We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Round Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Round Tower Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Hi,I had the pleasure of staying at the "Tower" from 20-06-12 to 24-06-12,the hospitality is unbelievable,bar staff and kitchen staff so friendly,food excellent,would recommend this hotel to anyone and am looking forward to returning as soon as possible,as mentioned in a previous post would like to complement the musician on Friday night,very talented,had a great night with the locals who made us feel so at home

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Jamie M,

Delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Round Tower Hotel. Your positive feedback was much appreciated by myself and the team here.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford
Rep of Ireland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    20
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
23
24
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stay here when in the area. The staff are friendly, rooms are very clean. The owner takes pride in making sure that your stay is a pleasant one, the staff are very friendly & you can feel that they enjoy working there. As a chauffeur I look forward coming here to stay at this hotel.
Good value for money, ideal for families, I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liambourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Liambourke, thanks for taking the time out to review our hotel. The team appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in Ardmore on your travels.

Best regards,

Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stayed for a Sunday night and was lucky that they were having one of their garden parties. Two man band was great, good way to mix with the locals and other people in the hotel. The hotel bar has a great atmosphere. The room and the hotel was exactly what I was looking for: a place to lay my head on clean sheets and bedding, a tidy bathroom to get cleaned up, and easy access to the stunning sea side walks. You WILL be full if you order and finish the breakfast in the morning. Service at breakfast was great and Aidan does a great job of making sure you have whatever you need at the hotel or any information you need about Ardmore. Would recommend this place to any explorers of sea side villages, and will return myself if I get back to Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear john d,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got to sample one of our Sunday evening music sessions that we have during the summer.
Pleasure to have you and look forward to welcoming you again when you are travelling in Ireland.

Best regards,
Aidan Quirke
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Just back from a week-end trip to Ardmore with friends who had stayed in Round Tower Hotel before and were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff there. We have to say we agree with them. Aiden greeted us when we arrived and saw to all our needs throughout our visit. We also have to mention John whom we particularly took a 'shine' to . He has a lovely manner about him and always seem to be in good humour. The food in the Round Tower is excellent , very reasonable and plenty of it. We enjoyed our dinner so much on Friday night that we just had to have dinner there again on Saturday night. We really enjoyed the 'session' in the bar on Friday night as well. Ardmore has some great talent.! .The bar is very cosy and the atmosphere is really friendly. Parts of the hotel are a little dated but that was part of the charm and it would be a shame to change it.. It is clean and comfortable which is important to us. .Our stay was far too short. Definitely will be back. Trish & Jimmy

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Patricia D,

Opening your review this morning put a spring in my step I have to say! In the climate that we're in, it's reviews like this that make life easier. Delighted to have you stay at the hotel and glad you enjoyed all it had to offer. I will pass on your acknowledgments to our staff. Yes, we do run a session every Last Friday of the Month and it has been going great for us thanks to the local talent.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Our Canadian family arrived in Ardmore, a beautiful, historic seaside village and were warmly welcomed by Aiden and the hotel staff. Aiden gave us maps of the area including the cliff walk to St. Declan's well - my favourite walk.
We had a delicious roast beef dinner in the hotel - even the kids' half portions were generous. We tried both the continental breakfast and the Irish cooked breakfast which was amazing. The coffee was heavenly.
Our room was a good size, clean with luxurious bedding and with a tea making facility and biscuits on hand.
The following evening we had a three course dinner in the dining room - gourmet food with excellent service.
When we come back to Ireland again, we'll be sure to stay here !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear R O,

Thanks so much for your kind review. We were delighted to have you and your family staying with us in August and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Clean bed but no room to move in the room. Toilet roll holder falling off the wall. In need of a good overhall. Shower poor. Staff friendly but would want to be. Expensive for what you get. A Bed and breakfast would be far better in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinBeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Dear DublinBeano,

Thank-you for your review. Sorry to learn that you had an unsatisfactory stay with us.
Repair in bathroom has been seen to since your recent visit.
I am onsite almost 24/7 at my hotel if you had made me aware of your disatisfaction during your stay I would have tried to get you alternative B&B accomodation in the village.

Sincere apologies,
Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights earlier this week and while the owner was very friendly, we found the room to be dirty. I dropped an earring under the bed and when my husband moved to bed there was a sock and papers and who knows what else and it was just disgustingly dirty. Only we were attending a wedding and stuck for somewhere to stay we would have left. The bed linen was almost seethrough it was so worn and the bathroom suite was a beautiful (!?!) pink colour. There was also lots of cobwebs in the bathroom. With some money spent on it and alot of cleaning the hotel could be nice, and it is in a good location in Ardmore.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshlingMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Dear AshlingMG,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. All reviews are so helpful and we've passed on your comments to our housekeeping staff. Sincere apologies that you had an unsatisfactory stay, if I had known during your two day visit with us that you were very unhappy and really 'stuck' for somewhere to stay I would have worked to get you alternative accommodation in Ardmore / vicinity of Ardmore.

The Round Tower Hotel team have taken your comments on board and a corrective action plan is in place.

Best regards,
Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
0.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
4.9 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
6.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
14.6 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Tower Hotel

Property: Round Tower Hotel
Address: Round Tower Hotel College Road | Ardmore, Co. Waterford, Ardmore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Round Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run Round Tower Hotel is located in the beautiful village of Ardmore. Round Tower Hotel is a a Fáilte Ireland approved 3 star hotel. Nestled in the western end of county Waterford in Ireland's acclaimed 'Sunny South East', the hotel offers guests and visitors the opportunity to enjoy their break in one of Ireland's oldest Christian settlement villages. The hotel offers 10 well appointed en suite bedrooms (refurbished in 2016) with free Wifi, TV, phone and tea & coffee facilities. There is a choice of single, double and family rooms available. B&B rates, room only and group discount rates are available on request. No pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Round Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hotel Ardmore
Round Tower Hotel Ardmore, County Waterford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing