We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff. Cosy hotel. Perfect location.”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Halden
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Solo traveller. Had 4 nights stay. Great location in the old part of town with short walk to harbour or over pedestrian bridge to other shops.
I rate this high based on the staff, location, room size (308) and breakfast.

Only downside.... Fridges in two rooms i had. The temp is not set low enough and you cant change them. They have no effect on keeping your food cold.

Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
Thank KiwiDNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

On arrival, the check-in receptionist was busy serving drinks in the bar. Got the key - went to the room - and noted 2 sets of ear plugs with a note saying - as it can get very noisy at weekends please feel free to use these ear plugs. I checked-in on a Sunday after 14 hours travelling. Perfect nights sleep. On Monday night, having been working just outside the town for over 12 hours, got back to the hotel and went to my room. The noise from the speakers in the bar was terrible. I phoned reception and asked what time they stopped singing and playing guitars - "we have a live entertainment answer till 2 am". That was enough for me to check out the following day and get a good nights sleep elsewhere. The Grand Hotel - never again........

Room Tip: Avoid any room above the bar - but I think the other side is the railway line - so its not ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roughguide247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

A nice small hotel in the middle of Halden. Located next door to the railway station. Some noise from trains, but not a problem. Friendly service, nice clean room. Room not very big, but with a really good bed. Excellent lunch and dinner. Breakfast ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EagleOwl099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Booked the hotel first through expedia.se - and encountered problems when i wanted to change the booking, booked then again through hotel.de which worked fine! Will never use expedia.se again!
I had certain reservations about the hotel after having read reviews on tripadvisor, but decided to give it a try. Turned out to be pleasent surprise: Staff offered home-made cake and coffee free of charge on my arrival, had checked my room especially as I had informed them about allergies. Room was well equipped, though a bit dark. I was afraid i would forget things on departure. Bathroom small, but clean and ok. Bed comfy. Wifi free of charge, worked fine. I had expected noise form the nearby railway station, but slept fine, heard nothing. Breakfast a small buffet, as expected.

Downsides: no parking, but plenty spaces near hotel where you can park free of charge between 17.00 and 9.00. Worked fine with me.
Most annoying: awful smell in corridor, i guess carpets had been newly glued/put in or recently shampood - but i felt nothing inside my room, though i am very sensitive/allergic.

Friendly - Swedish (!) staff - welcoming coffee and cake, flawless Wifi.
I will come back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

I had to be in Halden for a week without own car, and therefore almost one choice left : Grand Hotel, exactly downtown right next to the rail station. I was very prepared for the worst, reading from many negative reviews on how terrible this place is.

Location is excellent, noisy of course from the railroad only next door (rail station is probably less than 100 meter away), apart from that it's okay. Stayed on 4th floor therefore noise is not a big issue. Check-in was swift and very friendly staff (most of people in Halden are friendly by the way), this hotel is VERY OLD, few hundred years probably and I could smell a lot of that. Some renovation has been taken from previous review and all walls were looking okay at the time of stay. Stained on carpet still clearly there, bathroom refurbished but overall I need to spray own perfume over the room to make it livable. Smell resurfaced after two nights so I re-sprayed...

Small room and even much smaller proportioned bathroom. Aged TV and limited channels. Empty fridge provided and only hangers but no closet. You can have free WIFI connection to the hotel server which is good, free internet is reasonably fast and strong signal even from top floor.

All rooms inclusive of Breakfast buffet which is in decent quality, pretty much as you have at home may be. Walking distance to shopping center and supermarkets. Choices of restaurant nearby including bars and pubs.

In conclusion: Ups for this hotel: location, nearby all goodies in Halden and that means saving a lot of expensive cabbies. I met 3-4 staffs at counter and all of them were very helpful and friendly. Free Internet. Downs: Old to very old place. Small rooms and could be noisy as well as smelly. I made a reasonable deal through my travel agency so this is acceptable place for me.

Halden is a very nice place and deserving a night or two, currently only two hotels (Grand and Park) but at Park you will need own car or call taxi for every move so I did not stay there although received many recommendations. Next year the new Thon Hotel at the Halden marina will be opened and it will be sad if this historic hotel will inevitably faded out.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bom2535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

There are not a lot of hotel choices in Halden, but I suggest driving to the next town to avoid this hotel when visiting this otherwise interesting destination. The hotel had plenty of dirty and ancient fixtures, abundant stained surfaces including the technicolor carpet as well as many hand written door and direction sign (which - strangely - were also stained). Many fixtures had been vandalized and never repaired. The property butts up to a railway switching yard with deafening train movements all night that overcome even earplugs. The restroom had unacceptable odors. The electrical appliances and fixtures in the room were all suspiciously wired to one wall socket. I do not mind staying in such places with the price is fair, but the room rate come out to NOR 970 = 125 Euros! Buyer beware.

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank TheRovingWeimaraners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AltaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halden
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Halden
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fredriksten Hotell
Fredriksten Hotell
#2 of 6 in Halden
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Halden
Thon Hotel Halden
#1 of 6 in Halden
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Stromstad Spa & Resort
Stromstad Spa & Resort
#2 of 4 in Stromstad
1,119 reviews
16.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Sarpsborg
Quality Hotel Sarpsborg
#1 of 2 in Sarpsborg
650 reviews
14.8 mi away
Scandic Laholmen
Scandic Laholmen
#1 of 4 in Stromstad
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Jernbanetorget 1, Halden 1767, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Ostfold > Halden Municipality > Halden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Halden
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For centuries Halden has been the gateway to Norway. The Grand Hotel has a long tradition as Halden’s central hotel, and we wish all guests welcome to enjoy our excellent service and homey atmosphere. Grand Hotel is situated in downtown Halden, less than two minutes from the railway station, bus depot, the town market square and guest harbour. Within easy walking distance you will also find the cultural centre and a number of shops and restaurants. The Grand, with 33 rooms, all with shower, bathroom, cable TV, telephone and wireless internet, has undergone a complete renovation in 2010. With its ideal location, the Grand Hotel is the perfect place for meetings and conferences for small or large groups. We have excellent rooms for all types of private parties and have some quite unique rooms to offer. What about an evening in the old gunpowder storeroom from 1720? You should also try our cosy Grand Bar that has a comfortable pub style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Halden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing