We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean the toilets!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Clean the toilets!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel is in the middle of Ireland, it took about two hours to reach from Dublin. Hotel basic but good and clean except for the toilets. Bedroom Toilet full of dried in urine stains and when I lifted the lid boy there was some growth there as well as on the back of the toilet seat. Reception send a woman to clean it. I then had occasion after dinner in the restaurant to use the downstairs loo it was even worse! Filthy is the only word to describe it.

Chef cooked me stir fry chicken and veg, even though not on menu which was very nice and the presentation was excellent. Overall the dinner was very good, my husband had salmon which was lovely. Wine good, but limited choice, had the house wine from Italy five years old very good.

Spa excellent, Sarah was so good with back massage that I decided to get extra treatments. It was a lovely experience to meet somebody so friendly and engaging and not afraid of giving it 100%.

Pool very cloudy but a nice size, spa very hot, too hot for my liking. They have a kids free zone after 8pm to 10pm, which is a great idea.

Staff just lovely and friendly overall and very obliging. Overall a very good package at 109 euro for dinner, bed and breakfast as well as a spa treatment. There is a lovely village just down the road to shop, eat or just visit. There is a monastery and round tower with free guides on hand, which was excellent. Overall I would recommend this hotel but clean the toilets to a proper standard.

Room Tip: We had a room just over the door and as its a hotel used for a lot of weddings it was noisy late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susancc737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear susanbcc737
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor , we take all comments on board and act upon them immediately, we have highlighted your comments with our accommodation service staff and have agreed that as we have approached a busier time for the summer season , with a high volume of traffic going through the hotel we have now introduced a member of accommodation staff to be on duty from 5pm - 1am , we apologize as this would not be normal standard in our hotel. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    177
    64
    30
    31
See reviews for
197
131
12
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at this beautiful Hotel from 16th-20th June 2014 and I can but praise what a fabulous stay we had there. The dinners, and breakfast were excellent. Our room was clean and the only downfall was that as the weather was so hot for that week the room was also very hot. The gardens were worth a walk round, which we did. The Spa facilities were selling caps for 4 euros. We didn't use these facilities as we were on a Tour and didn't get much chance to use them, If we ever visit Nenagh again then I am sure we would stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Lynn B
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Abbey Court Hotel in June, we pride ourselves in making sure that each guest has a memorable stay and hope that they will return to the hotel in the near future. please do not hesitate to contact us directly for future reservations, and we look forward to seeing you again. Kindest Regards Imelda White , Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkee, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Abbey Court Hotel in Nenagh is about 5-6 KM off the M7 so it is necessary to add about an hour or more to your travelling time if you intend to call in for a meal. It is well worth the trip. The hotel has an excellent car park with lots of room and in the current fine weather - you can eat outside if you wish. The staff are excellent and will really look after you. The food is always of a very high standard and is hot and tasty. There is ample room indoors for families and you will be well catered for. My wife and I were returning from Newbridge, Co Kildare, recently and had occasion to call in to the Abbey Court Hotel, Nenagh. - It was more than well worth the detour off the motorway to enjoy our meal in this excellent establishment. The food is terrific and as for the staff?? They treated us - as if we were family - which we are not. Next time we are VIsiting family and friends in Co Kildare - we will certainly call in - on our way back, to the Abbey Court Hotel, Nenagh. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard5042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Richard5052
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stop for lunch, we pride ourselves in making sure each guests has a excellent experience both food and service and are grateful for your wonderful comments. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon . Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a weekend there. I would not go back. Food is a disgrace. I could not each lunch which was sent back. Dinner was a joke. Staff very friendly and courteous. But it needs a major refurbishment. Its old and jaded. We decided against the leisure centre.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank missey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear missey42
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I would welcome the opportunity to contact you directly to discuss your recent stay, I would be grateful if perhaps you email me directly to sales@abbeycourt.ie with your contact details and talk to your directly . I look forward to hearing from you. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for a night in May, while attending a wedding nearby, we selected the hotel as friends were also staying the same night, and we could have a drink at the residents bar and a chat after the wedding and before we went to bed. When we returned after the wedding, the Porter would not give us a drink, he stated that it was far too late, although I saw a couple in the reception area having a drink.
The decor throughout needs some attention. The room was big and airy, bed comfortable and the staff (with the exception of the Porter) were friendly. It is the only hotel in Nenagh, so we paid a premium to stay on a Saturday night, had we known that the bar closes to residents we would have stayed in a B & B nearer the wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Smallsmac
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel, we acknowledge all reviews and value feedback. We are disappointed you did not like our décor, we are an old style traditional hotel, refurbish on a regular basis and have only just recently refurbished completed our bedrooms. We would like to inform you that our residents bar is only open until 3am, and no drink is served after that. We do hope that you may return to the hotel in the near future. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Spent weekend in lodge, great for family get together, well equipped. Staff very attentive, they made sure we all were made feel welcome. Will defiantly plan another get together soon. Breakfast is good value with great selection.

Room Tip: Great comfort in lodges for groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Deirdre B
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Abbey Court Hotel Lodges. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next reservation. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Loved the hotel but the fabric of the hotel could do with a little polish. Overall, lovely. Sorts of things they could easily change:

1. Menus - had pages missing. Hard to find a complete one. SO: print out new sheets and freshen them all up!
2. Room information folder - ours was falling apart and badly needed updating. Even mentioned how the local pharmacies had "photographic supplies". I actually doubt that as it read as if we all use film cameras. SO: get out the glue and mend the folders, and check the contents for accuracy and print out new pages to smarten it up! Some pages were even duplicated. You don't need 2 copies of the same page.

This is just 2 examples of lack of attention to detail. Would be a great idea for management to review the whole hotel and I guarantee it would not be noticed. You only notice mistakes!!

Room Tip: We were with 2 other couples, one of whom said they hated the pillows. If you hate the pillows, pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill.e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear gill.e
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we value all comments made, since writing your review we have update our guest information folders, making sure all details were readily available to all our guests and presented well, we are also in the process of changing our menus covers which we are waiting on delivery of same. We again thank you for highlighting your comments and do hope you will return to the hotel in the near future. Kindest Regards
Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nenagh
19.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
11.6 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
20.9 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
11.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
18.4 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland (Formerly Abbey Court Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National Abbey Court Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa is a family owned business, set within its own mature gardens on a five acre site on the edge of the historic, centrally located town of Nenagh. We are the mid-west of Ireland's leading superior 3 star hotel with 4 star self-catering lodges, easily accessed just off the main M7 Dublin to Limerick Road, 90 minutes from Dublin and 30 minutes from Limerick. Nenagh is famed for its historic Heritage Centre, Friary Castle, Arts Centre, Local Crafts & Fresh Produce Markets, Woolen Mill, Award Winning Eateries and its stunning selection of Boutique Shops for both Men & Women. Only a few minutes away is the breath taking scenery of Lough Derg with its ample facilities such as boating, cruising, sailing, fishing and outdoor adventure centre. Other activities in the area include walking, hiking, biking, hunting, horse racing, greyhound racing, horse riding, golf and pitch and putt. If you go a little further afield you can tour the Golden Vale, Rock of Cashel, Holycross Abbey, Bunratty Folk Park, Birr Castle Demesne, Cliffs of Moher & much more due to our central location. From conferencing to a leisure break, family stay, wedding or other events, valued guests can enjoy superb facilities combined with a great base and the highest level of comfort and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Nenagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing