We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newbury Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mullingar
Certificate of Excellence
Charleville, Co cork. Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Been here a few times and love the place..Bonus is that my dog goes for FREE which is brill.
Food is very tasty and great portions, lovely variety of meals. Perfect for seeing the town of Mullingar as on the top of main rd close to railway station (Trains pass by but not noisy).
Staff are very welcoming and helpful. Bar is lovely and spacious with great music every Saturday evening.
Hope to return here very very soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marynavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    35
    13
    8
    10
See reviews for
17
37
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Just spent a few days in the Newbury hotel, met by Garvan who was very nice and most welcoming. For a 3 star hotel it was lovely, the food was nice and the atmosphere was very homely. We had a room near the railway station, reviews had said it was noisy but i didnt notice it at all. The only downside was the shower, it got a bit cold but was certainly not enough to put me off staying there. I would definitely go back and the chinese restaurant downstairs was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ger9055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

very noisy with passing traffic in front and rail station at rear.
staff: the man was great but the women on reception in the morning not so helpful
showers run hot and cold and hot and cold
food: was very good, had breakfast and dinner there
we asked to change rooms as our first room was very grubby and smelled
location is very central

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

I just got back from a one night stay at this hotel. I booked the hotel via booking.com and read the reviews on tripadvisor before I went. Two of us stayed here and were 21 & 25 years old.

I checked in around 7pm and the guy who checked me in seemed pleasant but not too friendly. A smile and a welcome go a long way! He asked me to pay for my room which I thought was odd as I assumed my card had been charged after I made the booking. I paid but checked my online banking the next day and the money had been taken out so I mentioned this when I was checking out. I think it may have something to do with the fact that I used a visa debit card, so anyone else who has one just be aware of this. The very nice lady on reception today sorted it all out and refunded me the cash I had paid last night and authorized the transaction to go ahead on my card.

When I was checking in I asked for a room at the back of the hotel (based on the reviews here) and was given room 102. I had only booked a double room but this room had a double bed and a single bed too. It was spacious and decorated in an "Old World" type theme. A little old fashioned but very charming! Not to everyones tastes but I loved it. The bed did make creaking sounds when we got on it but that didn't bother us too much. The room was very clean and so warm. I seen a lot of previous reviews mentioning the rooms were cold - I was confused because our room was so hot that we left the bedroom and bathroom windows open a little bit for the whole night! There was tea/coffee making facilities. Apparently (according to their website/guestbook) there was free WIFI included but my iphone couldn't pick it up anywhere in the room I was given (102). Rooms had plenty of storage - chest of drawers and closet with hanging rail and shelves.

The bathroom was very big and modern. Not great natural lighting but that wasn't a huge dealbreaker! Good sized mirror and plenty of clean towels supplied. I hopped in the shower and had no problem with the water (it remained hot for me - I see other people have complained that it turned cold - I guess I was lucky!) However the "soap/shampoo" dispenser was empty, which was a bit of a let down, didn't discover that until I was already in the shower.

One major problem we had was that the train station was outside our window and the train ran directly under the hotel, which meant you are awoken every half hour after 5.30/6am. I didn't get to sleep until after 2am and I woke up twice because of the train (6am and again at 6.30am) so I just got up the second time as broken sleep is worse than none at all!

Location is perfect - in the very centre of Mullingar town. The train station is right beside the hotel and the bus stops about 5 minutes away. There is a shopping centre across the road, about a two minute walk with a few big stores (Penneys, M&S, M&S cafe, New Look, Dorothy Perkins and a sports shop) and plenty of small shops, bars and restaurants within a minutes walk from the hotel.

Check out was quick and simple, the lady on reception was much friendlier than the previous gentleman I encountered.

Overall I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the centre of town, a fan of "old fashioned" boutique hotels or someone who needs easy access to public transport. I did feel the room was slightly overpriced at €70 for week day, considering Mullingar is a small town and hotels of a similar standard in Dublin are cheaper.

Also, when I booked this hotel it said breakfast was included in the rate. When I checked in there was no mention of breakfast by the gentleman on reception and there was nothing about it in the guestbook in the bedroom. Usually when I check into a hotel I am told where breakfast is served and at what times. It turns out it was in the bar of the hotel but I didn't see this until I was checking out so it was too late to have anything.

Room Tip: Don't take room 102 unless you like listening to trains passing outside your window from 6am onw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

stayed at the newbury for two nights recently. the room was big and comfortable, bathroom was a good size, breakfast was very good, thats the good points, now lets get down the the bad ones,1 the room we had was on the ground floor at the front, not good if you opened the curtains everyone walking past could see in to the room, no guessing we stayed in darkness for two days(lamps in room old fashioned so no real light) 2 when first person had a shower the water went from very hot to very cold to very hot etc etc and when second person went it was just cold water, that happend fri,sat, sun when reported to the man on the desk he said he,d look at it so we left tag on door,you know the one please clean, but when we got back he said it was the do not disturb sign(it wasnt) ,he did ask later if it was ok we said its the same so he replied he wouldnt put us in that room next time (was he taking the p.....) 3 cleaners came late afternoon when we wanted to relax and have a nap and no remote for the t.v and finally 4 the worst the residents bar closed 12.30, i ask you

Room Tip: dont take room to the front busy main rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menherDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed here for a weekend recently. Staff very helpful and friendly on our arrival. Our room was very spacious and clean, bed very comfortable. Breakfast was good and they did very reasonably priced dinners as well. A very short walk to the train and bus stop. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lava1dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here with a group of friends, it was the ideal location for exploring the town itself and going out at night....
I loved the decor in our room... staying in alot of hotels with work.. i rarely have any reaction to the bedrrom but i did love the old world style of decor which was very spacious and we have 3 large single beds we clean crisp white bed linen. the reception was very friendly and welcoming.
The only thing i didnt love was the food. we had a quick snack on arrival and then the breakfast the following morning... but all in all i would stay here again and i would recommend i just wouldnt eat there :)

Room Tip: our group all seemed to have quaily nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mail4ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullingar
0.4 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
5.9 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
23.9 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Hotel

Property: Newbury Hotel
Address: Dominick Street, Mullingar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mullingar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3* hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Newbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing