We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be very wary of cancellation policies with this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Austin Friar Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullingar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Austin Friar Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Mullingar B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Be very wary of cancellation policies with this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I recently made a booking directly with this hotel and over the phone I was told there was a 48 hour cancellation policy.I did not receive any correspondence from the hotel with the written terms and conditions!! I unfortunately had to cancel and I rang the hotel 52 hours before I was due to check in. I was told by a very rude person on the phone that I would be charged the full amount as I had not given the 48 hour notice to cancel. When I stated that I was in fact giving more than 48 hours notice the person on the phone was extremely rude and would not listen to me or give me her name. I also asked for an email to be sent to me stating that I had cancelled the room and I was refused this. The cost of the room was then taken from my card. I made several phonecalls to speak to the manager, none of which were returned, so I emailed the hotel. I then received an email stating that the hotel had a 5 day cancellation policy, first I had heard of this, and that the hotel were no longer willing to deal with me and that I would not be getting my money back!!! After this very upsetting experience I will never book a room with this hotel again, the staff here have obviously never heard of good customer service!!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
12 Thank Cash782013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    23
    10
    6
    33
See reviews for
10
34
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amed, Indonesia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed last night (20/9/13), very clean, quiet & large room with decent bathroom. Very helpful & happy staff. Fantastic cooked to order breakfast. Good location with parking in rear. Very well priced at €70 for two including breakfast. Restaurant open for breakfast & lunch only, staff referred us to several places to dine & we settled on Druids which is a short walk away & a great choice.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Impulsive84848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great Value accommodation. Comfortable bed, spacious room with nice neutral decor and a couple of chairs to relax in. Good power shower. Very clean. Nice breakfast. Very quiet so slept well. Staff friendly and helpful

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room look for one at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here for two night and must say the staff were ever so friendly and helpful, the room was a reasonable size clean and tidy bathroom with shower and plenty of towels,soap and shampoos, the main room had ample supplies of coffee,tea, sugar, etc for the price you pay it is excellent also the position is excellent for visiting Mullingar. Didn't have any security problems whatsoever had a key to access accommodation after 11.00 pm easily accessed and made sure nobody came in behind me without using their key. I had to leave early one morning so didn't have time for breakfast, but was made a bacon sandwich to take away with me and that wasn't a bother to the staff for which I was very grateful p.s. it was also very tasty!! Would recommend to stay here if in Mullingar as I will do so next time I am there. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B4tman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

only back from this hotel stayed the weekend with my mother who is 70. First on hotel is has from 29.95 bed and breakfast pps it cost us each 62 each per night. The staff are nice and friendly the room was big and breakfast nice. The problem we had was on the saturday night when we got back to our room from a night out there were 3 young men on our floor knocking at the room next to us this was at 3 in the morning. We excused ourselves and went into our room the knocking at the door was still on going. My mother was very nervous of them so we looked for a number to ring reception there was none in the room so we rang the hotel from our mobile phone the hotel was engaged all the time, i than had a look out the peep hole on the door and right outside our door one of the lads and a young girl were having sex on the floor. we kept trying ringing the hotel number but it was still engaged we kept ringing up till 6.30 that morning as it was still going on outside our door.we went down at 9 oclock to report to the couple who own this hotel, it did not seem to bother them all we got was we will look into it. We think for having to pay that price that they should have a night porter that you can get if anything happens but this is not the case.We asked the owner before we left what news there was about our complaint all we got was WELL YOU NO YOURSELF WE WILL NEVER FIND THE TRUTH would not go back to this hotel its not safe

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mullingar hotels

monaghan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

my friend and I went to stay at the weekend there from the moment we arrived we were greeted by the friendly lady receptionist. she explained about the car park when we arrived which was not really a big problem as there is one for all day which causes 3 euro and then the other car park is free from half 5 till half 9 the next morning.
the rooms were massive and lovely and clean the beds were very comfy and the shower was absolutely class its was the hottest shower ever in any of the hotels i have previous stayed in. there was plenty of mirrors especially for girls who need to do there make up which was great.
when we were going out we asked where is the best place to go and the man behind the desk was really helpful in telling us.
the breakfast in the morning was absolutely fab the staff in the morning were more then helpful there was plenty to choose from which was great. if i was going back to mullingar i will be staying here again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monaghanrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Large comfortable room. Bathroom good size but shower over bath only. Had air-conditioning in our room. Wifi only works in lobby and restaurant. Breakfast was great. Hotel has no dedicated car parking and you have to use the pay car park behind the hotel. Despite the car parking issue I would return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mullingar hotels
0.2 mi away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kerrigan's B&B
Kerrigan's B&B
#8 of 20 in Mullingar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.8 mi away
Marlinstown Court
Marlinstown Court
#1 of 20 in Mullingar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Friar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Friar Hotel

Property: Austin Friar Hotel
Address: Austin Friar Hotel Austin Friars Street, Mullingar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Hotel Class:3 star — Austin Friar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing