We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful in every way !”
Review of Mornington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mornington House
Ranked #2 of 18 Mullingar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Warwick and Anne are fantastic hosts being both cook and butler ,always smiling with a tale to tell ! We were greeted on arrival to a glowing fire homemade cakes,jams and scones and surrounded by family portraits . It truly is a small world as we discovered that one of our friends was at school in the same year as Warwick . Our very large bedroom looked out over the croquet lawn and a beautiful old oak tree. The bed,the linen and furniture was in true keeping with the house and we slept like babies after our bed had been turned down and the shutters closed whilst we ate a delicious dinner by candle light cooked by Anne . We were sad that to leave but will certainly return !

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your generous review.. It is always fascinating to meet guests who we discover we have mutual friends, It is a small world; Best wishes, Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at Mornington House for one night. There were four people in our party ranging from 9 years to 85 years. All four of us enjoyed it. The house, the surroundings and breakfast was such a treat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nuala B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review. of Mornington House. We do appreciate receiving feedback from guests. It keeps us on our toes!
Thankyou.
Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The warmest welcome awaits you from hosts Warwick and Ann just a little over an hour's drive west of Dublin. This is an opportunity to sample Irish country house life--especially if you book for the candle-lit dinner in the grand dining room, featuring excellent cooking and vegetables freshly harvested from the fantastic garden.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate hearing from guests wo have enjoyed their saty at Mornington, Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This location is one of Ireland's hidden gems.Its beautiful gardens and relaxed atmosphere .The interior decor is superb. Our welcome was very much appreciated with tea and scones
A location to be recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate hearing from guests wo have enjoyed their saty at Mornington, Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked Mornington House for my dad's 70th birthday. We really wanted a different experience to the regular bland hotel and this is exactly what we got. The house itself and surrounding gardens are breath taking. Every last detail of this country-house experience is authentic from the beautiful interior to the 2 donkeys out the back. Warwick and Anne are so hospitable and have all the time in the world to help with trip suggestions or fill you in on the fascinating history of Mornington House. All 5 of us ate dinner in the house. Both dinner and breakfast were fantastic. Anne is an excellent chef and goes to a lot of trouble. A real treat. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

It was a privilege to host your father's birthday celebrations. We are so pleased that you chose Mornington. Thank you for your kind review. Best wishes, Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I recently stayed in Mornington House and had a most wonderful break. It enjoys the benefit of a rural location set in very lush countryside yet is conveniently located to visit many interesting local attractions. We visited Trim Castle & Newgrange while there. Our room was excellent in all respects. We dined in one night and had a very fine meal with much home grown produce used. We found the breakfast both days to be excellent also with a variety of fruits prepared and available prior to being offered a cooked cooked breakfast. Our hosts Warwick & Anne were most helpful in all respects.We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaddyWestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your generous review of your stay at Mornington. We are pleased that you were able to visit some of the historic sites in this area. We look forward to meeting you again. Regards, Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our stay began with a wonderful welcome from our host, offering us tea and scones with home made strawberry jam. We enjoyed two wonderful restful nights sleep and on the second evening we joined 4 other guests for a wonderful meal cooked by Anne and served so graciously by Warwick in the lovely dining room. The conversation went on after the meal in front of the open fire in the drawing room. Breakfast on both days was delightful - and very filling! What a delightful place, made more so by the delightful hosts, Anne and Warwick. We would highly recommend this country house for its warm welcome, wonderful food and beautiful gardens. There is the additional benefit of discovering some of the wonders of the area like Fore and the passage graves at Loughcree.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gearoid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your break with us at Mornington.We hope you might find time to come again one day. Best wishes to you both, Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullingar
7.0 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
629 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
423 reviews
3.7 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
4.5 mi away
Lough Owel Lodge
Lough Owel Lodge
#3 of 18 in Mullingar
101 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lough Bishop House
Lough Bishop House
#2 of 3 in Collinstown
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington House

Address: Multyfarnham, Mullingar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Price Range: £131 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mornington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Mullingar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing