We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Federico II Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Enna
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for one night only during a recent trip to Sicily. We missed the turning, but managed to turn around and go back again, down a small road. Hotel is very large and grand with ample parking. Took a while to check in as there was a group checking in before us and there was only one person on the reception desk. When we did check in there was not a lot of information given; we had to ask what time facilities were open and breakfast served etc. Room was large with balcony. Nice bathroom with complimentary toiletries. We ate in the hotel restaurant as the it is a drive away from Enna. There were only two other people in the restaurant while we were there. Lots of choice at breakfast. Nice staff. Had problem with the wi-fi in our room, but ok in reception. Overall a nice stay and would use hotel again. We had a slight problem trying to find our way out from the hotel, as we didn't have GPS!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    138
    41
    17
    9
See reviews for
58
89
13
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This luxurious and big complex, located in the middle of waving grain fields, is probably good for conferences and weddings, but not so good for travellers who want to experience Sicilian hospitality. We were two members of a small group of travellers (on a Savouring Sicily Tour). Our welcome at reception was reasonable, but the delivery of luggage to the rooms was sporadic in its nature and there was inadequate hotel information in the rooms (in any language). Our room was large by Italian standards and had a balcony overlooking the countryside, but to use the balcony one had to step carefully as it was obviously the overnight stop for large birds suffering from gastric - and no-one saw the need to clean up after them. It was a non-smoking room, but the previous occupants had left behind - thankfully on the balcony, a plastic container filled with water and slowly festering cigarette butts. The safe in the room failed to function, and when I reported that to reception, I was promised immediate attention, but it took forty five minutes for someone to appear to discover that the batteries in the safe needed replacing: the wait meant that I was late for a dinner that had been arranged, but I was then able to explain to another of my travelling companions that her electronic safe worked the same as most other safes in captivity and the problem was not with her but with the failure of the hotel to replace the batteries in the safe. Next morning, we discovered that one of our electronic door keys was not working: the receptionist was not able to reprogram it and sent me off to breakfast whilst she summoned someone to come to fix the problem. Breakfast was acceptable in terms of the range of food, but there was a problem with the coffee machine - another problem that could not be fixed while we were there - and late arrivals were greeted by tables that had not been cleared, so they had to do it themselves. We departed for our day's exploration with the problem of the non-functioning door key still not solved. That evening, on our return, I sought to have the problem of the door key resolved but had to compete with another guest who was experiencing the same problem. Of course, for him, it was the batteries that needed replacing, but for me it was a computer software problem that the night-time receptionist could not solve. Breakfast the next morning was chaotic in a different sort of way (someone must have complained about the previous morning) - the moment one put down a piece of cutlery or crockery, it was whisked away: too bad if what was on your plate was only half eaten; and the coffee machine was still not fixed and the luke-warm water provided was not suitable for tea making. The day-time receptionist was able to fix the problem of reprograming both our electronic door keys. That receptionist was cheerful and helpful, as was one of the female staff members in the dining room, but other staff members seemed to lack confidence in any language other than Italian - and even with that, they showed no signs of humour or hospitality. We "enjoyed" a wedding and the subsequent cleaning up outside our window on one night of our stay and were very grateful that we had transport to take us away from the hotel during the day as facilities or points of interest were not within walking distance as far as we could ascertain. Next time I will stay in Upper Enna a in less modern hotel.

Room Tip: Have a look at other hotels in Upper Enna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A highlight of this relatively new and luxurious big complex is the size of the rooms (including the balcony in most cases) - Breakfast of high standards and variety, attentive service both in the restaurant and at reception. A small defect might be the official checkout time of 10.00 a.m., however, when we asked about it before having consulted the official instructions in the room ... we were told 11.00 a.m.!

Room Tip: Open air swimming pool and spa also available, yet the former was still closed and for the latter we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65Guglielmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Hotel Federico II comes out the middle of nowhere in (lower) Enna. Very big hotel and no other stay around comparable right in the middle of Sicily. The rooms are almost gigantic in size but can cause a slightly "cold" feeling. Breakfast is ok, staff is friendly and speaks a fair English. Overall quality in the upper half, the hotel is clean and there is a free wi-fi with reception in many hotel areas.

BUT: The access and exit roads are a catastrophe (but not a surprise on this island). In addition, they are almost impossible to find in case it is your first stay at Federico II. Be careful when driving there, especially int he dark. And if you ask yourself: is this the right way? Most likely the answer is: yes, unbelievably.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EzPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel made our holiday! My husband and I are travelling Sicily with my brother and elderly parents, It really is a palace! the whole experience! I treated my mum to a massage at the spa and she is still raving about it. The rooms were very well appointed the restaurant was fantastic with great choices and even the family who owns the hotel came to bid us farewell and a safe onward journey.

Room Tip: Great beds and pillows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in July this year and were pleasantly surprised.
After reading a few bad reviews on Trip Adviser, we weren't expecting much, but found just about everything to be great.
Our room was clean, large and everything worked well.
The restaurant had a large variety of food to choose from, we chose 4 different meals, all of which were very good quality.
The outdoor pool area was excellent. The indoor spa & Turkish baths were great & cheap compared to Australian rates.
There were weddings every night, but it did not bother us & the music did not disturb our sleep.

We have stayed in a lot of hotels throughout Italy & I think this was among the best.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorisSalerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked to stay here for 10 nights as we wished to see the island from a central base. We knew that the hotel catered for conferences, weddings etc, but were unprepared for two Sicilian weddings (450 guests) and a disco on the first five evenings. The events themselves weren't too much of the problem, it was the staff noisily clearing tables used for the reception around the swimming pool until 3.30am. The Manager offered alternative rooms but these either faced the road or the car park. We also found the swimming pool had not been cleaned for the season and was yet to reopen due to a faulty filter. Very disappointing as the room was comfortable, view excellent and the breakfast good. Fine for an overnight stay provided there are no functions.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are away from the pool and road/ car park but over the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enna
60.7 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,641 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#2 of 4 in Enna
169 reviews
48.9 mi away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.4 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
32.9 mi away
Falconara Charming House Resort & SPA
42.9 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federico II Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federico II Palace Hotel

Property: Federico II Palace Hotel
Address: Contrada Salerno s/n, 94100, Enna, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Enna > Enna
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Enna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Federico II Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Federico II Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federico II Palace Hotel Enna, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing