We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable experience & We Only Had a Sandwich!!”

Cliff House Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Ardmore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Memorable experience & We Only Had a Sandwich!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

En route to West Cork it's well worth taking a break here. The cliff house hotel definitely had a wow factor. The staff are very well turned out and well trained. It's a bit more expensive than your normal sandwich but it's a case of "you get what you pay for". We consumed our lunch on a lovely warm balmy day on the elevated terrace overlooking the harbour. You could see the children below having fun jumping in the sea off the harbour wall. The decor is very attractive in this lovely boutique hotel.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank earlyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear earlyDublin

Thank you for your review and for visiting us recently. We are delighted that you enjoyed your brief visit!

Kindest regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    71
    35
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I loved everything about this Restaurant, fabulous”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I loved everything about this restaurant, the food was fabulous, service excellent, presentation excellent. I would love to return in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinCollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear DublinCollette

Thanks for your very short but very sweet review,

Love to welcome you back some day,

Kind regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Style over Flavour”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Yes, this is a Michelin-starred restaurant - once you get over that and really look at the food you are forced to admit it's just not up to par. Stayed for 2 nights in the hotel, which is lovely, and ate at the restaurant one evening. Service was generally good and the wine-tasting excellent - but the food...I don't know what to say - it all looked beautiful, was very complex and technically excellent, but the taste wasn't there or was simply not pleasant. Not a single dish I would want to eat again. The turbot was bland and without any seasoning, yet the diced courgettes beside were like a bite of salt - really horrible. Even the lobster dish just didn't taste half as nice as it should have. Skip the restaurant and go to White Horses for a much more delicious evening. And having eaten in lots of starred-restaurants I can say if the flavour isn't there and out of this world, all the fussiness and visual appeal is meaningless.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank eirtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear eirtraveller

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that your meal in the House Restaurant disappointed you. Perhaps the next time our Bar Restaurant offering would appeal more to you. I am however glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.

Yours sincerely

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simply amazing...a true Michelin star”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Cliff Hotel and so we had dinner in the House restaurant. The restaurant is Michelin-starred and well deserved. We had the a la carte menu plus the wine matching.
Before the starter they brought us 3 different type of freshly baked breads served with smoked cream and butter and amazing beetroot marshmallows and asparagus and mushroom pannacotta. The salmon as a starter is wonderful but scallops were nice but not amazing. The beef and the chicken were to die for. The food seams small but at the end of the dinner we had very little space for an amazing dessert. Wine matching was excellent, with wine from Marocco and Lebanon!
The service was excellent.
Note: we told them it was our wedding anniversary and they brought us a card and a little cake :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gabrimar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Gabrimar73

Thank you for your lovely review - really glad you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of eating at the Cliff House Restaurant during our recent stay. We chose to have the tasting menu, a tour du force to appeal to the taste buds from the initial amuse bouche to the final course. The creative team of chefs led by Martijn appeal to all the senses, highlights being the salmon course and the creative chocolate dessert.

Service was impeccable and friendly, the setting overlooking the sea on a balmy sunny evening added to a very memorable evening. We are already planning our return trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear SAS12345

Thank you so much for your very kind review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal in The House Restaurant and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cliff House Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Ardmore, County Waterford
 
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 

Been to Cliff House Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing