We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful farmhouse with fantastic hosts.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brownes Farm House

Large house, fantastic for reunions, sea views, mature garden, parking for 8 cars.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large house, fantastic for reunions, sea views, mature garden, parking for 8 cars.
Large garden for childrens games with parking at rear for more than 8 cars Large entrance hallway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Large house, fantastic for reunions, sea views, mature garden, parking for 8 cars.
Large garden for childrens games with parking at rear for more than 8 cars
Large entrance hallway
Hallway to front garden - very sunny porch to sit out in.
Kitchen is finished to a very high standard fully equipped microwave, dishwasher, fridge freezer
Children fully catered for - high chair, steriliser, , kiddie cups, plates , 3 cots, changing mat.
The kitchen is fully equipped with microwave , dishwasher, fridge feeezer - kiddie cups, bowls etc.
3 upstairs bedrooms - all bedrooms are to a high standard. This is a king size.
This master bedroom will accomodate a further single bed..
1 family bathroom upstairs - that is adjoining the master bedroom and the twin room.
The twin/ triple  room adjoining the family bathroom. Can take up to 4 singles.
Twin / triple single upstairs. Can take up to 4 singles.
A further kingsize upstairs, this has an ensuite and a walk in wardrobe. A single can be added
Upstairs En suite
1 downstairs double for the less mobile with shower room adjacent.
This downstairs double room has a single also.
The shower room / wet room downstairs.
Living room with library of books, open fire and flat screen TV. Plenty of comfy seating.
Living room with open fire. Fuel supplied.
10 minute walk to Beach - second beach 5 mins by car with 6 miles of sand to Ardmore
Homebaking or local goodies on arrival and fresh flowers
Lovely location for families with children
House fully decorated for Christmas and New Year bookings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ardmore, County Waterford

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JodieMatt...
Okehampton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A beautiful farmhouse with fantastic hosts.”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We returned from Brownes farmhouse on Friday after a lovely weeks stay. The house is just lovely. It was immaculate throughout and was a lovely size for our family of 12. It's all very modern with a lovely country feel and provides all the facilities you could need. There were cots and highchairs for little ones, games and books to keep the big kids happy and a well stocked kitchen to look after a large family with a dishwasher and everything you could need. The garden is spacious and a lovely area for the kids to play. There's a couple of beaches nearby which we could run to, 1 of which we were able to climb some rocks when the tide was out and find a little secluded beach. The whole "Brownes" experience was lovely from the homemade pavlova on arrival to the locally made soaps in the bathrooms. Thanks to Naoive and Paul for being so welcoming. We'll be sure to stay again if ever we return to Ireland.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
We are delighted you had a lovely stay at Brownes. It was great you were able to enjoy the countryside and get out and about for runs and for walks on the beach. We would love to welcome you and your lovely back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful, peaceful getaway!”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

What can I say, this was a fantastic place to stay. The house was spotless, cosy, comfortable, well-equipped and oozing character. The kitchen is the centre of this house and it offers not only all the essentials you would need, but also a great social atmosphere. When, and if you do wander further afield, the sitting room has a fire all set up and ready to light - offering a wonderful warming cosy night in! The bedrooms are all comfortable with plenty of bedding and space and also their own bathrooms. On waking up, you open the curtains and look out on superb views opening up to the sea. Our only regret is that we were not there long enough! We would love to have walked along to the beaches that are a short distance away... maybe next time!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we could be a very small part of your Mothers return to her home town after such a long time away. It was great for you to enjoy the winter fires but we too hope that you will be able enjoy walks on the beach at some time in the future. Go n-eíri on bothar leat ( May the road rise with you/ the very best of luck in the future ) Naoive & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTHONY73...
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A beautiful well presented family home where you can relax.”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A warm and welcoming home that all our family enjoyed, especially the home made apple tart in the welcome pack. All the mod cons and full of character. Naoive made us truly welcome and was on hand if we ever needed help with anything. All 11 of us fitted in well with plenty of space for all, even the children! We all would use this house again as it is perfect and spacious. I am sure that the rest of my family will be adding their comments about our stay as they haven't stopped talking about it since we arrived home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house
Liked least: weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Many thanks for your great feedback. We were delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back in the future. You mentioned while you were here, a small improvement we could make and we love when we get suggestions so we can make the house even better!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holtsinlo...
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This place was Amazing!!”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

First time to Ireland and we absolutely loved it. The home was perfect for our family and grandparents. Played on the beach, went for a bike ride, drove to Kinsale, kissed the Blarney Stone, and every night came back to the Browne's farm house so happy we rented the house. For sure take the morning walk down to the beach and watch the sunrise!! The Browne's are awesome and make you feel like family!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Brownes,and you enjoyed the local beaches. We would welcome you and your lovely family back at any stage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise B
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great house for lots of guests, beautiful location”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a really great house, in a lovely location with all the amenities for a large (in our case ever changing!) group to get together. The house is as big as it looks in the photos and has everything you'd need for a great holiday - including thoughtful touches like children's games, buckets and spades, dvds and a good selection of books.
Our host was great, good communication and directions beforehand and excellent following up on issues (only a couple of minor ones) immediately.
If you go to the area don't don't miss out on:
- Ballyquin beach
- Ardmore cliff walk
- Solas na Mara Seaweed baths at Helvic harbour
- The Tannery Winebar
- Fota Wildlife Park
Apart from these, there is of course
- rabbit watching in the front garden (need to get up early)
- horse feeding / stroking in the field next door (they always welcome carrots)
- blackberry picking everywhere around
- stroll down to Ballymacart cove (AKA Millionaires cove) and slow ascent back
- gazing out the windows at the wheeling birds and everchanging sky

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and location
Liked least: Flies (it is on a farm!)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
We are so delighted you and your guests enjoyed your stay and appreciated all that County Waterford and the immediate locality has to offer. Many thanks for your great comments and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne B
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely Recommend”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Lovely spacious farmhouse in a quiet location, it was just perfect for our family of 10, aged 1 to 78 yrs. Great garden for the kids to play in and close to lovely beaches. Great location for visiting both Waterford and Cork cities, we also visited Fota Wildlife park, Lismore castle, the Waterford Suir Valley Railway, Ardmore, Dungarvan, Vees's point. A car is needed. Naoive was very welcoming and the house was spotless and fully equipped with everything that you would need. Highly recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Paul and myself are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is great you got a chance to see so many of the local attractions. The Waterford Suir valley railway is perfect for the smaller children and Fota is brilliant for any age - I love to go with my own children - it is such a joy to see the giraffes running free in the fields.The local beaches are just great for relaxing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W
Layton, Utah
2 reviews
“Beautiful house in the country.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Everything in the house was new. Lovely house! Would come back in a heart beat! The service from the owner was outstanding. Wine and fresh flowers upon our arrival. The house is in the country so there is a bit of a drive on country lanes to get to the town. Can't beat the beautiful view!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the house was great.
Liked least: You have to travel country roads
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We know everyone's time off is precious so we really try to make sure everything in the house is perfect, that you have all the little things you would have at home and that there is a warm welcome as soon as you arrive. You can leave your worries behind. We would love to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing