We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome!”
Review of Lough Owel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Owel Lodge
Ranked #3 of 19 Mullingar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The lovely owner, Aideen, made us feel so welcome, offering tea as soon as we arrived (which also came with homemade scones and jam). We stayed in the very comfortable family room, which was spotlessly clean and very homely, with the added bonus of a separate annex for the children. The breakfast was superb and set us up well for the whole day. The location was handy for us travelling back from the west coast to the ferry in Dublin.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aideenginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Thank you for your kind words, you are very welcome and I am delighted that you were comfortable and enjoyed my home baking.It is always nice to bake for an appreciative guest.
Our farmhouse is ideally placed for guests travelling from the west as you so rightly said.
I look forward to meeting you all again when next you are travelling our way.
Have a happy and peaceful Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

Best home-cooked meal I had in all of Ireland. Got a true taste of Irish culture in the city of Mullingar and at this lovely farmhouse B&B. Host and Hostess and family were more than accommodating and genuine. I felt right at home. I even got the change to feed the very friendly donkeys, Sonny and Cher! I hope to bring my family back here one day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arianna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aideenginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Lovely to meet you and to enjoy your company.
Sonny and Cher send their regards!!!.
I am delighted that you enjoyed Irish cuisine.
We look forward to meeting you and your family when you come back to Ireland.
Good luck with your studies this year.
regards
Aideen Ginnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. As soon as we walked in the front door we felt so welcome. The views are fantastic and the owners were very helpful with local information. The full Irish breakfast kept us going all day. Our room was very spacious with a four poster bed. We even managed a game of tennis on the lovely hard court. We had a really good experience at this lovely farmhouse.
J & S Carroll, London, UK

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCarrollLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aideenginnell, Manager at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It was great to see guests enjoying the tennis court.
I hope to see you back again soon and maybe I can have a game of tennis with you .
Aideen Ginnell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

What a great farmhouse B and B! Great room, dining and sitting areas, even an outside clay tennis court. I loved the breakfast, and really enjoyed my jaunt across the farms to a picturesque lake for some fishing. Host and Hostess were extremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful location.
Tom and Jill Herget

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Th0mas_H220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pity that you did not catch any fish maybe next time .
Hope to see you back in Ireland again , maybe next year for the gathering .
regards
Aideen and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

What a wonderful stay at this Lodge. We arrived from Dublin on a very windy cold afternoon. Aideen had tea ready and a fire in the fireplace. I traveled with my sister and we shared the family room called Lough Deraveragh. It had a room with two twin beds and another room with a double under a window where you could see the stars. The beds are very comfortable with first rate linens that are washed and hung out to dry.....great wool blankets....it was just a great bed for a wonderful nights sleep. We, my sister and I, where in Ireland to do family history and shared that with Aideen's husband, Martin. By the next morning he had some information on a possible relative and we were off on our history adventure in Ireland. If we are ever in this area again we would head for Lough Owel Lodge. And thanks to Martin....we found our relative's family in Elphin Co. Roscommon.

Room Tip: My sister and I loved the family room....two separate rooms with a giant bathroom including a tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRISANDBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Great to hear from you.
martin is delighted that his information was of use and that you discovered your relatives in Roscommon .
We look forward to welcoming you both back to Lough Owel lodge
martin and Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I have been guests of Martin and Aideen at Lough Owel Lodge for over twenty years now! The lodge is always kept immaculately and is now even more beautiful and comfortable than ever! There are enormous antique beds in some of the rooms to ensure you have a wonderful nights sleep and the bath/shower rooms are supplied with an un-ending supply of piping hot water. The lounge and dining room are comfortable and relaxing and a cosy fire welcomes you home on colder nights. Tea and coffee making facilities are available there too, plus a TV for those of you who can't bear to be away from one! A wonderful Irish breakfast greets you in the morning and is now included on a varied breakfast menu - which is complimented by freshly squeezed orange juice. If you are travelling close to Mullingar then you really should pay them a visit - you won't be disappointed! If you have time, before you explore an area filled with interesting attractions and wonderful places to dine, try the walk through the fields down to the lakeshore and make friends with their cattle, sheep and newly accquired donkeys! Hope to see you both again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencers247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Your review was wonderful thank you for taking the time to post it.
To have people (friends) coming back to stay with us for 20 years is the icing on the cake and gives us great encouragement to continue .
Hope to see you back again soon and good luck with your new build

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Lough Owel Lodge B&B is a nice, quiet place by the lake, run by a friendly couple. The hostess is very patient and understanding person, she will do her best to satisfy your needs re accommodation and food requirements. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfasts are very tasty, all food is home made, you have to try their delicious rhubarb marmalade.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnieszka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Delighted you enjoyed our breakfast. I love to cook and it is great to have happy customers.
See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mullingar hotels
4.6 mi away
Mornington House
Mornington House
#2 of 19 in Mullingar
111 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
432 reviews
6.9 mi away
Riverview
Riverview
#15 of 19 in Mullingar
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
2.6 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
647 reviews
2.5 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Owel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Owel Lodge

Address: Lough Owel Lodge Lough Owel Lodge Lough Owel Lodge | Culleenmore, Mullingar 0000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Price Range: £72 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Owel Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge owel lodge is a farmhouse bed and breakfast located 3klms from Mullingar, a lively market town.Our home has extensive views of Lough Owel and the surrounding countryside.Guests can enjoy a leisurely walk through our organic farm to the lake. An ideal place to unwind and relax from all the stresses of life. All five en suite bedrooms have pleasant country views. For breakfast guests can enjoy home baking, homemade jams and organic porridge while sitting at a large antique table overlooking the countryside. Wireless Internet Access is complimentary and is available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lough Owel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing