We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a setting”
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a setting”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived on a wet windy May afternoon and while it was dreary and dank the ambiance of The Cliff House would raise anybody's spirits! Having settled in to our room, we relaxed and prepared ourselves for an eating experience in the "House" restaurant. The presentation and quality of the food would be as you would expect from a Michelin Star venue - a truly lovely experience.

We were with friends, and while the weather remained unkind it didn't stop us enjoying the Cliff Walk; walking along Ardmore Beach, even contemplating a dip in the ocean, the seaweed bath and lots of laughter.

I would definitely recommend this venue to any make up of people, young and old it's just so welcoming! We look forward to our return!!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the sea - we were on the 5th floor and our room with balcony was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Jenny A

Thanks for your great review. Come back when the sun is shining next time!

Best wishes

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,129
    288
    133
    66
    27
See reviews for
181
1,135
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We used a most generous voucher from our daughter to spend two nights B & B with one dinner in the Award winning restaurant. All rooms overlook the sea as the hotel is built into a cliff-face.
Beautiful five star rooms with an amazing bathroom.
Excellent Spa and Pool. Most helpful staff on check-in with advise on local walks.
Dinner on the first evening was an unique event, both in food content and presentation .Two waitresses bring the food and a third explains the contents, however her French accent was difficult to follow. Breakfast on both mornings was a come-down and most disappointing.
We eat out in a local restaurant on the second night. Hopefully we will get an opportunity to revisit this excellent hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the Ardmore bay. Rooms in the main block housing the Reception and Dining room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear DublinStan

Thanks for your review and glad to hear you will be returning - where I am sure you will see an improvement on the breakfast.

Kind regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

First visit and will definitely return. We were a party of five and stayed three nights in a suite with adjoining double room. The rooms were spacious with comfortable beds and pillows allowing for a great nights sleep. Large relaxing chairs by the windows overlooking the sea were a perfect place to sit and read the books provided. Food is excellent. Dinner in the restaurant is not to be missed! Ate in the bar the second night and the food was equally delicious and well presented. Delighted with the sit-down breakfast service. Haven't experienced that in a while. The hotel is situated within easy reach of Dungarvan and Youghal. As the weather was beautiful for our entire stay we didn't visit the spa. Hotels staff were experienced and very friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Laura S

Thank you for your very kind review.

Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope it will be the first of many.

Kind regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I visit the Cliff House every year or so for special occasions and we are never disappointed. We spent three nights last weekend for my father's 70th and as usual we had a brilliant time, made even better by the gorgeous weather. The warmth and friendliness of the staff, beautiful location, relaxing village and of course stunning food made this yet another amazing experience for us all. The standards are always so high. The meal we had on Saturday night in the restaurant was absolutely spectacular. By far the best I have had. A few days here and we feel like we have been away for a week. We will never tire of The Cliff House.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Daire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Daire M

You are so nice to write a review for us. Many thanks.

It is always a real pleasure to look after you and your lovely family. Every time you visit you bring the sunshine with you so please come more often!

Until the next time,

Kind regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was our second visit to the Cliff House at Ardmore and we were not disappointed. The room was beautiful, so well appointed, great bathroom. Books, TV, tea and coffee and of course the amazing view. It was hard to leave the room. The infinity pool is lovely, the staff are charming. The one small gripe is that the food is a little overdone, my fish looked like a Jackson Pollock and did not taste much better. Maybe I was unlucky, the meal I had the second night was excellent. It is in a delightful part of Ireland, lovely walks and lots of arty shops. It's not cheap but it is a great place.

Room Tip: We had a wonderful room, with a sitting room I think 22 Every room has wonderful views overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 330SandraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear 330SandraM

Thanks for your lovely review and for coming back to us again.

Look forward to hopefully welcoming you back a third time soon,

Kind regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Spent the weekend of my husbands birthday, very very relaxing stay, staff are so friendly, they stop to chat and ask are you enjoying your stay, food fabulous, we had our meal on Fri evening in the bar fab, we did the cliff walk Sat spectacular views, should not be missed, we had evening meal in the restaurant, food was out of this world, never tasted anything like it. Fantastic presentation, everything in this hotel gets 10 out of 10 from me. Super weekend, hopefully one day we will return. Collette

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DublinCollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear DublinCollette

Thank you for your wonderful review - really delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spend a weekend in the Cliff house once a year and we always look forward to the amazing experience .
From the moment you enter the doors of the property you just relax in this wonderful place.
All the rooms have a view of the cliffs/ sea and beach . Each room is fitted out with Irish products in the Furniture / Artwork and even the throws on the bed .
The food in both the Restaurant and Bar are first class .
But for me the Spa is the special place . With those Majic views and wonderful treatments .
I hope to be back next year .
Thanks to the wonderful staff that know exactly how to look after every guest .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Sandra D

Always lovely to have you with us.

Thanks for your very kind review and we can't wait to welcome you back next year again.

Best wishes

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
15.1 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,649 reviews
6.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
10.8 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Round Tower Hotel
Round Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ardmore
82 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
359 reviews
5.5 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Property: Cliff House Hotel
Address: Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff House Hotel.A Hotel For Seaside Luxury Regarded as one of the finest small luxury five-star hotels in Ireland, The Cliff House Hotel is a 39-room Irish seaside boutique hotel in the traditional fishing village of Ardmore. Our privately owned hotel also features an intimate Irish destination spa as well as the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland outside Dublin. The building seems to defy gravity, clinging to a cliff on the south side of Ardmore Bay where there has long been a fishing village. From sun-drenched terraces and private balconies it is possible to see Ardmore’s golden sands, lobster pots and dolphins that play out on the water. All our luxury rooms and suites are sea facing while many are interconnected to provide family-friendly configurations. Our intimate destination spa, The Well, is a key attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ardmore
Cliff House Hotel Ardmore, County Waterford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing