We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Location, great food”
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Stunning Location, great food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel hangs on to the cliff face and soaks up the sun. Rooms are beautifully furnished in contemporary style with a nod to the traditional. Both rooms booked had balconies providing stunning views over the bay.
The bar offers outdoor seating which captures the stunning views and is sunny from mid-day to late evening. Lovely for bar food and / or a pre dinner drink.
We ate in the award winning restaurant and the four of us chose the tasting menu (each table must choose either the tasting or A la carte).
Having eaten in Michelin star restaurants we were looking forward to culinary heaven.

The tasting menu served, did display the immense technical, artistic and culinary talents of the chef(s) in this restaurant but also challenged out tastes and perceptions. My family are all foodies hence opting for the tasting menu. We liked a lot of the 8 courses, loved a little of it, and struggled with just a few elements. The service was always excellent and the waiters were well versed in describing in detail what each course contained and how it was prepared. We sometimes struggled a little to follow these knowledgeable individuals and take all the information in. We did however understand the waiter who seemed to think that knowing the milk for the panacotta came from a neutered cow would be greatly appreciated by us. We just felt a bit sorry for the poor cow! Perhaps our tastes were tested a little too much.

On balance I think we would opt for the A La Carte in future which I am sure would be magnificent. The only other meal we ate was the breakfast and this simple meal was simply lovely.
The hotel pool, rock pool, hot tub, steam and sauna rooms were lovely, particularly the rock pool, what a treat on a summers day!
The hotel staff were extremely helpful, professional and friendly.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies allow you to sip a late night drink while soaking in the splendid views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Mountanville

Thank you for your extensive review and for your lovely comments. My team will be delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Cliff House and to Ardmore.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    288
    132
    66
    27
See reviews for
181
1,133
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We had lunch in the hotel on the same day we had dinner in The Whitehorses restaurant & our experience couldn't have been more different. We arrive & asked could we have a balcony table, the host made a great effort for us & we got a table with a fantastic view. Lunch was very good but a little pricey but with the view it was worth it. The servce was excellent from the girl who looked after us. She was friendly, attentive & chatty with our children. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Paul O

Thank you for reviewing us and I am glad that you were well looked after during your recent visit.

Kind regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently stayed in the Cliff House both as hotel guests and for our sons wedding reception and the entire experience was positive and nothing needed improvement. I have stayed in a number of 5 star hotels and none of them come anywhere near the standards set by the Cliff House.

The hotel staff to a man (and woman) were welcoming and effecient, the hotel room was top class and the food was outstanding.

The wedding reception was a great success and the hotel staff were responsive to the needs of the wedding guests and gave the bride and groom a reception to remember.

I can not recommend this hotel highly enouh.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear John H,

Thank you for your very kind review.
We are glad that your family enjoyed their wedding and it was a pleasure to look after you all.
Wishing the happy couple every best wish in their future together,

Kindest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at the Cliff House Hotel over the bank holiday weekend. Everything about this hotel smacks of class. From the moment we arrived and had our car valet parked until the moment we left it was an amazing experience. The Michelin starred restaurant where we had the 8 course tasting menu. Breakfast on the terrace in the morning over looking Ardmore Bay. The swimming pool. The Bar restaurant on the second night. The treatments in the spa. Everything was great, no faults whatsoever. And my favorite experience was the swim in the rock pool in the sea. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the sea as the hotel is built on a cliff face. Try and get a room with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skidancer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear skidancer56

Thank you for your very kind words - really delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel.

Hope we will see you back again next year.

Kindest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clonmel
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hi there,Just back from a lovely day in glorious Ardmore,with a pleasant lunch in the Cliff Hotel.My "yawl bay open crab sandwich" was quite good, but not a patch on the crab I had last Tuesday in a lovely café in Dunmore East, despite being much more expensive. We finished our coffee, and foolishly expected a refill, only to be charged a full 4.50 euro each, making it 18 euro in total. This seems a lot even for lunch in a 5star hotel, although it was worth it for the view alone.Service was efficient and mostly friendly, especially the younger staff. By the way, the rustic brown bread for our sandwich was to die for. Will give the Cliff another try for lunch in the future

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear noel k

Thanks for visiting - there's a coffee and a refill waiting for you on your next visit with my compliments!

Kindest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Family of four ate at the restaurant on Wednesday 5 August as a treat at the end of our holiday in Ireland. The meal was simply stunning and a real treat. The choice on the menu reflects local fresh produce and is visually stunning in its presentation. The waiting staff are friendly, approachable and very helpful and patient when explaining the meals. Add in stunning views across Ardmore bay and you have a fantastic and memorable experience. Superb.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Robert S

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your special occasion.
See you back again for longer next time hopefully,

Kindest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisse
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Unbelievable stay at Cliff House Hotel. This great place is situated right at a cliff outside Ardmore. Go for a deluxe room or suite with terrace. We had dinner at the House Restaurant Holding one Michelin Star which is absolutely deserved. Do also take the time to hike around the cliff walk starting just outside the hotel. Thanks to the whole team for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibex59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear ibex59

Thank you so much for your very kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again some day.

Kindest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
15.1 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,649 reviews
6.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
10.8 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Round Tower Hotel
Round Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ardmore
82 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
359 reviews
5.5 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Property: Cliff House Hotel
Address: Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff House Hotel.A Hotel For Seaside Luxury Regarded as one of the finest small luxury five-star hotels in Ireland, The Cliff House Hotel is a 39-room Irish seaside boutique hotel in the traditional fishing village of Ardmore. Our privately owned hotel also features an intimate Irish destination spa as well as the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland outside Dublin. The building seems to defy gravity, clinging to a cliff on the south side of Ardmore Bay where there has long been a fishing village. From sun-drenched terraces and private balconies it is possible to see Ardmore’s golden sands, lobster pots and dolphins that play out on the water. All our luxury rooms and suites are sea facing while many are interconnected to provide family-friendly configurations. Our intimate destination spa, The Well, is a key attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ardmore
Cliff House Hotel Ardmore, County Waterford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing