We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Nenagh, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Frank G
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodation”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Spent a week at this beautiful home away from home. We were attending a wedding in the location. We were very pleasantly surprised by the excellent accommodation. This is a very comfortable home in the middle of beautiful County Tipperary with great pastoral views. You look out the windows and you are in heaven. Every thing slows down and you are truly on a holiday. Just two miles away is the wonderful Lough Derg (Dromineer) on the river Shannon. We would head down to Dromineer to the Lake House Cafe for breakfast (whenever we did not feel like cooking). One of the days we rented a sail boat from the Dromineer Marina, sailed over to Garrykennedy, had lunch, and sailed back later that evening. What a beautiful day! Jeanette is a wonderful host, ready at all times to make you feel at home. I fully recommend this location for a fantastic family vacation.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful nature of this experience.
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
635kerrie...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than a home away from home!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Beautiful cottage with top class fittings and fixtures. Nothing forgotten. Spacious, amazing atmosphere, and amenities all first class. Wonderful location and close to many beautiful eating spots and facilities. Jeanette has certainly gone the extra mile in so many ways. One of the best accommodation places we have ever stayed. great to have two different living areas for teenage kids. If we could make only one recommendation it would be a little softer beds.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space and decor
Liked least: mattresses
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Apr 2014
Thank you very much for a wonderful review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Gort na gCapall. Hope our paths cross again some day :))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzgeral...
Santry, Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in rural setting”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed in Gort Na Gcapall in September and had a most wonderful weekend. The accommodation is first class and from the moment we walked through the front door we felt at home. The kitchen is a dream and the sitting room with working fireplace was an added bonus. All the bedrooms are amazing and individually decorated. We will return to this beautiful part of the country. Thanks Jeanette for all your help.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
Thank you all and I am delighted that ye enjoyed your weekend with us in North Tipperary. Hope to see you back again in the near future. Regards Jeanette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpies2
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Modern Accommodations and Great Value”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The house was modern, clean, spacious, well equipped and in a quiet and peaceful farm setting. Ideal for our group of four couples. Jeanette was a very accommodating host.

There are several large supermarkets in Nenagh - 15 minutes away.

We used this location as a base to make day trips to Ring of Kerry, Blarney Castle, Cliffs of Moher, Wicklow mountains, Adare and Durty Nelly's. At the end of a busy day it was a perfect retreat from the noisy tourist areas. Dromineer is only a few minutes away with an excellent restaurant - Whiskey Still, try their bread pudding.

The best house (cottage) we have ever rented.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness, modern & spacious
Liked least: WIFI was intermitent
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you Howard & Co, so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Gort na gCapall Cottage in the not too distant future. Regards Jeanette & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion R
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt like Home!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

It's not too often when the cottage is even BETTER than the pictures provided. The house felt so much like a home, so much so I was afraid my kids would want to stay forever. The cottage has everything you could possibly need. It is a perfect size, so clean, so comfortable, enough room for having friends and family to visit. The warmth and friendliness of The Seymours made you feel like you were a long time neighbour. The location is excellent. Great for quick drives into Nenagh and surrounding areas that have a lot to offer in terms of site-seeing and nice meals. The Thatched Cottage is just down the road and offers delicious meals. Dromineer is only a few moments away and is right on the lake. It is also a great central location that enables you to make day trips to places like The Cliffs of Moher, Rock of Cashel and Galway. And at the end of a busy site seeing day, you have a comfortable place to come "home" to. A place where you can relax and rejuvenate in preparation for another day of site seeing. Hotels can be places where you lay your head at the end of the day while you are touring Ireland. This cottage makes you feel like you are "Irish" and you are visiting friends and discovering your homeland....well at least for the week or two that you are there!.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Aug 2013
Maureen & Co, thank you very very much for your positive review on Gort na gCapall Cottage. You were all a pleasure to have as guests and thank you so much for the way that you left our cottage after your visit - spotless. It made my job so much easier! I do hope that our paths cross again some day. Kind Regards always Jeanette & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Texas
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the surrounding countryside and the warmth of the owners.
Liked least: Leaning how to work the appliances, but that was so very minor it hadly warrants a mention.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2013
Donna thank you very, very much for your positive comments about Gort na gCapall Cottage - so glad that you enjoyed it and it was our pleasure to meet you and your extended family. Pity about your luggage being left behind but you were so positive about the whole situation. I do hope our paths cross again and may I take this opportunity to thank you for booking Gort na gCapall Cottage. Kind Regards, The Seymour clan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jim C
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
“The Four seasons/ Ritz Carlton of luxury holiday homes”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Superb holiday home that my wife and I enjoyed with extended family.The owner and family extended the best in Irish hospitality. The home was pristine clean. The bed linens, towels,and household items were of the highest quality with the added touch of welcome upon arrival that included coffee tea and Irish brown bread that quelled the hunger pains before setting off to The Thatched Cottage, a nearby restaurant for an excellent dinner. After having spent my entire professional life in the travel and tourism industry I can truly say that this holiday home should be rated as The Four Seasons/Ritz Carlton of holiday homes. Jim Callery Retired Head of World Sales and Marketing British Airways. Princeton, NJ, USA

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The complete delivery of deluxe expectations.
Liked least: No negatives
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.