We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meath Arms Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Aughrim B&B and Inns
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning Suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed in a wonderful suite over the Christmas break at the Meath Arms. The suite was better than advertised. A very large room, comfortable bed with an amazing power shower. It is a family fun bed and breakfast and the owners Gerry, Marie and Paul couldn't have been more helpful. I am very surprised by the one poor review below my experience was the very opposite. Unfortunately we didn't get to try the restaurant which looked beautiful.

Room Tip: A suite! Think it was called the Meath Suite
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank E_Slade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    16
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed in the meath arms hotel on the oct bank holiday this year,where i was attending a wedding at the brook lodge hotel.
I realy enjoyed my stay here,great value for money and the rooms are very nice, with a great power shower, rooms were clean and beds comfortable.

The resturant was lovely with beautiful firestone features and the breakfast was just what i needed which was served up to me well after breakfast was over, in fact it was nearly lunch time,
so thanks for that Terry and Chef!
the staff were very friendly and made me feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

I stayed for two nights in The Meath Arms recently. I had a standard room which was really lovely with genuine antique furniture and a very comfortable bed. The bed linen was crisp and white and the shower powerful. The room was comfortable, and bearing in mind this part of the building must be close to two hundred years old, it was obvious the owners were making every effort to maintain the building in good condition. I believe the newer rooms are spacious, modern and beautifully decorated. but for me, I was more than happy with the standard room.
Breakfast was very nice - a freshly cooked fry served by a very friendly lady. The grainstore restaurant looked very inviting but I chose to eat in the bar which was delicious. I think it's the same menu and very reasonably priced.
All in all, a very good experience. I would stay there again and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KildareMattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed here for 1 night when we were doing the wicklow way. We arrived and were greeted by the manger (ger). We were very obviously a inconvenience to him. He was very rude and unhelpful! The rooms were old and the place in general was just run down. The rooms were nothing like the pictures on the site, there was mould on the bathroom and damp on the ceiling outside room 6. To be fair the restaurant attached was lovely that evening. The waitress was lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Pity the breakfast was thrown at us in the morning by the same man that check us in and to top it all off he tried to over charge us. NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RED3275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I visited County Wicklow for a wedding, and chose to stay at the Meath Arms due to the price and the fact that the accommodations appeared online to be a little more modern than some other options in the area. We were pleased with the room as it was very large and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast that is included is also made to order (full Irish breakfast) and the lady who came in to make the breakfast was very pleasant.

I had a couple of issues with the customer service, however. First, we were not told that we needed to be at the hotel by a particular time, and we were not asked what time we were planning to arrive. We drove from Dublin and got there later than we expected due to getting very lost, and when we arrived, it was just dusk. The hotel door was locked and when the owners came to let us in, they made it seem like it was a bother to check us in. They said that they thought since we were so late, they didn't think we were coming anymore. Mind you, this is 6pm or 7pm, just dusk. I was a little put off by that. Also, our bill ended up being 20 Euros higher than quoted when we made our reservation.

Aughrim is a very beautiful and quaint town, but there is nothing to do at night other than hang out in the pub at the Meath Arms. We were also unable to find anywhere with regular internet access. We were able to find a community computer center where you pay a small fee to use the computers, but the computers are extremely slow and the hours are very limited (just a few days a week for a few hours).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tamrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, CAMBS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

I cannot fault our party's stay (5 different rooms) for eight nights apart from maybe the lack of tea / coffee making facility and the need for some updating, which did not impact on our overall satisfaction. Gerry was especially helpul aided by Paul & Marie, A wonderful stay made all the more enjoyable by the warmth of reception from the locals , the Irish Music night and Steve and his staff at the attached Grainstore Restaurant. All in all Aughrim is a splendid "localised" place to holiday and The Meath Arms the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MUGLIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at the Meath Arms to attend a wedding nearby. The staff were all very friendly and helpful but there were some issues:

+ The windows didn't close completely so late-night (1am - 2am) revellers and early morning traffic disturbed our sleep
+ The curtains didn't keep out the light at all
+ There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms
+ No hot water on the Sunday morning came as a nasty surprise to my husband but the owner offered me the use of a different room that had an electric shower.
+ The breakfast was delicious and the owner gave my husband a second full Irish breakfast to apologise for the lack of hot water proving once again that the way to a man's heart is through his belly!

Overall, our stay was saved by the staff but it's still expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Apparently the suites are vastly superior to the standard rooms having recently been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieInHvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aughrim
0.0 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
0.0 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Aughrim Holiday Village
#2 of 2 in Aughrim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lawless Hotel
Lawless Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aughrim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashton House
Ashton House
#1 of 6 in Avoca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meath Arms Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meath Arms Country Inn

Property: Meath Arms Country Inn
Address: The Meath Arms Main Street, Aughrim, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Aughrim
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aughrim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meath Arms is a beautiful Country Inn with a long tradition of hospitality, located right in the heart of the Garden of Ireland: Wicklow. Established in 1728 the business is today still owned and run by the Phelan family. Each room was individually designed, with comfort and style adding to the wonderful athmosphere.The Inn is located in the centre of Aughrim Village, approximately 80 km (1 hour drive) south of Dublin, and at the foot of Lugnaquilla : Irelands 3rd biggest Mountain. With Entertainment in Paddys Bar weekly, not to mention the unique restaurant located at the back of the premises, serving only the best in food & service. We accommodate many self catering walkers but also specialise in Tailor making 3 day or 5 day packages for walkers, including an experienced local tour guide (who knows all the secrets!) allowing you to see some of the most beautiful scenic views Ireland has to offer. The Wicklow way, Lugnaquilla Mountain, Croghan hill, The Bray cliff walk, The Glen Of Immal and Glendalough are among the hundreds of beautiful places to see all within minutes, making The Meath Arms Country Inn the perfect location for your ultimate walking holiday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Meath Arms Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Aughrim
Aughrim Country Inn
Meath Arms Country Inn Aughrim, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing