We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, characterful B&B”
Review of Ashley Park House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ashley Park House
Ranked #1 of 12 Nenagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Thank you so much Margaret, Sean and Sinead for making our visit so memorable again. The rooms are elegant and well-appointed, everyone works hard to make your visit enjoyable and the breakfasts are a joy. We have made some lasting friendships round that lovely table under Sinead's watchful eye.
Our next visit next year will be our sixth or seventh and we look forward to it already.
Peter and Polly

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mucklehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I married at Ashley Park in July 2013. We wanted a legally binding outdoor Handfasting ceremony and Ashley Park provided us with the most perfect of settings. The house and grounds are beautiful. The house exudes that effortless old country home charm that I so wanted from a venue and from the moment we and our families arrived we were made to feel welcome. We stayed for three nights and there was ample accommodation for our immediate family. Having the house and grounds to ourselves, leading up to and during the festivities made it evermore special.

Margaret was wonderful and accommodated our every request, whim and desire. We held the ceremony under a magnificent tree (photos attached), just a few minutes’ walk from the house; which Margaret had landscaped into a designated ceremony space for us - every one of our sixty or so guests commented on how magical the location was.

All home-cooked produce, the breakfast and dinner menus were extensive and delicious, as was our wedding food, which included canapés, a three-course sit down meal and evening food - it was ALL quite simply excellent!

Thank you to Margaret and her lovely team for making our wedding so unique and beautiful. Ashley Park is a very special place and will forever be in our hearts x x

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarnoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Enjoyed a fabulous weekend at Ashley Park House .
Had great welcome from Margaret and her staff , made our stay most enjoyable.
We enjoyed lovely walks in the grounds with our little Westie who was also made very welcome.Our room was very comfortable and quaint .
Breakfast and dinner were excellent , good choice of menu .
Highly recommend it and we will be back

Room Tip: Front rooms have a lovely view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We spent 4 nights here last week, the hottest week of the summer, but still managed to sleep very peacefully. The service is excellent and everyone goes that extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. We had a cooked breakfast everyday and 2 dinners during our stay and they were all first class. The breakfasts were the best we had during our whole holiday in Ireland.
The house is set overlooking a lake and is set well back from the road so it is a really peaceful location. We went for a row on the lake and took many lovely walks through the woodland.
The house is old but comfortable and full of period furniture. Dinner is served in 18th century splendour, complete with silver candelabra. We found the whole experience just magical!

Room Tip: We stayed in the octagonal President's room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobatfangfoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Just back from a one-night break at Ashley Park House. My first impression coming in from the bright day was a bit spooky! It was dark. There was nobody about. The hall had a strange smell - was it turf, or something else that was damp?
But, what did I expect from a 300 year-old house?
Soon Sinéad came to greet us. She is lovely- friendly and sweet. Nothing would be a problem should we request it. We were welcome to look around the house, wander where we wished in the gardens. The lakeside setting was what I was looking for. It was so peaceful. Just beautiful.
We had the green room, which overlooked the lake. The little seating area in the room gives alternate views.
Our carved timber framed beds were comfortable and dressed in snow white linen. Sinéad assured us that the electric blankets are on the beds all year round. The decor was fitting of the period, well chosen wallpapers, curtains and rugs. The restoration of the house was very tastefully done throughout. Creaking floorboards add to the feeling that you have stepped back in time! The bathroom had shower over bath. Not a problem for me, but it would be for anyone not too agile. Plenty of towels and good toiletries.
Breakfast, on a suny morning was served in the dining room at the large table. Three guests shared the table, which added to the country house feeling. Generous amounts of teas, coffees, breads etc were provided. There was as wide choice of cooked breakfast options. The omelette was deliciious - and unusual. Try it yourself to see!!
Overall, I had a very good stay here. My reservations would be that those expecting modern hotel features would be disappointed. This is a period residence, restored with feeling. Lots of original features remain (creaking boards, dim rooms downstairs, antique furniture). If this is your thing, you should definitely stay here.
We didn't meet the famous Seán or Margaret, but we were delighted with Sinéad. We didn't have dinner. We might have been the sole diners. If we had stayed longer I'm sure we could have experienced more of what the estate has to offer.
Would I recommend it? Certainly!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lake are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had our wedding here in June and what an amazing experience it was. From the getgo Margaret was extremely helpful in answering our questions and helping us organise all the details including a marquee which we put up on the lawn. The day itself we could not fault. The food was amazing and of excellent quality from the home baked scones at the reception to all the courses of the main meal including the local tasty lamb. We got wonderful feedback from our guests who loved the food and the venue. We could not have asked for more. Despite staying up most of the night Margret and her team were up the next day prepaing the most delicious BBQ for us. Some of our guests who were due to leave decided to stay as they loved Ashley Park so much. thanks to everyone tame venue who made it a day to remember. For anyone considering a wedding and want something a little different from the normal hotel wedding Ashkley Park is the place for you.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with a view of the lake are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

They hosted a large wedding the night before & lost our reservation as a result. Our room had gotten double-booked. However, Margaret the manager managed to juggle things around and solve the problem. We are glad she did as it was a lovely spot and we'll be back. We have 2 young boys and they had a fantastic time exploring the lake&boat, the tree-house, the fairy ringfort and all the rest of it.

The food was very nice, if not impeccable, and the service was genuinely warm and friendly.

The estate is very old and is full of ramshackle charm. This isn't top-end accommodation with an army of staff where everything operates as a well-oiled machine. As long as you are not expecting that, you'll have a great time. Was interested to learn that it's also dog-friendly which most hotels are not.

The peacocks and cockerels get pretty rowdy around dawn so if you are a light sleeper, bringing earplugs might be a good idea!

Room Tip: ask for view over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 257E_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nenagh hotels
4.2 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Abbeyview Bed & Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Willowbrook Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bayly Farm
Bayly Farm
#8 of 12 in Nenagh
38 reviews
3.7 mi away
Maryville Bed & Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Clare Street House
Clare Street House
#6 of 12 in Nenagh
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Park House

Address: Ardcroney | Free internet, Nenagh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nenagh
Price Range: £78 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley Park House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Ireland lies Ashley Park House. An 18th century country house offering the visitor bed and breakfast (B&B) accommodation on the grandest scale. From the moment you arrive, you are aware that this is no ordinary B&B - Ashley Park House provides a setting of unmatched tranquility and peace. A worthy respite from the rigours of modern living. Set in 76 acres of beech woodland and formal gardens, the historic country house sits on the shores of Lough Ourna, giving the visitor ample scope to pursue a wide range of activities including fishing, golf, sailing, horse riding and hiking. What better way to end the day than with a full four course dinner and wine in the red dining room, surrounded by gilt mirrors and gazing over the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ashley Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing