We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in the country”
Review of Mornington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mornington House
Ranked #2 of 19 Mullingar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed a night in Mornington when visiting Mullingar. The house is well sign-posted once you hit Crookedwood, which is a relief as our Sat Nav couldn't locate it.

Warwick and Anne were wonderful hosts who gave us some great recommendations - we ate at Oscars at their suggestion and came back stuffed full of fabulous Irish food, an experience only topped by Warwick's cooked breakfast the next morning, which was sumptuous and probably could have fed six!

Our room was beautiful - the bed was comfortable, and the views out onto the grounds are magical - it is like stepping back several decades. We went for a walk in the gardens, which are well tended and a mix of flowerbeds and vegetable plots.

Would definitely stay again and heartily recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki_Pr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are delighted that you found us with ease and that you enjoyed your stay at Mornington. Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate our guests taking time to post a review. Yours sincerely,
Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband brought me here for our anniversary and it really was the perfect spot. Anne and Warwick are so hospitable and had so much knowledge to share. The room was beautiful, spacious and cosy. The gardens were magnificent and we had a lovely time exploring them. Breakfast was fantastic! I will definitely be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KCMNaas_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We were delighted that you chose to celebrate your wedding anniversary at Mornington. We wish you many more happy years together. Thank for your help in the garden, the sweet-peas are climbing the trellising already. Thank you for your kind comments. Regards, Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I don't usually post reviews, but having just come back from a short stay in Mornington, I wanted to post to say that it is absolutely charming, as are the 2 hosts, Anne and Warwick. The house has a beautiful old world charm, a very peaceful setting and the food is delicious. Our room was very large and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was half the size of my apartment! The best part though was the lovely, personal service provided by our hosts, who really should pen memoirs of the intriguing tales they have to tell. We will definitely be back, this place is a real gem!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna_O_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us at Mornington. Thank you taking time from your busy schedule to post your kind review. Best wishes, Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The owners, Warwick and Anne were very friendly and most welcoming. We had the most wonderful breakfast , everything was fresh and cooked to perfection. We would certainly recommend staying in Mornington House for a peaceful get away.

Paul & Geraldine

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mornington. We appreciate hearing from our guests. Thank you for your very kind review. We hope to see you on your next trip to Ireland..
Anne & Warwick O'Hara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Over the years I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world (Imperial in Tokyo and Plaza and Waldorf in New York by way of examples). This place is totally different - but equally memorable and impressive - and the service surpasses anything on offer in a 5 star hotel (because of its personal nature). Anne and Warwick - as all the reviews say - are wonderful welcoming hosts - generous with their time and their food and fascinating people to talk with. Their home is amazing - the rooms spacious and the place so peaceful - the locality is wonderful but I am maybe biased on that score as my grandfather was born 5 miles away 125 years ago!

Room Tip: We were the only guests and had a chance to look in all the rooms. Ours on th front with an amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mornington. We were particularly pleased that we were able to help you with family research.
Thank you for your very kind comments.
We hope you will find time to stay when you are next in Multyfarnham.
Kind regards,
Warwick and Anne O'Hara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent just a night in Mornington back in August. There is nowhere else in Ireland where you can enjoy this standard of cooking in similarly comfortable and beautiful surroundings of an Edwardian lakeside gem. Anne is a world travelled Cordon Bleu trained chef. Warwick does the best breakfast in Ireland. Both excel in great conversation. We came home with pots of homemade chutney made with fruit and vegetables from their Victorian walled garden. We would love to go back.. soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dargle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you very much for your very kind review. We appreciate guests taking time to give us a review. It keeps us on our toes! We hope you enjoyed the jam and chutneys. We look forward to meeting you again. Yours sincerely, Warwick and Anne O'Hara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Full of high end old world charm. Warwick and Anne were most welcoming and friendly. We turned up on spec but this was not a problem. The room was huge, quiet and peaceful with lovely views over the estate. No distractions like TV or wi-fi. The perfect place to get away from it all. Warwick knocks up a wonderful breakfast and we loved talking to Anne about the history of the house and their family. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

It is so rewarding for us to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay at Mornington House. Thank you for taking the time to send in your very kind review.
We hope that next time you are in Ireland you will be able to come and stay again.
Yours sincerely,
Warwick & Anne O'Hara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mullingar hotels
7.1 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
635 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
4.0 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Riverview
Riverview
#14 of 19 in Mullingar
2 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lough Owel Lodge
Lough Owel Lodge
#3 of 19 in Mullingar
101 reviews
7.7 mi away
Marlinstown Court
Marlinstown Court
#1 of 19 in Mullingar
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington House

Address: Multyfarnham, Mullingar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Price Range: £106 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mornington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Mullingar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing