We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, Tasty and Good”
Review of Oscars

Oscars
Ranked #3 of 79 Restaurants in Mullingar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$39
Cuisines: European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Busy, Tasty and Good”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I Like oscars as the menu is is designed to cater for everyone. I enjoy eating here a lot. I always know what I am going to eat before I go there although over the past while the menu has been slowly updating but thankfully all the old favourites are still there

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NomadMervyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    86
    33
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Mullingar”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

In my opinion, Oscars is the best restaurant in Mullingar. You're not going to be blown away by Michelin-starred food or the decor, but I've been here dozens of times and I've never had anything other than a great meal.

The restaurant is long and thin and there are plenty of tables, but I've never seen the place anywhere near empty. It's not the kind of restaurant where you should take a chance on getting a table. The decor is modern and the seating is comfortable, but occasionally I've felt a little squashed in. Not a problem though.

The service is very good. The waiting staff clearly know what they're doing and always very helpful. Service is always prompt but never rushed. For a special occasion, they'll go above and beyond.

The food is the main draw. It's great. There's an extensive and varied menu with a few delicious specialities. Whatever you fancy, there'll be something there for you. It's not what you'd call cheap, but it's not expensive either. And they do a great Sunday lunch with two courses for €19 and three for €24, which I think is a bargain. And it always hits the table hot.

I've saved the best until last. Oscar's does an exceptional takeaway service, with a super menu and great prices with large portions. It's always busy with takeaways, even Sunday lunchtimes the food's flying out the door. And if you're a Facebook friend, there are €5 "facebox" deals Monday to Thursday, which are exceptional value.

You should definitely try Oscar's, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KilbegganRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Have been a Customer of Noel's right from the start. Went there at their previous premises for Sunday lunch weekly”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It is just so consistent. Never had a bad meal or take-away there -ever.I use this Restaurant at least every week. If you want a GUARANTEED good meal in Mullingar, this is the place to go.
Bridie Bourke.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roccoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A taste to talk about”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Lovely pleasant staff and owner, only adds to the lovely food experience. I must taste the take away dinners on Sunday sometime. Judging by the constant stream of visitors it is also lovely

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Nice place but menus hasn't changed over the last few years. Always very busy both with sitdown and takeaways. Very tight tables and service is very quick

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joetone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oscars also viewed

 
Mullingar, County Westmeath
Mullingar, County Westmeath
 

Been to Oscars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing