We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value 'all you can eat' dine-in option”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
china garden restaurant
Ranked #61 of 78 Restaurants in Mullingar
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value 'all you can eat' dine-in option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Really tasty... have come here often for 'the cure'... great value all you can eat buttet which allows you to sample a little of everything. Not the best Chinese food in town but hits the spot all the same, and value-wise you cant go wrong.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichelleD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with a large party of ladies (24 in total)

Very good value. But the staff seemed slightly overwhelmed by the size of the party, perhaps put somebody else on the roster when you have such a large booking .

The food was fine. Not the best Chinese food ever but decent enough take away standard. Very good for the price.

Unfortunately a few of us were forgotten about over and over while others in our party were on to their second or even third dish!

The waiting staff came across as hassled and overwhelmed, hence my comment about rostering more staff when there is such a large booking!

I would return if I was in Mullingar again, as it was excellent value and passable food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Gorgeous food, amazing value. Staff coped well with our large party of 24 people. Will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mighty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great staff with great food. Very good value and I see great value if you have the kids with you too. Would recommend here!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MurrayEdwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

If you love Chinese food you will love the China Garden in Mullingar. You can eat as much as you like for €20 per head, and this is ordering from the buffet menu which is cooked to order and not from a buffet table! The food is very tasty, but I did notice that the main courses are relatively small, not to worry you can order as many as you like! Just be careful not to order for the sake of it, this restaurant hates waste (quite rightly) and if you order lots and lots just for the sake of it they will charge you for the starters/mains you didn't eat. Only order as much as you can eat. The only downside to this restaurant is that it is based in the Newbury hotel, but the pub and restaurant are great, it’s just the hotel itself that is a bit of a let-down. Don't let it put you off.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Noreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed china garden restaurant also viewed

Mullingar, County Westmeath
Mullingar, County Westmeath
 
Mullingar, County Westmeath
Mullingar, County Westmeath
 

Been to china garden restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing