We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel with helpful and friendly staff”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Halden
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The room we had last time was on the 3rd floor with a view to the cluster of houses down below. There was a small balcony. The room was quiet, clean and very cosy. All the staff members are helpful and the breakfast is quite extensive. It was very quiet the two times we have been here. We do recommend it, absolutely. Very comfortable bed; my rating: 9

Room Tip: rooms on the 3rd floor, I think it's the old part of the hotel. we had 306.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linklater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed a oval weekend at Park Hotel Halden. The room was quite modern, though it was both dark (odd placement of ceiling light) and warm.The room next to mine was under redecoration, and the carpenter was working with sanders and saws even on a Saturday. Quite disturbing. The receptionists were very friendly and helpfull, including helping me orderning online train tickets. The breakfast didn't live up to the standard you expect of a hotel breakfast. It lacked many of the selections you find on a breakfast buffet, like smoked salmon, varied cold cuts, egg and bacon. The boiled eggs were cold, and sometimes even undercooked. A positive addition was the make-your-own waffel option. Though all in all it left something to be desired. As for location, the hotel lies a good 15-20 minute, partly uphill walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The Park hotel in Halden may look a little old from the outisde but prvoide a cost vs quality offering. Rooms are clean, equiped with a slow wireless internet but fast WAN cable, bathrrom has all the necessary things. the most important being that the rooms are very quiet and the bed goods. Breakfast is also good. Very effcient and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheRoadAgainOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

not the biggest hotel, but the rooms are nice and clean, and the service was excellent.
price for the rooms was high, but that's Norway:)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinnvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This was not a fashionable hotel, but with the friendly service and good food we enjoyed the stay in Halden. Old fashion rooms, but clean. They served terrible Mohitos, but part from that it was a nice bar and good food in the restaurant. Close to the city centre and absolutely reccomended as a hotel in Halden.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Park hotel is located a few minutes from Halden center. It is situated just next to one of the main roads going to the town. There is a free parking space just outside the entrance but it is limited.

The hotel is not connected to any chain and looks cozy and personal. There are no large open rooms with glass and steel furniture. It feelsmore like home to me....

The staff is very helpful and smiling. The restaurant has a limited but tasty menu with average norwegian prices. There is also a small bar with sports channels.
The breakfast is buffet style.

The rooms are nice but can be a bit small. I have only stayed in rooms facing the back side so street noise has not been a problem. The bathroom is small but clean. Some of the room are newley refurbished and do not have a bathtub. The old ones do, but they are smokers rooms.

The hotel offers free wifi with a password obtained at the reception. The speed is good and all room has a desk and a flat screen tv. Channels include the main norwegian NRK and TV2 and several other channels together with video on demand at 125 NoK per day.

Hotels in smaller towns in Norway usually are average standard, but the cozy look and friendly staff makes this one stand out.

I will come back....

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times. It is easy to reach by car, do have a nice garden and some nice common areas. The rooms do vary in standard. This is a hotel just a bit above average.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halden
0.9 mi away
Fredriksten Hotell
Fredriksten Hotell
#2 of 6 in Halden
78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thon Hotel Halden
Thon Hotel Halden
#1 of 6 in Halden
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#4 of 6 in Halden
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Scandic Laholmen
Scandic Laholmen
#1 of 4 in Stromstad
302 reviews
14.7 mi away
Stromstad Spa & Resort
Stromstad Spa & Resort
#2 of 4 in Stromstad
1,113 reviews
14.4 mi away
Scandic Sarpsborg
Scandic Sarpsborg
#2 of 2 in Sarpsborg
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: Marcus Thranes gate 30, Halden 1776, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Ostfold > Halden Municipality > Halden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Halden
Price Range: £96 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing