We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Relaxing and a 5 star accommodation”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
The gated driveway to Blackberry Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The gated driveway to Blackberry Cottage
Ready for a picnic on the lawn outside Blackberry Cottage? Breakfast time in Blackberry Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
7 reviews
The gated driveway to Blackberry Cottage
Ready for a picnic on the lawn outside Blackberry Cottage?
Breakfast time in Blackberry Cottage
Blackberry and Primrose Cottage set on 1.5 acres. Individual front and back gardens + driveway.
Lunch in the back garden of Blackberry as June temperatures reach 26 degrees Celsius in the shade !
Another view of Blackberry showing the south facing back garden
Open plan living/dining area with kitchen area to the rear with views of the woodland
The cosy living room has plenty of books + games, TV + DVD player, iPod dock for you to enjoy
Double bedroom with wardrobe and bedside tables
We have 2 twin rooms both with en suites.
The spacious family bathroom includes a bath and shower
We have internet available of 40 GB monthly in each cottage.
Kilbarron village where you will find a post office + shop as well as the friendly pub.
One of Nenagh's interesting speciality shops
Stopping for a coffee at one of several cafes in Nenagh
Lough Derg, just a kilometre away
Even on an overcast day, the view across the lake is overwhelming
Enjoy canoeing or other water sports on the lake !
Why not explore the local woodland trails? Cominchas Woodland is just around the corner
Peace and quiet walking through Cominchas Forrest Walk in the autumn.
October and Mushroom picking heaven!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nenagh, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
marcusand...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing and a 5 star accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, what can we say! Wonderful......We came for a family gathering and at the same time a to relax and enjoy all that part of Ireland can offer. It was certainly relaxing as the cottage was set in magnificent grounds, was so peaceful and it all seemed brand new. We wanted for nothing as everything, including a starter food pack was provided. There was a fantastic wood burning fire(but also central heating if required). The bedrooms (2 on suite) were very comfortable with the beds perfect. We loved the cottage, the amenities and the lovely villages surrounding. We went to the nearby lake for a stroll and ended up canoeing! A first time for everything, the instructor was very patient and we had a great time. In summary we loved the cottage, the surrounding countryside and will go again. Alison ( the owner) met us and left us her contact number - she was very knowledgable even showed us how to get to the local shops.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Comfort and peaceful
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2013
Thank you for the kind words and enthusiasm for Blackberry Cottage and our special corner of Ireland. We are so pleased you enjoyed the lake which is gorgeous at all times of day and at any season of the year. There is of course much more to see and do both in our immediate area and the rest of the county, if you want to alternate day trips with relaxing local walks and sampling the local eateries. Next time, perhaps try a trip to Galway or County Clare, you will find many places accessible for a day out.
There will always be a genuine welcome for you whenever you are ready to visit us again at whatever time of year you choose.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage for a peaceful family get-away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our family (2 adults and 3 older children/teenagers) stayed in this cottage for 4 days and wished we had longer. It was a great place to stay with loads to do in the area. Having said that the location was also rural and very peaceful.
The cottage, itself, is spacious, very clean and had fantastic facilities (2 bedrooms were en suite in addition to the main bathroom). After a long journey we really appreciated the generous welcome pack left for us. The high quality household utensils were better than usually found in holiday accommodation and as good as some homes. The owner was very knowledgeable and helpful with lots of information about the area - we would particularly recommend the kayaking!
We were visiting family so didn't get time to explore as much as we would have liked!
One minor point - slightly more detailed instructions on how get there would have beed good, although we did manage to find it!
We would love to go back again, and stay for longer.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Great house - Felt like home!
Liked least: Slight unease when trying to find it first
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
Thank You ! Great to have guests who are keen to explore our locality and we are always happy to offer help and advice on local places and activities on foot and by car. Yes, we are located in a rural location close to the lake and understand that it can be quite hard to find us particularly if guests arrive at night ! We are always happy to meet and guide guests and have done so on several occasions.
For directions,we suggest guests look at our website page (which we are permitted to provide once a booking has been confirmed) on the 'contact and book' page where very detailed directions including road numbers and GPS co-ordinates are to be found. We do provide contact phone numbers and e mail for guests to reach us .
Hope to see you all again and maybe take the kayaking to the next level !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The house was very spacious with washing machine and dryer.
Liked least: mattress was too soft.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted to welcome visitors from Israel and that you were pleased with the cottage.
In actual fact, Coolbawn is fairly centrally located for visiting the rest of Ireland !Additionally, there is an abundance of activity, not simply confined to the lake, also a wealth of history right on the doorstep. I truly hope you will return to us and take a look more locally next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RemmiAgbe...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing cottage, amazing scenery and lots to do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My second visit to this lovely cottage. An easy flight over from Liverpool and then arrived at the cottage within the hour. Blackberry Cottage is spacious and has everything you could need especially with the broadband facility. The garden has lovely views and there are plenty of great walks around the area. We camped out in Portumna one night and had a day in Terryglass by the lake.
Hope to return soon...

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2013
Thank you for the lovely review - you are always welcome and there is still plenty more to see and do !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$115
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing