We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful house, location and hosts.”
Review of Lough Owel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Owel Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Mullingar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We recently stayed for four nights. What a great location for exploring the Lakes, canals and midlands.Cant wait to stay again next year when it will be for a Week. The hospitality rooms and breakfasts were second to none! Thank you Aideen and Martin.
The Pollock sisters.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Ladies thank you very much for your lovely comments.
The start of August would not be the same for Martin and myself without the Pollock's ladies.
We look forward to your return and will drink your health with the four sisters!!!.
keep well
Aideen and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at this beautiful B&B for one night and wished we could have spent more time here. The double rooms my teenage daughters, wife, and I stayed in were beautiful, spacious, and clean. We shared a large bathroom that was also very well maintained. Aideen was a gracious host who greeted us with hot tea and scones after we arrived during a heavy downpour. Looking out our window at the sheep grazing in the pasture and the views of the lake were quite a thrill. Breakfast was excellent-the girls loved the fresh pancakes. We look forward to returning again for a longer stay and having a picnic down at the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilltyDeLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

I thank you for the kind words.
It was lovely to have your family stay with us at Lough Owel Lodge.
I am sorry that the weather did not lend itself to having a picnic by the lake.
Next time tell tell me in advance and I will arrange the weather!!!.
Enjoy what is left of the summer and see you back again soon.
regards Aideen and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Traveling from Australia via North Wales we had enjoyed a wonderful week in Ireland and this was our last night before returning to Wales. We arrived and were greeted with afternoon tea. Our hosts were interested in our trip and our experiences in our own B & B . Our room was as good as any we had stayed in on our trip but the lounge and dining rooms were exceptional. Breakfast was superb as we had come to expect in Ireland. Thank you Aideen and Martin for rounding off our trip with a great stay at Lough Lodge

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay.
Are you back home in Australia yet?. We enjoy listening and learning from our guests of their travels, saving up this knowledge for our own travels someday.
Enjoy the rest of the summer and hopefully you will return
kind regards
Aideen and martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Aideen and her husband Martin were amazingly helpful to my sister and myself in trying to find our mothers family history, with the help of Aideen and her friend Helen we were able to find our grandparents details which will enable us to do more research into our family history, we hope to come back next year with other family members to continue the search.Apart from all this the hospitality was wonderful a genuinely friendly and comfortable atmosphere.

Room Tip: Chose any room here and a peaceful night is assured
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hello Ladies,
many thanks for the gracious review you wrote.
Martin and myself really enjoyed going on the journey with you to find your ancestry from Westmeath.
We will look forward to welcoming you and your family back next year.
regards
Aideen and martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We arrived last Saturday from Dublin after my husband had 10 busy days at a conference. After a beautiful drive, we arrived at the Lough Owel and were warmly welcomed by Aideen. She kindly prepared tea and scones, and immediately gave us a homely feeling. We were in room number 1, a comfy and clean room with a four poster bed. The view from the sun room is beautiful, the view from the bathroom is quite interesting - you can see a bit of the life on the farm. Breakfast was delicious (delicious pancakes and french toast!) and Aideen gave us very good advice about where to go (the Fore Trail). For dinner we can definitely recommend you to go to Oscar's. If looking for a cozy, clean and comfortable place to stay around Mullingar, no need to look further: book a room at the Lough Owel Lodge!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saskia319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for reviewing our home.
We enjoyed your company too and I hope you will return to Mullingar again soon.
maybe another conference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed one night on our Irish trip a couple of years ago (catching up with all the reviewing now). We were welcomed warmly even without a reservation and were given a beautiful room with a grand antique poster bed. Lovely place to relax! Everything was very homely and convenient and we were really satisfied with our accommodation choice made on the road. The delicious breakfast and the great hospitality gave us a great feeling to continue our drive towards Dublin to spend the rest of our holiday days there. Warm recommendations for Lough Owel Lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelandDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

It was great to receive your comment about your stay with us.
I am delighted that you felt at home here, we aim to provide a relaxing atmosphere so people can unwind. I wish you and your family a great summer and hoping to see you back again at Lough Owel Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We loved staying in this place!!This bed and breakfast is absolutely PERFECT! It is very close to Mullingar city centre. The owners Aideen and Martin are really really friendly and they made us feel at home!! The breakfast is absolutely incredible and tasty. The rooms are clean and connfortable and even the bathroom! We really enjoyed staying in this bed and breakfast and in Mullingar! We definetely return to this bed and breakfast.
Greetings from Sicily and Malta :)
We reccomend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aideenginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Greetings from Ireland

How is life in Sicily?.We did not make it there this year but maybe next year.

It was great to meet you both and thank you for taking the time to write such nice comments. It

encourages me to continue to develop my breakfast menu.

The season is over now and I am making the list of things to do for next year.

The list seems to get longer every year.

Enjoy Christmas whether you are in Sicily or Malta and we hope to see you again at Lough Owel Lodge .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullingar
3.4 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
423 reviews
2.6 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
630 reviews
4.1 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
331 reviews
2.5 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
113 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Castlepollard
Hotel Castlepollard
#1 of 1 in Castlepollard
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Owel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Owel Lodge

Address: Lough Owel Lodge Lough Owel Lodge Lough Owel Lodge | Culleenmore, Mullingar 0000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Price Range: £69 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Owel Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge owel lodge is a farmhouse bed and breakfast located 3klms from Mullingar, a lively market town.Our home has extensive views of Lough Owel and the surrounding countryside.Guests can enjoy a leisurely walk through our organic farm to the lake. An ideal place to unwind and relax from all the stresses of life. All five en suite bedrooms have pleasant country views. For breakfast guests can enjoy home baking, homemade jams and organic porridge while sitting at a large antique table overlooking the countryside. Wireless Internet Access is complimentary and is available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Lough Owel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing