We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited us perfectly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Suited us perfectly”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My two boys and I stayed here for 2 nights in July and enjoyed 2 surf lessons. It was a great experience, enhanced by the friendliness of Roger and staff in the hostel and our expert, encouraging surf instructors, Seamus and Rory. Accommodation is basic and clean. Location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    30
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
26
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here with friends on a round Ireland trip. The staff are very friendly and informative and the beds/rooms are of a decent standard for a hostel. Location is great too as there are restaurants and pubs across the road and the beach is 30 seconds walk away. Recommended for a budget stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAWA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

A relaxed place to stay with clean bedding. It's a hostel so it's not of five star quality but it was regularly cleaned. A friendly place with good humoured staff and an open kitchen . Roger brought myself and my daughter out for a surf lesson. He has the patience of a saint as we both plunged head first into waves as total beginners. His safety practices were his priority which emphasised his professionalism. He gave great instructions and gave us full attention for the two hours. Could not recommend him any higher. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keenandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Myself and two friends spent a night at the Surf n Stay hostel in July and had a great experience there. The welcome was so warm, the owner Michael went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. After a relaxing visit to the seaweed baths (loved it!!!) we enjoyed a lovely evening cooking fajitas and eating them with a bottle of wine in the garden with the affable and amusing Roger to keep us company, before wandering down to the beach for sunset. A few beers at the local with the lads from the hostel was a perfect end to our stay. I highly recommend the Surf n Stay for it's atmosphere, location (1 minute's walk from the beach) and thoroughly hospitable staff. I also recommend Strandhill in general, a beautiful and quaint wee place, we could stayed much longer...

Room Tip: The hostel was great for us but there is also a Lodge nextdoor run by the same people which looked v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShakkaKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Camped here last weekend with my family including a toddler. It's a perfect little campsite. Location very central and close to the beach. Great place to camp. The owners and staff were fantastic. So helpful and friendly. You use the facilities that are part of the hostel. They are basic as you would expect with a hostel but they are spotlessly clean and well maintained. You can arrange surf lessons in the hostel. Get take away pizza across the road.
I would recommend the camp site, the hostel and the bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Moso06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Had a surf lesson and camped at this hostel. I didn't actually stay in the rooms so I can't comment on them but in general it was reasonably priced, friendly staff and good facilities. Would recommend it as a one stop shop for a surf holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 28 November 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Staff very friendly nd helpful. Rooms clean nd comfortable. Was happy to avail of discount in Voya Spa. Was there with a group of friends and hostel provided excellent service to us. Value for money is excellent. Even if u did not want to go surfing I would recommend this hostel. Will certainly be returning there nxt year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilishosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfnstayStrandhill, Owner at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Hi Eilis

Thanks so much for posting a review.
Nice of you to take the time to do so.
Glad all was ok n hope you revisit again

Kind regards
michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strandhill
0.5 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,594 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
5.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School

Property: Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School
Address: Shore Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Surf n Stay)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Strandhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SurfnStay Lodge, Hostel & Surf School is located on the Wild Atlantic Way and just a few steps from Strandhill Beach. We are the only lodging next to the beautiful seafront while also centrally located in the village. Strandhill Village offers something for everyone: water sports, restaurants, a traditional Irish Pub, golf, trekking, and much more. SurfnStay has dormitory-style lodgings, private rooms, and camping--continental breakfast included and sunsets are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing