We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic b&b”
Review of Marlinstown Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marlinstown Court
Ranked #1 of 18 Mullingar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here recently when at a wedding in mullingar and our only regret is we could not have stayed a bit longer in this wonderful b&b.spotlessly clean,friendly environment and all tasks carried out in a typically casual "irish way" but without sarcraficing manners or efficiency!oh and the breakfast was cooked to perfection!will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aidso1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a brief visit to Mullingar for a funeral. We were delighted with our choice - we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. Barbara and Larry were very helpful and friendly. You really felt you were guests in their home. The rooms were spotlessly clean and everything was provided for your comfort. There was plenty of room for parking securely. The breakfasts provided a wonderful selection for all tastes and certainly surpassed hotels we have stayed in recently. We would recommend staying there without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Larry and Barbara immediately made us welcome and showed us to our beautiful room. It was toward the back of the house very large and filled with light. We were given a brief overview of things in the area and asked about our interests. We were not "overloaded" though. The introductions were very easy and laid back.

Breakfast was delicious and Barbara's Irish Brown Soda Bread was the best. IMHO We only had one night there and didn't get to see all the things we wanted to, so we will stay here again.

I forgot an item which I was notified about immediately and it was returned to me. This was above and beyond my expectations and greatly appreciated! John and Catherine W

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Accommodations were pleasant and the beds were comfortable. Since we arrived on a Sunday about 7:30 pm there were not many dining options open even in town. There was only one Chinese restaurant and one bar within walking distance (both at the hotel across the street). We did not have an opportunity to try the breakfast since we had to leave early for the airport. I somewhat expected to be offered at least a continental breakfast for the road but no such luck. The hostess seemed a little overbearing and insisted that we needed to be at the Dublin Airport three hours early. She even knocked on our door in the morning, afraid we had overslept. In hindsight, we should have listened, but that's for another review.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babs2244, Owner at Marlinstown Court, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you for your comments which are duly noted. I am sorry that you could only rate us 3 out of 5 for your stay. Our aim is to advise our guest as much as possible for correct travel times etc. On this we advised you that you are required to check in 3 hours beforehand for a Transatlantic flight and so you should depart at approximately 6am to give yourselves enough time to return your rental car and get into the airport. I advised you that Continental breakfast starts at 7am and cooked breakfast at 8am and did offer to place a tray in your room with Tea/Coffee and Cereals which you could have before you departed but you declined.
I am very sorry if you felt I was overbearing in knocking on your door when I discovered that it was 8am, the time you should be at the Airport and you had overslept.
As we are located one mile outside town we can only offer the Local 4 Hotel which has bar food and chinese without a drive and we did offer to drive you to Mullingar if you wished to have a drink but you declined.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Barbara and Larry went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, tea and coffee
In our rooms suggestions and recommendations for dinner and day tripping, the B&B is spotless
So many owners should visit this place to see how it is done! the Friendly environment encouraged us to stay an extra night instead of heading to Dublin.
A close safe drive to National Irish Stud and the Japanese Gardens as well as
The excellent fashion outlet store at Kildare. Bed comfortable, rooms warm as was
The owners. Great breakfast and conversation.

Room Tip: This B&B is faultless Lance and Anne
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Warm and welcoming with excellent service by the owners. Tea and treats upon arrival. Larry drove us into town at dinner time so we could relax and enjoy and. It battle the parking situation! Rooms are comfortable/functional, very clean with only a double bed - no queen or king. Breakfast was good. Could walk to town from here but it would be a bit of a trek. Two flights of stairs required to get to the upstairs. Larry and Barbara are wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pate1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have stayed in many B & B's and this one is on the top of our list. The scenery is beautiful, the accommodations were perfect and cozy and the breakfast was delicious. Larry and Barbara were wonderful hosts and made us so comfortable we didn't want to leave! Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mullingar hotels
1.2 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
423 reviews
1.4 mi away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
5.7 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
McCormack's Guesthouse
McCormack's Guesthouse
#4 of 18 in Mullingar
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlinstown Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlinstown Court

Address: Old Dublin Road, Mullingar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Price Range: £69 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlinstown Court 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Marlinstown Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing