We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mullingar Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mullingar
Certificate of Excellence
Kells, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I was recently in this hotel for a wedding, by the time we got the food it was freezing cold as the staff were just standing there with the food on big trays waiting for someone to tell them to go, I also ate in the restaurant in here one sunday, the staff were slow and there was one lady giving orders very rudely to another young member of staff, this should not be done especially on front of customers. I defiently do not recommend this hotel and I would not go back here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM123456, General Manager at Mullingar Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am both sorry and disappointed to note that you did not enjoy your recent experience at the Mullingar Park Hotel.To be honest I am a little surprised with your comments regarding food being served on big trays as we do not engage in tray service at any of our weddings or functions our staff use table service only here at the Mullingar Park Hotel. I do hope you will return to the hotel in the future, as we would welcome an opportunity to restore your faith in us. Kind regards, Matt O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    130
    48
    16
    18
See reviews for
96
123
11
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trim, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This is one of the most comfortable hotels I've stayed in for a long time.The duvet was of such a high quality I could have stayed in bed all day!From the welcoming lobby to the very attentive staff,it was all a really good experience.Lovely meeting rooms,home cooked bar food with the best home fries I've ever had,all added to make my stay memorable.I could not recommend it enough.Well done to all concerned

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM123456, General Manager at Mullingar Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to note your kind comments regarding the staff, rooms, and food. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mullingar Park Hotel in the future. Kind regards, Matt O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The best hotel in Mullingar, fine food at a good price and nice rooms. Also boasts a very good leisure area.I go there most Sundays for lunch and I must say the soup and tea is excellent along with the sandwiches and salads.The restaurant is nice and stylish and a very good venue for celebrations or business meetings.It host live music, antique fairs and furniture sales from time to time.All and all if you are going to stay a night or just passing for lunch this is the place to go!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM123456, General Manager at Mullingar Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to review the Mullingar Park Hotel. I am delighted to hear your kind comments on our food, leisure club and rooms and that your experience over all is very positive. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mullingar Park Hotel be it for business or pleasure the next time your travel palns take you to Mullingar. Kind regards, Matt O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Had the pleasure of staying for an evening on business. Despite arriving late we were able to eat in the restaurant and had a superb meal from the daily dinner menu. Both the food and presentation were first class and despite only just arriving before the restaurant closed the service was first class and with no feeling of being rushed.
The room was excellent and the bed one of the most comfortable I have slept in for a long time.
The breakfast buffet offered a wide range that would suit every taste and the quality of the food was gain first class.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the décor and comfort of the public areas very good.
Would certainly stay again and would hope to have the opportunity to use the leisure facilities available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffDennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM123456, General Manager at Mullingar Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay at the Mullingar Park Hotel.
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sure to pass on your words of appreciation to our team. I also appreciate your feedback regarding our restaurant for dinner and the breakfast buffet. I will be certain to share your comments with the appropriate department's. It is only through reviews and constructive feedback such as yours that we can review and enhance our guest experience.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and as you said perhaps you will get some time to enjoy our leisure facilities. Kind Regards Matt O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I stayed in MPH last Friday night, following a conference held in the hotel that day. We enjoyed a wonderful evening meal hosted in the hotel, followed by a convivial evening with colleagues in the lobby. The bedroom was quite comfortable (apart from an unpleasant smell in the bathroom - this was the only negative aspect of our entire stay) and the breakfast the next morning was very good. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a special rate for our room (because of the conference), which made the whole experience very good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM123456, General Manager at Mullingar Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay at the Mullingar Park Hotel
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us your positive comments on your room your experience at dinner and breakfast. I will certaintly pass on your kind comments regarding our staff and service to all departments. Please feel free to notify us upon your next stay should you experience a smell in your bathroom and we would do our upmost to investigate this and move you to another room if available so that we could rectify that issue as this would not be the norm. We do hope we can welcome you back to the Mullingar Park Hotel the next time your travel plans see you return to the midlands. Kind Reards Matt O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had decided, following our stay in Westport to head up to Carrick on Shannon, simply because we had never been there before. We stopped at the Landmark hotel as it looked pretty good from outside. Busy hotel, so Mrs K asked to see a room. The manageress took her up to see what was available and during the course of the conversation said that she thought the hotel would probably be a bit noisy for us as Mrs K had said the we would want a quiet room.

She then suggested the Mullingar Park, rang them, told them we would want a quiet room and asked them to reserve one for us. Great service.

We went to the Mullingar Park, the room was excellent, large and well equipped.

Went down for dinner in the evening; what an experience! The food was quite simply superb.

We slept very well in the room which was quiet as requested even though it overlooked the car park at the front of the hotel.

Breakfast, as is usual these days was buffet but was fresh and hot.

I don't know what there is to do in Mullingar as we were just passing through, but the hotel is excellent.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BillKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM123456, General Manager at Mullingar Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay at Mullingar Park Hotel.
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sure to pass on your words of appreciation to our team. I also appreciate your feedback on your experience in our restaurant regarding dinner and breakfast and I will be certain to share your comments with the appropriate department's. I would also like to thank our Industry colleagues at the Landmark Hotel for recommending us. Regarding Mullingar there are plenty of things to do to suit all taste's with a range of activites to suit all ages we indeed have a variety of options listed on our website. We do hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kind Regards Matt O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I was here with family for a party recently. The hotel is lovely however the staff are not one bit nice I was standing at the bar 10 mins just to get a glass and there was 5 people working. The dinner was horrific for the price and very slow to be served. The breakfast was nice tho. I had to pay everything up front there was no waiting until I checked out unlike my other family members who all payed at check out maybe because I was the youngest that booked a room I'm not sure. But all in all it's way too expensive for what you get.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ktbrzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM123456, General Manager at Mullingar Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to read that you were underwhelmed with your recent stay at Mullingar Park Hotel for your family event. Although I am pleased to note your praise for our breakfast service and quality food and appreciate you taking the time to write the review. With regard to your comment on paying everything up front because you were the youngest I would like to say that would not have being the case at all as we treat all our guests equally however on some occasions when a guest does not furnish a credit card we do request payment up front as a standard hotel policy if other guests did not pay up front in your party I can only assume they had furnished us with Credit Card guarantee as is standard hotel policy and then they pay in full on check out. Regarding your comment on the staff in general we take pride in our service and customer training of staff and I am sorry to say your experience this time did not find this so and I assure you I will talk to the relevant departments I also take note of your service issues and welcome your feedback because it is only with guest feedback that we can constantly strive for improvements. I do hope overall your event went well and please do not let this experience discourage a future visit with us. Kind regards, Matt O Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullingar
1.3 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
1.5 mi away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Castlepollard
Hotel Castlepollard
#1 of 1 in Castlepollard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullingar Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullingar Park Hotel

Property: Mullingar Park Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Mullingar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mullingar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mullingar Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mullingar Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing