We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed friendly and welcoming”
Review of Ocean Wave Lodge

Ocean Wave Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strandhill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Wave Lodge
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just back from a quick one night stay in strand hill and I was very happy with the stay in ocean wave... We were greeted by the manager took time out to give us the lay if the land and showed us to our room... It was a basic clean quadruple room... We then headed out paddle boarding and came back to get ready to go out for the night... We had forgot ton some essentials but they had a basket left in the common area for all to use such as conditioner soap etc(nice touch)
We had a great night out then came back to comfy beds and quiet house.... We intend to come back as a larger group and stay longer in near future

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cakelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We a family of three enjoyed a short but great stay in this lovely lodge. From the initial warm and friendly welcome by the owner Deirdre to the lovely front bedroom and very adequate continental breakfast which was a little more than we expected, we would be delighted to recommend this great value B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186605Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I always stay here when I come to Strandhill for so many reasons..., the owners Deirdre & Paul are absolutely lovely and so friendly and welcoming that it feels like a home from home. They offer great value, beautiful clean rooms, lovely breakfast & very tasty coffee!! Facilities are great including access to a huge kitchen for self catering and a lovely sun trap out the front for enjoying the sunshine on a windy day!! For me, it's the perfect place to stay as I travel to Strandhill often to enjoy the outdoors.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamhryan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Several levels of rooms, from ocean view to (I believe) hostel type. The hosts couldn't have done more for us. Our room was spacious and attractively decorated. The lodge shows signs of former elegance that the hosts are in the process of restoring. Cold breakfast, but with plenty of variety.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The value for money is amazing!

I stayed here last week and the services was great. Deirdre is very welcoming and her communication over email was excellent. The room was perfect, clean and cozy.

I would be delighted to stay in the Ocean Lodge again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesrichardskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here for one night with a few friends. The guys on reception were brilliant and the bed was comfy, views are tremendous, but the bathroom needs a big update( I understand from the owner that this will be forthcoming in time!)No cooked breakfast either, but good selection of cereals and jams. Would stay again! Perfect for visiting the venue (amazing seafood) or the beach, or knocknarea (bring walking shoes!)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a wonderful view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cockneyreggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We visited Strand hill,Sligo on the easter bank holiday and booked two nights in the Ocean Wave Lodge.On arrival we met Deirdre who showed us around the different rooms and gave us all the info we would need for our stay.There is a large dedicated tv room with comfy seats and then another equally cosy chill out room if you prefer a quiet read.The kitchen area was spacious and had everything one would need to get fed and watered,including plenty of fridge space and complimentary tea/coffee.The bedrooms were clean,warm and comfortable and the breakfast the next morning with cereals,toast and fruit was a good start to the day..We felt at home while we stayed here and Deirdre was very down to earth even going as far as giving us a lift down to the nearby bars rather than see us pay for a taxi..would very much recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ocean Wave Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Wave Lodge

Address: Ocean View Lodge Top Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Strandhill
Price Range: £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are a B&b with an option of self-catering, in a large communal kitchen , ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing