We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Certificate of Excellence
None, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very accommodating”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Attended friends wedding in December.service, attention to detail extra requests taken care of, superb food with a plethora of options for vegetarians and vegans/allergies. great customer service.everyone of our friends were impressed.fantastic salt grotto and pool.could not ask for more

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samajuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Samajuly
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we are delighted to enjoyed your stay at the Abbey Court Hotel and the wedding you attended, we pride ourselves in making sure each guest has a memorable stay, perhaps next time you visit Ireland you might return to the hotel for a stay. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    182
    65
    31
    32
See reviews for
199
136
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I attended a wedding yesterday. It was superb. The attention to detail, service and food were second to none. The manager and his staff were so efficient, helpful and friendly It's a must for any wedding. Would highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blueeyesIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Blueeyesireland
Thank you taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. Our staff are a major asset to our business and we are delighted to hear you received friendly and helpful service. We certainly look forward to your return trip. Kindest Regards Imelda White Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Despite some unfavourable reviews on Tripadvisor, my wife and I took a 3 night midweek break at this hotel. We had absolutely no complaints. The room was comfortable and had all mod cons including a large flat screen TV with very good channel choices. The free in room Wi-fi was very good. Breakfast was excellent with all tastes catered for. We had dinner on one night and the meal was was excellent. Our stay was made especially enjoyable by the friendly and helpful staff - special mention here for Orla in the restaurant, the bar staff and a lady from Killaloe who was full of knowledge and advice about local attractions. Taking her advice helped make our stay in the area more enjoyable. We would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms towards the back of the hotel are nice and quiet for us old fogies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear MickMurphyMCFC
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we welcome all feedback from our guests and are truly delighted with your lovely, kind words on your recent stay at the hotel. You made a lovely comment on our staff, our staff are a major asset to our business and we are delighted to hear your received a friendly and helpful service from our staff which we are known for along with the high quality and choice of food we offer. we do hope that you will return to the hotel in the near future . Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We attended a wedding in the hotel last night and our experience was nothing short of brilliance. The hotel itself appears grand and welcoming and to it's credit, the employees are just as much an asset as the actual building.
Every member of staff we encountered was in helpful, friendly and in fantastic humour, appropriate for the occasion at hand. The food was delicious and the rooms are immaculate. Definitely well worth a visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bromon92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear bromon92
thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the wedding you attended, we are very proud of our hotel and ensuring each and every guest has a amazing stay with us. We would totally agree that our staff are an asset to the hotel and are excellent at their job and take their roles very seriously. We do hope that you will return some day and again thank you for recommending the hotel
Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here last night with my husband and daughter. We were planning on staying for a couple of days but couldn't wait to leave after a couple of hours. Upon arrival this hotel looks amazing. Check in was swift & it was great to get to our room that was until we entered the corridor...the smell was awful. The room was worse. The smell of smoke was disgusting. So disgusting myself & my little girl felt like vomiting. When I went to reception regarding this they said it was a smoking room & there was no other rooms available. I should have been made aware of this when I booked, as a parent who wants their child sleeping in a room that stinks of cigarettes, I was very annoyed. If I had been told this upon booking I would not have gone there but as there was no other hotels available we had to stay.
The room was drab, old and could do with a good makeover. The carpet had loads of stains on it & looked like it hadn't been hovered in a week! Between the bedroom and toilet, the nailed carpet track strip was showing and my little girl stood on it twice and really hurt herself. I had to put the bath mat over it to make sure she didn't hurt herself anymore.
At 10pm there were loud teenagers outside our window underage drinking and making a racket. Once again my child suffered for that because she couldn't sleep.
Our bed was terrible!!! I would've been more comfortable sleeping on the ground but as the carpet was so filthy that was a big no no!!
We had dinner there also. The dinner, along with the guy who served us were the only positives about our stay. Lets say the 2nd night was a big NO NO. Couldn't wait to leave!!
My husband currently is working away from home in Nenagh and we were planning on making these overnight stays a regular thing but we certainly won't be in this hotel. Worst €109 spent!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Barbara C

Thank you for sharing your view with us, I have contacted your directly with a private message regarding your recent stay, i hope you have received it and should you wish to contact me please do not hesitate to do so.
Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athy, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed two nights in 8 room lodge with a large group of friends. House was clean, bedrooms good size and living area spacious. House was well stocked with crockery, glasses etc, everything we needed.
Staff were very helpful and accommodating and we had a very enjoyable weekend. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Littleapples
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Abbey Court Hotel Holiday lodges. We are very proud of our staff and the friendly and helpful service they provide making your stay a truly memorable one. We look forward to a return visit in the near future. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portaferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stopped off for lunch on Saturday 19th July. Hotel was busy and a wedding party was due in, however, we did get seated and enjoyed a really good lunch from a fairly comprehensive menu - something for most tastes!! Service was efficient and the staff were very pleasant. Meals arrived hot and very nicely presented. We couldn't complain about anything - it really was very enjoyable. Considering how busy it was we were very pleased with the speed of service, quality of the food and the overall presentation. Staff on the day were very hardworking and attentive to our needs - management have done a good job! Good place to stop for a meal when in transit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferryport354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear ferryport354
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate all comments made. We are glad your enjoyed your lunch with us and the service provided. We do hope you will return to the hotel in the near future. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nenagh
11.6 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
19.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
20.9 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
24.5 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
18.4 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland (Formerly Abbey Court Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National Abbey Court Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa is a family owned business, set within its own mature gardens on a five acre site on the edge of the historic, centrally located town of Nenagh. We are the mid-west of Ireland's leading superior 3 star hotel with 4 star self-catering lodges, easily accessed just off the main M7 Dublin to Limerick Road, 90 minutes from Dublin and 30 minutes from Limerick. Nenagh is famed for its historic Heritage Centre, Friary Castle, Arts Centre, Local Crafts & Fresh Produce Markets, Woolen Mill, Award Winning Eateries and its stunning selection of Boutique Shops for both Men & Women. Only a few minutes away is the breath taking scenery of Lough Derg with its ample facilities such as boating, cruising, sailing, fishing and outdoor adventure centre. Other activities in the area include walking, hiking, biking, hunting, horse racing, greyhound racing, horse riding, golf and pitch and putt. If you go a little further afield you can tour the Golden Vale, Rock of Cashel, Holycross Abbey, Bunratty Folk Park, Birr Castle Demesne, Cliffs of Moher & much more due to our central location. From conferencing to a leisure break, family stay, wedding or other events, valued guests can enjoy superb facilities combined with a great base and the highest level of comfort and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Nenagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing