We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An hour and a world away from Dublin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mornington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mornington House
Ranked #2 of 20 Mullingar B&B and Inns
Dublin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“An hour and a world away from Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

What a great place. A taste of genuine old Irish hospitality.
The house is marvellous and authentic. We had a lovely room at the front with a four poster bed.
We had breakfast and dinner ( needs to be agreed in advance) and the food was outstanding with many of the ingredients sourced from their own garden at the house. If you interested in gardening, the lady of the house, Anne I think, has a great knowledge and is happy to explain all about the gardens. The owners also have a great knowledge of local history.
There is a lake nearby and it is great to walk down there.
If you want a quiet, relaxing break, only an hour from dublin , you will not find a better place to recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
We are delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your at Mornington. We look forward to your next visit. Anne & Warwick O'Hara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I enjoyed a wonderful weekend stay at Mornington House with some friends to escape the city for some relaxation and country air.

I felt totally looked after, kind of in the home from home sense - the accommodation was luxurious with spacious bedrooms, high ceilings, grand dining room a charming living room with a great open fire in the evenings and fabulous grounds to explore - pack your wellies. The O'Hara's were attentive without being overbearing, sharing some of the history of the house, and the food was amazing (a lot of the produce comes from their home garden - check out their blog for the recipes)!

I would highly recommend a stay at Mornington House and with it being only an hour drive from Dublin it's just right for a short or long stay. Excellent value for money. :)

Room Tip: Just let Anne and Warick know what your trip is about and they'll make sure you are looked after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingdarling15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
We really enjoy having people stay who appreciate our old house, high ceilings, wide doors and big windows. Thank you so much for your very kind review. Anne & Warwick O'Hara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

My boyfriend and I had booked this on a whim after spending a few days on the Shannon on a boat and thought it would be a nice way to break up the journey on the way home from Dublin. The pictures do not do this place justice, the rooms are wonderfully decorated and Warwick's and Anne's hospitality make the place feel so homely.Warwick is an excellent cook and we throughly enjoyed the breakfast here. Anne's extensive knowledge of the history of the area is just fantastic. I can't recommend this place highly enough for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is so good to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay at Mornington House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Arrived at 6 pm after a 1 hours drive from Dublin. Straight away felt relaxed after taking a deep breath. The room was lovely with a brass bed. A stroll around the grounds followed by a nice cup of tea ensured the week was forgotten.
Dinner was a wonderful affair served by Warwick using some of their home grown ingredients. A glass of wine in the sitting room chatting with other guests and Warwick passed a pleasant evening.
Breakfast was a tasty affair with home made muesli and brown bread. And a good chat with Anne and Warwick a very pleasant stay altogether.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anniek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hopefully, we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Quiet spacious elegantly decorated rooms, very comfortable, hosts are wonderful, breakfast is delicious! A real treat if you are in the mood for a nice quiet peaceful time away to relax. You can walk around the property, take in the beautiful countryside scenes, and hear stories about the history of Mornington- just perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and you loved the peaceful surrounding as much as we do! We look forward to seeing you again some time.

Kind regards,
Anne & Warwick O'Hara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Mornington is a truly enchanting place to stay. This gloriously beautiful house — with its family portraits, old books and precious objects filled with history — provides a most peaceful atmosphere. Yet, it is Warwick and Anne's hospitality that makes the experience unique. Breakfasts are memorable and a visit to the lovely garden is also a must. A heart-warming home from which one can easily visit the local places of interest: Fore Abbey, St. Munna's Church, Lough Crew Passage Tombs, etc. I would go back to Mornington's any time.
M. Barry, Montreal

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. It was great to meet you and to hear about your research for your next book! We were so pleased that you enjoyed Mornington and its surroundings.

Kind regards,

Anne & Warwick O'Hara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

A huge thank you to Warwick and Anne and the beautiful elegant Mornington House. We had a wonderful stay - peaceful, quite... like stepping back in time. With our beautiful accommodation and Anne's outstanding cooking combined with Warwick's stories and genuine hospitality, this was a soul reviving and rejuvinating stay. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OMH_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Our apologises for the delayed reply but thank you so much for your kind words and comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Anne & Warwick O'Hara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullingar
7.0 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Mullingar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
7.6 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
7.0 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Castlepollard
Hotel Castlepollard
#1 of 1 in Castlepollard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington House

Property: Mornington House
Address: Multyfarnham, Mullingar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mornington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Mullingar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing