We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde Worlde Class.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greville Arms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mullingar
ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Olde Worlde Class.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here last Saturday night (1st. March). This was our first time in Mullingar and this delightful hotel is ideally located in the very centre of the town.
This hotel is real old style with a lovely reception area and bar on the ground floor. I can't comment on the restaurant as we didn't eat there but it looked busy. We ate sandwiches from the bar menu which were very nice and reasonably priced - french fries were outstanding!
Our room was on the first floor. It was very comfortable and spotlessly clean/ It was also one of the largest rooms I have ever stayed!
Also on the first floor was a lovely lounge area with candle-lit tables and a bar - a beautiful spot for a quiet drink or coffee.
Breakfast was buffet style with cereals (including porridge) and cooked choices (bacon, sausages, eggs, etc.). Lovely stuff and lots of it !!!!!!!
Any members of staff we dealt with were cheerful, helpful and polite.
This hotel is a gem - as is Mullingar - and we fully intend to visit both again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    79
    55
    28
    38
See reviews for
61
83
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I recently organized a hen weekend in Mullingar and stayed in the Greville Arms Hotel. As you can imagine, for a group of 27 women in February , it is hard to find a place that will entertain and cater for women at that time of year. I just want to say that the hotel staff were brilliant. As soon as I checked in, I was greeted with a friendly hello and a staff member basically outlined that whatever I needed over the weekend, she would be at my service! To receive such a reception, I thought was really great. The hotel staff made us feel very welcome and everyone had a brilliant time and raved about the hotel.
Their help, assistance was greatly appreciated. I could not praise them all enough for their kindness and willingness to help with all my 'demands' and no doubt annoying requests.
They truly were fantastic and it meant alot!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sineadmc671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here on visit as part of a party of male friends. The Greville is a large hotel right in the middle of Mullingar's Main Street and as such is well used by visitors and locals alike. Rommel was ok for 3fellas sharing, breakfast was eat as much as you want, we also eat snacks and some dinners in the hotel all were tasty and good value for money paid.
Over the four days we stayed there was a variety of entertainment throughout the day and bars open for residents into the wee small hours. Having stayed in the lakeside hotel a few miles outside Mullingar previously, which was also a good hotel I now much prefer the central location of the Greville and would always return here if it is available.

Room Tip: Go as high up as possible as bars are full until late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed in The Greville last Saturday night, 18th January. Very nice olde worldly feel to this hotel..Staff are really friendly and efficient. Great atmosphere in the bar and lively music. Food was excellant and was of great quality. The bedroom was quite small and cramped but adequate. The age old problem arose of having booked a double but on arrival, the double was two single beds pushed together which did'nt make for good sleeping arrangements a deux as one party invariabley ended up down in the hole in the middle. However the room was extremely clean and well decorated. The only major drawback of this hotel is the lack of a lift so its a no-no for wheelchair users or those with mobility problems...otherwise all was good apart from the double bed scenario and I wouldn't hesitate to use it again.

Room Tip: request that the double is in fact a double and not two singles disguised as a double..check mobilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Down
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Visited the Greville Arms restaurant at lunchtime on Tuesday 14th Jan. No bar snacks were on offer, only a carvery so decided to have a go at that. Great choice of meats and I went for the stuffed Lamb as it looked lovely and portion was big. Well, by the time the server put on cabbage, carrots, mash potatoes and roast potatoes I didn't know whether to eat it or climb it. Anyway a dollop of mint sauce on the side and some gravy I got stuck in, not only did it look good, it tasted good. Was a great choice and I would not hesitate in recommending their carvery, together with a bottle of orange juice the cost was €12.65. Carvery was €9.95.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smileandbehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybofey, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Definitely the place to have lunch if you're in Mullingar...A well stocked carvery with plenty of variety...pleasant and efficient staff...great value for money on the small portions...the beef on the day was extremely tasty and tender...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdoogan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Ha d the pleasure of attending an Xmas dinner in the Greville Arms last week. The experience was very positive. A nice starter of shredded duck in a wrap would have been even better with some more plum sauce. The main of surf and turf was excellently presented and very tasty steak. Prawns were battered and to really finish off the dish, they should have been langoustines. Desert was complimentary and a nice taster plate. Meal was nicely accompanied by tasty wines and finished off with a brandy & port. Overall a very positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9Hostages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullingar
1.5 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
604 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
111 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
6 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Castlepollard
Hotel Castlepollard
#1 of 1 in Castlepollard
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greville Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greville Arms Hotel

Property: Greville Arms Hotel
Address: Pearse Street, Mullingar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mullingar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Greville Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Greville Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greville Arms Mullingar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing