with the benefit of a value for money price.
The staff were very helpful and provided all the info we needed for our stay whether meals out or local history. The continental breakfast was a misnomer as it was very extensive and enjoyable.
All in all, a great place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrankyNWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear CrankyNWEngland

Thankyou so much for taking the time to review about your stay with us in September. I am delighted that you chose us for your breakaway and that all was to your liking. I will pass on your kind comments regarding the staff and facilities.

I hope we will see you again in Strandhill soon - thankyou again for your review and your recommendation.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strandhill
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel

Property: Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Address: Top Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strandhill Lodge and Suites is a new hotel accommodation that has 18 Large Double and Single Deluxe Rooms and 4 Luxurious Superior Suites; with magnificent views of the famed Knocknarea and Strandhill Bay. All rooms are bright and spacious with a King Sized Bed and all modern conveniences. Rooms are suitable for two – three people sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing