We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awful time”
Review of Lawless Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lawless Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aughrim
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awful time”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hi we stayed here recently for a wedding , we checked in the early hours as we just arrived in time to the wedding and couldnt leave to check in till later , rang the hotel and it was no problem to check in late. However when we arrived at 4 in the morning we were giving our key,. Our room was number 5, beds were made and room seemed ok but when my husband went into the bathroom , he found towels all over the floor, some poo in the toilet, the handbasin with dirty coffee cups and delph, it was filthy , i found the bed linen had rips in it when i pulled it back, he called the night porter and complained, the porter did agree that the bathroom was terrible but said we should take it up with management in the morning, he really didnt care, we found ourselves fretting what were we going to do at 4 in the morning,eventually after 30 minutes the nite porter moved us to another room number 15 ,. This was cleaned and was ok. However the next day, I found the attitude of the staff wasnt great, ops the room wasnt ready attitude, one cleaner said as she passed us on the landing and really didnt care. The room should have been marked not in use,.Check out is 11.30 and when the cleaner knocked on another door to see if a guest wanted towels, he said he was checking out her toned rised and told him it was 11.45 and passed checkout, A door banged outside all nite long so hence very little sleep, the beds too werent great, The breakfast was only ok, the hotel was surpose to be nearby to ballbeg house but it is at least a good 20 mins in a taxi up back roads which are not lit , friends stayed in nearby b&b to the venue and had great reveiws. The hotel is old, cobwebs in the bar, decor old , i wouldnt recomend this hotel at all, Their is no receptionist you have to ring a bell and somebody from the bar comes out to see what you want. This was midday.

Room Tip: if you really have to stay no 15 was ok,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    34
    12
    7
    12
See reviews for
26
41
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here while attending a local wedding so only spent a few hours in the hotel. Decor very old fashioned. Room small, shower barely hot. Breakfast was acually ok. Ideal for a quick stopover but not somewhere you'd be going to chill out?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmymac68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aughrim hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Recently spent a night here for a nearby wedding and still shocked by the attitude of the receptionist. We rang the bell as there was no one there and waited a couple of mins til the receptionist appeared. She did not even say hello but just put a piece of paper on the counter and then tapped her fingers as my other half filled out the form. Her first words were to tell us where the room was. We got a huge room but the view was a pitched roof. The water was off when we arrived and there was broken glass on the outside of our window.. The breakfast was half decent but we wont be back and either will anyone else in our group who stayed that weekend

Room Tip: Room 11 is huge but all you can see from the window is a pitched roof. Nice big bath in the room tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheedy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We booked a double room here for 2 nights in July. The room exceeded all expectations (especially for only 65€ a night), it was very large, the bed was positioned on a platform, there was a large bath in the corner and an ensuite bathroom with a large shower. The only disadvantage was the light coming in from the hallway and the bed was a little too hard for my liking.
Breakfast was included, and very delicious. It is served in the downstairs bar where they serve food and drinks throughout the day. It has a great atmosphere and the food is delicious.
If you are looking for a place to stay in Aughrim or around it, then we can definitly recommend this hotel. Ask for room 11 eleven (the one we stayed in) as it is the biggest room (friends did say that the other rooms were rather small).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewulf_sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Five of us ate here for a family tea. The restaurant has a pub atmosphere. The TVs beside the bar were on and loud so we chose to sit away from that area. The menu has starters, sandwiches (served with chips or salad) and mains so there was plenty of choice. As its a hotel bar/restaurant there is a full bar and then a short wine list with 3 red and 3 white all available by the glass or bottle. The service was just OK as there was only one person taking orders and serving. If you are coeliac then the choice is limited. We only had main courses but when the food came it was hearty pub food with good size portions. Overall, if you like good quality food and value for money and are not expecting restaurant quality service then this is a good place to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed at the hotel last month while attending a wedding nearby. We were not overly impressed with Lawless’ and won’t be returning.

Cons:
- Room itself was very small and smelled musty. There was a water stain on the ceiling / wall and down part of the wall. Plaster and paint cracking on walls/ceiling. Room with a view of... nothing, as there was another roof in front of the window blocking any view. Small rickety stained furniture. One of the light fixtures didn’t work.
- Bathroom light was very faint, shower knob fell off while in the shower and, although the water pressure was OK, the water temperature never got warmer than “room temperature” – so it was basically a cold shower. Then my partner said he thought the bathroom hadn’t been cleaned after he lifted the toilet seat….
- The bed was uncomfortable and lumpy, and both my partner and I woke up with scratches on our backs! Assuming it’s from springs that were out of place…?! The sheets were clean, but the blanket was scratchy.
- Location of the room was at the top of the main stairs and there was a door between the corridor and the stairs, so any time anyone came up or down the door banged shut behind them.
- There were heavy curtains in front of the window, but as the window was a “bay” (angled out) we got light in the room from about 7am. Then children were shouting and running up and down the corridor from about 7.30am so no more sleep. Wide awake at 8am when I was hoping for a rare lie-in…

Pros:
- Staff were friendly
- Breakfast was OK. I’m stretching here to make it a “pro” but I ate it all
- Aughrim is a beautiful village and the surrounding countryside is gorgeous

When we were leaving, I saw one of the cleaners left the door to another bedroom open at the end of the hall – I looked in and it was a massive room, with a beautiful big bed (must be the “honeymoon suite”?), very spacious with more modern furniture. If we had stayed there I might have a slightly different opinion of the place… oh well.

Room Tip: Ask for the "big room at the end of the hall" if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wosheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Had a midweek stay here for one night. The hotel seems to be very comfortable and you get exactly what you pay for.
The room is slightly old fashioned but again if you know what you are paying for it should suit your needs fine. The only negative about our room was that the bed headboard is connected to the lockers on each side of the bed. as the headboard was shaky, it meant my wine fell off the locker and destroyed part of the carpet! although the staff were very nice about this.
Watch out for early check out here at 11:00 most hotels are 12:00 so keep in mind if you are staying here.
Breakfast was delivered to our room the next morning at no additional cost and it was quality. the town of Aughrim is really nice (Tidy Town) and very nice scenery around that location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LlyodClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aughrim
4.2 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
1.7 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
18.7 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
8.5 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawless Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawless Hotel

Property: Lawless Hotel
Address: The Bridge, Aughrim, Ireland (Formerly Lawless's Irish Country Hotel & Holiday Village)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Aughrim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aughrim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lawless Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawlesss Irish Country Aughrim
Lawless Hotel Aughrim, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing