We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Country Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashley Park House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashley Park House
Ranked #1 of 11 Nenagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet Country Charm”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We selected Ashleypark House based on reviews by other travelers and couldn't be happier with the result. Our only regret was that we stayed only one night! It was our first night in Ireland and we were charmed by the lovely faded elegance of an old Irish Country House. Beautiful grounds to wander and a beautiful lakeside setting provided a quiet respite from the transatlantic flight and the trip from Dublin through heavy rain which fortunately cleared midway along the trip.

Hope to make a return visit!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-Town_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    35
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
88
121
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This rather faded house once had much greater grandeur. We were looked after well, fed well and our enormous room with four poster was more than adequate.
There was an air of what once might have been throughout but the owner was kindly and the lady who fed us friendly. We only used it as a stopover on the way west and for this it was ideal. However, I am not sure I would want to stay longer.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nookman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cavan
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2010

service from sean and teresa was just perfect
we will be back they were just great
food good- view beautiful

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2010

This is a good old fashioned original Irish country house in a beautiful tranquil setting.
Excellent fresh food and friendly attentive service.
Large bedroom with soft white cotton sheets ( the shower in the en-suite needs some attention!).
I loved the off kilter stairs and the stained glass.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrietDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

It was nearly two years since I left Ireland, arriving to Ashley Park House brought me back to the fantastic time (nearly 12 years) spent in this beautiful island that I keep calling home.
Sean, the owner, opened us the door in a rainy night and as soon as we enter the house we felt like if we were home!
The estate is fantastic! The rooms are kept perfectly and furnished with original pieces, gorgeous linen, and are so comfortable and very large. We stayed in the octagonal room called "Mary's room" since the President visit.
The scenery comes directly from the Fairy Tales especially while waking up in a winter morning looking at the lake!
The service is impeccable and dinner was fantastic: still think about the mash I had, the wonderful soup coming straight from the garden, the organic salmon etc. etc. etc.!!
It was enchanting and having a romantic conversation in the beautiful reception room where there is the piano, looking at the xmass tree with the fire it is something we will never forget!

Thanks Sean for having us over!
Paola+Ric

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paola1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2009

My husband and 2 daughters had a wonderful time at Ashley Park House. We were delighted with our friendly reception from Sean and Mary. Mary brought us tea and fruitcake upon arrival and we fell into the spirit of the place which takes you back in time. Later on that evening while playing cards next to a warm peat fire in the fireplace, she brought us another round of tea with a delicious lemon tart to go with it. The next morning we rowed about the lake, walked around the gardens, fed the horses some apples from the many trees and felt like we definitely want to return...even though it's all the way across the Atlantic Ocean for us.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurersMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenagh, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2009

My wife and I had our wedding reception in Ashley House on the 20th of June 2009. Thanks to Margaret and her staff we had a truely fantastic day which we will remember for the rest of our lives. During a miserable summer they even managed to organise the weather for us ....2 days of Fantastic weather.......i dont know how they do it. Everything went like clock work.

75 people were served the best beef (highly recommend it) and Sole that i have tasted in such a professional and efficient manner. Most people including myself didnt have much room for the wonderful deserts. Awsome.

The whole wedding was like having a fantastic function in your very own country house with the most attentive staff one could find.

We danced until 3.00 am and were still able to get a drink .......Margaret was up serving wonderful Irish breakfasts in the morning. I dont know how she does it. I really hope she opens the Restaurant she was talking about ........if it is anything like their wedding receptions it will be fantastic.

I cannot recommend it highly enough. Truely Fantastic for a wedding reception.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryNenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nenagh
4.2 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
13.9 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
13.6 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
4.3 mi away
Willowbrook Bed & Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Maryville Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Park House

Property: Ashley Park House
Address: Ardcroney | Free internet, Nenagh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Nenagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley Park House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Ireland lies Ashley Park House. An 18th century country house offering the visitor bed and breakfast (B&B) accommodation on the grandest scale. From the moment you arrive, you are aware that this is no ordinary B&B - Ashley Park House provides a setting of unmatched tranquility and peace. A worthy respite from the rigours of modern living. Set in 76 acres of beech woodland and formal gardens, the historic country house sits on the shores of Lough Ourna, giving the visitor ample scope to pursue a wide range of activities including fishing, golf, sailing, horse riding and hiking. What better way to end the day than with a full four course dinner and wine in the red dining room, surrounded by gilt mirrors and gazing over the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ashley Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing