We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

A relaxed place to stay with clean bedding. It's a hostel so it's not of five star quality but it was regularly cleaned. A friendly place with good humoured staff and an open kitchen . Roger brought myself and my daughter out for a surf lesson. He has the patience of a saint as we both plunged head first into waves as total beginners. His safety practices were his priority which emphasised his professionalism. He gave great instructions and gave us full attention for the two hours. Could not recommend him any higher. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keenandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    30
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
25
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Myself and two friends spent a night at the Surf n Stay hostel in July and had a great experience there. The welcome was so warm, the owner Michael went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. After a relaxing visit to the seaweed baths (loved it!!!) we enjoyed a lovely evening cooking fajitas and eating them with a bottle of wine in the garden with the affable and amusing Roger to keep us company, before wandering down to the beach for sunset. A few beers at the local with the lads from the hostel was a perfect end to our stay. I highly recommend the Surf n Stay for it's atmosphere, location (1 minute's walk from the beach) and thoroughly hospitable staff. I also recommend Strandhill in general, a beautiful and quaint wee place, we could stayed much longer...

Room Tip: The hostel was great for us but there is also a Lodge nextdoor run by the same people which looked v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShakkaKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Camped here last weekend with my family including a toddler. It's a perfect little campsite. Location very central and close to the beach. Great place to camp. The owners and staff were fantastic. So helpful and friendly. You use the facilities that are part of the hostel. They are basic as you would expect with a hostel but they are spotlessly clean and well maintained. You can arrange surf lessons in the hostel. Get take away pizza across the road.
I would recommend the camp site, the hostel and the bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Moso06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Had a surf lesson and camped at this hostel. I didn't actually stay in the rooms so I can't comment on them but in general it was reasonably priced, friendly staff and good facilities. Would recommend it as a one stop shop for a surf holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Staff very friendly nd helpful. Rooms clean nd comfortable. Was happy to avail of discount in Voya Spa. Was there with a group of friends and hostel provided excellent service to us. Value for money is excellent. Even if u did not want to go surfing I would recommend this hostel. Will certainly be returning there nxt year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilishosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfnstayStrandhill, Owner at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Hi Eilis

Thanks so much for posting a review.
Nice of you to take the time to do so.
Glad all was ok n hope you revisit again

Kind regards
michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Group booking dealt with professionally. Staff were really helpful. Budget maintained due to great bbq facility. Surf lessons were awesome. Rooms simple and clean. Centre of town. Great atmosphere. Thanks to all the gang.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfnstayStrandhill, Owner at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Hi Aine

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, appreciate.
You were such a fun bunch it was so easy to look after you even tho it was a stormy week end.
Hope to see you all soon again

Kind regards n Best wishes
michael connolly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

I spent a night at the Strandhill hostel and that was what I was looking for : a great location with an helpful and kind staff. I felt like home.
You can have fun by taking a surfing lesson. Beach is nearby.
It is also easy to park your car.
There is a great Pub on the other side of the street where you can get nice pizzas and listen live music.
In conclusion : a smoothie atmosphere !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petaledetulipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strandhill
0.6 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
5.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School

Property: Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School
Address: Shore Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Surf n Stay)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Strandhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SurfnStay:Lodge, Hostel, Surf School, Camping. Located next to world famous surf beach on Wild Atlantic Way. Surf, stay and have a great time with us. Family-run establishment with a friendly, cozy environment ideal for surfers and beach lovers alike. Our Surf School welcomes surfers of all experience levels and offers a wide range of outdoor activities around the northwest. Drop in and relax in our Lodge or Hostel & Surf School ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing