We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location”
Review of Thon Hotel Halden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Halden
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Halden
Certificate of Excellence
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“The perfect location”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here during the carshow "Grensetreffet" and the location is perfect. Next to the water, in the middel of city center.
Close to almost everything in the city.
Next to the hotel there is an ice creamshop where they also sell homemade meatloaf and mashed potatoes. The best meal in town..?
Nice rooms and ok breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose superoir-room and you will get seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    67
    38
    14
    5
See reviews for
28
50
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here while traveling on business. Got lucky to get a room with a view onto the sea and fortress. Very pretty! Hotel restaurant was ok but nothing special. Would rather recommend to try other places to eat close by.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lealina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is one of the best options in Halden. It is just a couple blocks from the train station.

Check in was efficient. The rooms are normal size for Europe. Try to get a room facing the water. The rooms were clean. The bathroom had a heated floor which felt wonderful after a shower. Great selection for breakfast that includes eggs, cereals, yogurt and deli meat and cheese. Easy access to the center of town.

Decent option for Halden.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldelil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed with my wife here while she was in Halden for business. This hotel seems to be the main place to stay in the small town and offers a sizable bar and restaurant right near the harbor. The rooms were decent size. The bathroom was spacious compared to all other hotels we stayed in Norway, there was actually counter space to put our toiletries and the shower was actually in a tub (and not just a corner of the bathroom). Our one night stay was pleasant. It is walking distance to the fortress and just a couple blocks from the train station.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randomboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The hotel is certainly in a great location on the water and if you are here you should ask for a water view room. I didn't have this and looked onto the street where unfortunately at the time of my stay scaffolding was being erected at 6am. The hotel benefits from a terrace on the waterfront which in the sun was a great place to sit with a complimentary coffee or tea. However I concur with many of the comments of earlier reviewers. I stayed 3 nights and on the first day complained to reception that the desk chair in my room was so badly stained I did not wish to sit on it and requested a change. I had to repeat my request each day and it was not changed. I was told I could work in the lounge if I wished! The food in the restaurant is very good indeed although the service is erratic to say the least and it doesn't seem that the staff have had any basic training in how to handle orders.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

There really isn't much to say about this perfectly decent but rather soulless hotel.

First, the good points:
- the hotel was in good condition
- the rooms were clean
- the bath was of a reasonable size
- the hotel is well positioned overlooking the Guest Harbour
- the breakfast was superb, with delicious bread, a lovely cold meat and cheese selection, including smoked salmon and hot food choices.

Unfortunately, there are a number of bad points:
- the room was very small, with just enough space for the bed, 2 side tables and a very cramped desk
- the overnight charge in the municipal parking lot was NOK 250
- the female receptionist at check in was cold and unhelpful
- even though the room was not cheap, there were no toiletries on offer, just the all-in-one shampoo/shower gel/hand soap.

The worst problem was at check out, where the young man on duty tried to double charge us. Even though the room was prepaid, without even asking me to approve a bill, he ran the room charge against my card. He did apologise, but was not able to process a refund immediately. He committed that the refund would happen in 2 working days. And now we wait and see....

There really is little reason to visit Halden. It's only attraction is the ruins of Fredriksten Fortress, which is hardly a highlight. The town is also not blessed with many
restaurant opportunities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Proud_South_African
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel, located right in the middle of Halden, is probably Halden's best hotel. It provides an alright, if a bit small breakfast buffet, and wifi is included at no extra charge. Service OK, although I didn't challenge it much.

The room was clean and well kept, if a bit on the small side.

Room Tip: If possible, select an ocean-facing room. Some of the rooms face right into a concrete wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoachimL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halden
0.3 mi away
Fredriksten Hotell
Fredriksten Hotell
#1 of 6 in Halden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 6 in Halden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
15.0 mi away
Scandic Sarpsborg
Scandic Sarpsborg
#2 of 2 in Sarpsborg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Stromstad Spa
Stromstad Spa
#1 of 4 in Stromstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rasta Nordby
Rasta Nordby
#3 of 4 in Stromstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 6 in Halden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Halden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Halden

Property: Thon Hotel Halden
Address: Langbrygga 1, Halden 1767, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Ostfold > Halden Municipality > Halden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Halden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Halden 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thon Hotel Halden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing